We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very functional!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre
Ranked #25 of 98 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Reviewed 24 June 2013

The Holiday Inn is a hotel where things work. This is not always the case in Dar, even at nice hotels. Rooms were comfortable, good desk to work at, very nice rooftop bar/restaurant with beautiful views, helpful staff. Only two issues: the staff sometimes took time to get back to me on a query, and the pool is quite small. Food is good. We held a 40-person meeting in the Kibo Suite and the hotel organized things extremely well for us.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nairobijoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eclipse22, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2013

Dear Nairobijoy,

Thank you for your review, and we delighted you enjoy the hotel and our new rooftop Conference Halls.

The Kibo and Mwanzi suites do offer excellent panaromic views of the city, hopwfully not to distracting whilst holding your meeting.

Karibu tena
Paul Ferguson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (505)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

271 - 277 of 505 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2013 via mobile

Love the gym and staff is great.

Breakfast should have a grill for made to order eggs. Room service menu needs more variety, or I need to get out more.

Wireless goes flicks off a lot so you have to renter code which is a pain plus they should give you a bouchire for duration

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eclipse22, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2013

Dear Tim B,

Glad you enjoyed your stay at the Holiday Inn Dar es Salaam, in particular the Gym facalities and team friendliness.

We are currently redoing our Room service selection, however both of our onsite restaurants; the Al Dar rooftop restaurant and the El Gaucho ground floor restaurant offer a much wider selection.

Our complimentary wi-fi available to all guests needs to be refreshed every 24 hours, and vouchers are given on check-in. Apologies if you had problems during your stay with the wi-fi.

Karibu tena
Paul Ferguson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

as i the last visite i wrote! nothing change! room smell in bath! w-lan not good and expensive!
tv not good! but now the best! i go for spa! pay cash 71.000 get an VERY bad chnage because the not acsept tanzania schlilling!! they chnage back to USD to an rate for 1600 / normal is 1800-1900...and the best!! the day i check out...they want me charge again!!!!!!!!!
and the restaurant the same last time!! bad steak!! all not real good!!
i was the last time in the new africa hotel 500 mm the stree down, close to the see. perfect thai restaurant in the top...

Room Tip: the best? not use this hotel....go to new africa hotel....500 m the street down !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Udo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eclipse22, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2013

Dear Udo L

Thank you for your comments following your recent stay, and it is with regret that we failed to match your expectations of the hotel on this occasion.

Our onsite Bureau de Change offers an exchange rate of TZS 1,600/ to the Dollar, so we cannot understand your comments on the exchange rates. Please feel free to contact me directly on gm@holidayinn.co.tz to discuss this matter further.

Karibu tena

Paul Ferguson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

The reception staff were friendly.The food in the restaurants was wonderful but the staff there looked dull. I had no sleepers in my room.The door to the bathroom was a nuisance.It was very hard to close and always closed with a bang(room 504) and am sure the engineering can fix this...Also the bathroom was flooding when i took shower..The rest was good.superb.I would definately go back there and refer someone there.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aggy_eustus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eclipse22, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2013

Dear aggy_eustus

thank you for your positive comment following your recent stay at the Holiday Inn, the maintenance team have addressed the problem encountered with your door closure. If this had been brought to our attention during your stay, we would have resolved the matter immediately.

Our chefs will be delighted that you enjoy the food at the hotel, as they continually strive to impove the offering.

Karibu tena
Paul Ferguson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

On arrival bed looked like it had been slept in. Room had a pervasive and unpleasant smell on entry fading with time but there on every subsequent entry. Asked to move but was then offered a room where the AC made a noise like an express train and struggled to keep the room cool. Carpets stained and well past their best. Internet good but unlogs itself if you leave it more than 5 minutes and needs a new voucher every day. Location good for the city centre but hotel not upto standards for the price.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eclipse22, Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2013

Dear martinsjlc,

Our apologies that on this occasion we failed to live up to your expectations. We are in the process of upgarding our rooms including carpets, and on your next visit to Dar we assure you that we will surpass your expectations of our hotel.

Best regards
Paul Ferguson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013

It's not a bad hotel and you should not for special feathers
Just a standard 4 star hotel
I will say its a 3 star hotel
The room is just ok
The business lounge food verity is poor but the service is good

Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
Thank Shlbre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2013

Dear Shlbre,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay. We are pleased you like the accommodations you received. However, we are sorry you found our food options less than satisfactory and apologize for any inconvenience you encountered with some aspects of the hotel. We take all comments into consideration and welcome any opportunity to improve. We are hospitality professionals and strive to be the best. Your comments will be looked into.

We greatly appreciate your feedback as this gives us the avenue to improve on our guest satisfaction. Hope to see you soon.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

This place was so nice! It's Dar, so it's going to take a couple of hours to get to the airport anyway - so unless you're catching a bus, you might as well stay in the city centre. The staff were really attentive and kind, there was FREE WIFI wooooooo, hot water, really clean and tidy. I'd stay again if I had money :)

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank k j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eclipse22, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2013

Dear KJ,

Thank you for your review, we delighted that you appreciated the Holiday Inn Dar es Salaam. The free WI-FI is a huge positive with all our guests, and it's something we believe that all hotels should offer their guests.

Karibu Tena Holiday Inn Dar es Salaam
Paul Ferguson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
0.1 mi away
Ramada Encore Dar Es Salaam
Ramada Encore Dar Es Salaam
#8 of 98 in Dar es Salaam
199 reviews
0.2 mi away
Golden Tulip Dar City Center
Golden Tulip Dar City Center
#21 of 98 in Dar es Salaam
83 reviews
0.4 mi away
New Africa Hotel
New Africa Hotel
#19 of 98 in Dar es Salaam
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western CBD Hotel
Best Western CBD Hotel
#24 of 98 in Dar es Salaam
18 reviews
4.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay
0.5 mi away
Harbour View Suites
Harbour View Suites
#16 of 98 in Dar es Salaam
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre

Address: 5 Upanga Road | Azikiwe St / Upanga Rd Junction City Center, Dar es Salaam 3222, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Dar es Salaam
Price Range: £60 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre Hotel Dar Es Salaam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing