We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No better place along the beach.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunrise Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sunrise Beach Resort
Ranked #89 of 103 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“No better place along the beach.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

This is my favorite hotel so far in Dar es salaam. Service was exceptional. The rooms are sensational and staff are very attentive, Great rooms,view ( just few meters from the ocean ),bed' towels, pillows, tv, and work desk!! Food was fantastic ( try the thermidor lobster dish, just out of the world ) and service with a smile! Beautiful white soft sand that you cant find anywhere else.
Room rate was low for the value!.Since we arrived till we left the hotel we were pampered!!
i could not ask for anything to make my stay any better. Perfect! I can't wait to go back. Located only 30 minutes from the airport..you can't go wrong!!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruby V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    23
    13
    13
    19
See reviews for
16
30
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mombasa, Coast, Kenya
Level Contributor
100 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

I visited this hotel with my family with the intention of spending a couple of nights.I had heard about the excellent beach frontage,It is true the beach frontage is nice.We however decided to have lunch prior to check in as we had arrived past 2.00pm.Lunch was a la carte,good but our enjoyment was cut short by a lot of cats,under the chairs,tables and some attempting to pounce on the table.It was dissapointing .The waiters heeded our complaints by trying to chase the cats away but they kept on returning.After the meal we decided not to book in this hotel because of the cats menace.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Munir T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arusha, Tanzania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

If the service at the restaurant is not enough, the clean sandy beaches overlooking the Indian ocean is just breath taking. Oh yeah, don't forget the food, best tasting fried chicken I ever had while feeling the cool sea breeze and listening to the music from the pool side

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Safari-Tanzania-360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
F0M_Sunrise_Resort, Front Office Manager at Sunrise Beach Resort, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear Safari-Tanzania-360
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us a 5 star review. We were so excited to learn that you had a great visit with us! . Thanks, again, for the nice review and for letting everyone know about your great experience with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arusha
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed there for the second time as we do when we visit dar es salaam! This time we were shocked! We chose a banda. Standard room! First impression...no water and no soap! Very old towels and in bad condition. Toilet and basin broken! Toilet kept running all the time.Terrible shower with no curtains and water all over the place! Roof and walls with holes so for the 2 nights we could not sleep cause of rats biting the roof and running on it and on the walls. The hole they were biting became bigger in 2 days and u could see the dirt falling on the floor. Room was very dirty i doibt they have cleaned the windows, ceiling, walls, taps and showers since they were built. Staff was a mix... Nice on the first day terrible on the second specially a lady at breakfast time; my husband is TanZanian and she treated him with disrespect!!! It was very sad; he was heartbroken. I did not complain to avoid making a scene but we won't ever go back! There are many other places around so we'll choose somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maricuqui6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
F0M_Sunrise_Resort, Front Office Manager at Sunrise Beach Resort, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear maricuqui6,

Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback and comments about your most recent stay with us. we sincerely apologize that our resort wasn't to your satisfaction. I appreciate you bringing this situation to our attention, and we value your comments, feedback and your business with us.
I understand that you are leery of returning to our facility based on your most recent experience, however with the improvements we are constantly making to better serve our guests I can assure you that if you decide to return your stay will be one with positive memories.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arusha Region, Tanzania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

The first day we arrived the lady in reception was excellent but the second day in the morning the lady in reception was terrible she didn't explain anything in a right way and what did was with a bad attitude; first day staff at breakfast was great but the.second.day during.breakfast the lady was awful;she treated me in.a very bad way i.guess because i.am a tanzanian.and my.wife is white; just to.give an.example my.knife had.to be changed.but she told.me.to clean.it.myself with a tissue. we were both horrified. she made me feel very down so.she.did to my white wife, we don't.understand;.we asked.to.get butter and.she.just pointed.a table. this lady.was a short young.one with a pony tale and.that happened.to.us yesterday 11th october at 7:40am;the.day.before was a tall.and.lovely.one.room was bad with broken.roof;.there.was no.water till we asked. we could not.sleep cause.of.rats.eating.the.roof. toilet broken with.cister running all the time.and.mosquito.net.old.and.fulof.holes. we will.never.stay.there.again.neither our clients.will.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mkmollell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
F0M_Sunrise_Resort, Front Office Manager at Sunrise Beach Resort, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear mkmollell
After reading your review, I am very disappointed that our accommodations were not to your satisfaction. we apologize for inconvenience. we apologies for the behavior of our staff. we already took disciplinary action against the staffs. We strive to accommodate our guests to the best of our abilities and we are sorry that we fell short in your expectations. We appreciate your feedback and we work to make our resort one everyone will want to stay. We appreciate you bringing this situation to our attention, and we value your comments, feedback and your business with us.I understand that you are leery of returning to our facility based on your most recent experience, however with the improvements we are constantly making to better serve our guests I can assure you that if you decide to return your stay will be one with positive memories.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arusha, Tanzania
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

I had a tremendous experience at the Sunrise Beach Resort, the room was perfect and the staff were very cooperative and professional. I was on business and the tranquility of the place made my work all the more enjoyable. I would certainly visit again!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Godwin2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
F0M_Sunrise_Resort, Front Office Manager at Sunrise Beach Resort, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Hallo Mr Godwin,
We are happy that you appreciated your stay at our hotel. The new management is doing its best to make it one of the classy resorts in Tanzania. Hope to see or here from you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

Camped here while travelling in Tanzania. Pretty beachfront location but that's about all it has going for it. Facilities tired and dated, grounds are dirty, service was poor and food (I only had breakfast) was very lacklustre: no salt and pepper, no other condiments, no butter, instant coffee which had congealed within the packet. The campsite is next to a construction site and they want to make you camp behind a row of (empty) permanent safari tents, which kind of negates the seafront location. Rubbish strewn around the site too.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bazyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
F0M_Sunrise_Resort, Front Office Manager at Sunrise Beach Resort, responded to this review, 18 August 2013
Dear bazyr
Thank you for notifying us of your complaint. We strive to provide you with the best possible service, and when you feel that it fails to meet your expectation, it’s very important for us to know.
We are sorry that you received service that prompted you to contact us with a complaint, and we regret any inconvenience or frustration that your experience has caused you. We are looking into this issue very seriously.
Your patronage is important to us, and we hope that you’ll continue to give us opportunities to serve you
Thank you again for bringing these matters to our attention
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
15.9 mi away
Kunduchi Beach Hotel And Resort
Kunduchi Beach Hotel And Resort
#17 of 103 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
12.6 mi away
Mediterraneo Hotel & Restaurant
Mediterraneo Hotel & Restaurant
#12 of 103 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
14.2 mi away
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
#5 of 103 in Dar es Salaam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Seascape Hotel
Seascape Hotel
#45 of 103 in Dar es Salaam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
17.5 mi away
Ledger Plaza Bahari Beach Hotel
Ledger Plaza Bahari Beach Hotel
#24 of 103 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
14.9 mi away
Hotel White Sands - The Beach Resort
Hotel White Sands - The Beach Re...
#10 of 103 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Beach Resort

Property: Sunrise Beach Resort
Address: Mji Mwema, Kigamboni | P.O.Box 21210, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Dar es Salaam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunrise Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the shores of the Indian Ocean situated in Mjimwema, 7km south of Dar es Salaam lies the picturesque Sunrise Beach Resort & Conference Centre, on a private beach. The resort consists of 14 Executive Deluxe Rooms, 6 Sea View Rooms, 30 Suite Rooms. It also boasts of a magnificent campsite consisting of 7 tents., big enough to cater for overland truckers from any part of the world. The campsite is furnished with an open kitchen which gives residents that perfect view of the ocean which they have always been looking for. Our world class Conference hall can accommodate up to 300 delegates. Apart from offering that unique sea view, it also offers resources and technology equaling those of European Conference Centres. This conference hall, which is multipurpose is a perfect venue for corporate presentations, products launches as well as family functions like wedding receptions and graduation ceremonies. The unspoilt beaches of the Swahili coast offer an entirely new experience for the discerning holiday maker. Whether interested in snorkelling or diving, there is an abundance of ocean life to be discovered on the finest waters of the Indian Ocean and looking out across the ocean, you view the Sinda Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sunrise Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Beach Hotel Dar Es Salaam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing