We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A name fitting (inn) place in Dar” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre
Ranked #25 of 103 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A name fitting (inn) place in Dar”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

The rooms are small, humid and has mold. The bar is okay, but the staffs are a bit rude. The only thing this INN has going for them is the location. It is in downtown area near pretty much everything. I would not recommend this place to a friend.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DOH888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eclipse22, Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a Trip Advisor review of our hotel following your recent visit with us. I was pleased that you decided to stay with us; however it did come as a great disappointment to me that you experienced problems during your stay.

With regards to the condition of your room, I agree that this is totally unacceptable. Please be rest assured that we pride ourselves on the quality and cleanliness of our rooms, so your comments have come as a particular shock to me. Please accept my sincere apologies for this shortfall in service.

I was happy to note that you found our location ideal for your needs. Situated in the heart of the bustling center of Dar Es Salaam we are in a perfect location for our guests to experience the sights and sounds of this beautiful city.

With regards to your experience with our staff, once again these comments sadden me a great deal. We regularly receive positive feedback regarding our team members and their high levels of customer service, so I can only assume that this was an isolated incident. Once again, please accept my sincere apologies.

I would very much like the opportunity to discuss these comments with you in further detail so that I can fully investigate and make any amends that are required. Therefore, I would be much obliged if you would contact me directly on guestservices@holidayinn.co.tz at your earliest convenience.

Once again, please accept my sincere apologies for the issues that you have highlighted in your review. I hope to hear from you in due course and be allowed the opportunity to restore your faith in our hotel.

Warm Regards,

Mahesh Langoo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    168
    160
    51
    28
See reviews for
44
79
39
235
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

A very good staff who is always there to help with whatever is required.while traveling good food is always important and this not a problem at the hotel having good chefs always providing food according to requirements.And if thats not enough then being at this hotel which is right in the middle of the city you have access to good restaurants and pubs in the town.The rooftop restaurant and bar at the hotel is highly recommended for chilling out with friends with good music and a dedicated big screen for football and other events.i'll highly recommend this hotel for a good stay.

Room Tip: Take the rooms having the amazing view of the indian ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jd T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eclipse22, Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. I was pleased that you decided to use us for your accommodation requirements and that you enjoyed a great stay and our central location was ideal for your needs.

I was pleased that you found our staff to be very helpful and they assisted you with all your requirements. I was also very happy to note that you enjoyed the food in the hotel and you were able to relax and enjoy music on our rooftop restaurant.

Once again, many thanks for your kind comments. I have passed them all on to the team to act as a motivator for them to continue their good work. I look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Mahesh Langoo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

The staff were friendly and pleasant and the hotel is well-located in central Dar es Salaam, however the property is run-down. My room had bad odors, of damp, alcohol and cigarette smoke. It was a non-smoking room but was equipped with two ashtrays. The desk chair was broken and it was not possible to work at the desk.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Acadienne_errante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eclipse22, Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel on Trip Advisor. I was pleased that you decided to stay with us, however it comes as a great disappointment to me that you were not completely satisfied with your visit.

With regards to the room, I agree that this is totally unacceptable and not our usual high standards. We are regularly commended on the comfort, quality, condition and size of our rooms and the fact that this has occurred during your stay saddens me a great deal. I would very much like the opportunity to discuss your comments in further detail so that I can rectify for any future visits. Therefore, I would be much obliged if you could contact me directly on guestservices@holidayinn.co.tz at your earliest convenience.

I was however, pleased to note that you found our staff very friendly and pleasant and our location ideal. I have passed these comments on to the whole team to galvanize them to continue their good work.

Once again, please accept my sincere apologies for the shortfalls in your stay. I hope to hear from you in due course regarding this.

Warm Regards,

Mahesh Langoo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

A great start to our holiday. Staff are outstanding and the welcome was excellent. The hotel arranged a brilliant safari at Mbuyu, a trip to Zanzibar as well as time at the beach at Jangwani Sea Breeze.
We could not have asked for more from a very professional staff and the hotel location in the city centre is perfect for everything else - restaurants and harbour for ferry to Zanzibar.
The rooms were large and clean and the restaurant served a great breakfast.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eclipse22, Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. It came as a great pleasure to me that you enjoyed an excellent and outstanding stay with us.

I was happy to note that you found all the staff very professional and they fulfilled all your requests. We pride ourselves on our exemplary customer service and the fact that you have highlighted this comes as a great pleasure to me.

I was also glad that you enjoyed our central location in Dar Es Salaam, found the rooms very large and clean and enjoyed a great breakfast in the restaurant.

I will pass on all of your comments to the team in order to motivate them to continue their good work.

Once again, many thanks for your kind comments – I look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future for another excellent stay.

Warm Regards,

Mahesh Langoo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandefjord, Norway
Level Contributor
140 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

Nice place to be if you are visiting DAR. The hotel is located in the middle of the center of DAR makes it easy to get around if needed. The hotel is mainly visited by business related gust I will guess but if you will experience the center of the city do not hesitate to book her.

The room I had was nice and spacious, no complaints from me her. Service was ok and I especially will mention the concierge service as these guys were amazing.

Food in the main restaurant were great and I have no problem recommend you to have a meal her.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oistein_O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eclipse22, Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a Trip Advisor of our hotel following your recent stay with us. I was pleased that you chose us for your accommodation requirements and that you enjoyed your stay.

I’m glad that you enjoyed our location in the centre of Dar Es Salaam. We feel that this is the ideal location for our guests to experience the exciting hustle and bustle of the city and then relax in the calming surroundings of our hotel.

I was also happy that you have highlighted the staff and service as amazing and the food in our restaurant great. I have passed on your comments to the whole team to galvanize them to continue their wonderful work.

I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again in the near future for another great stay.

Warm Regards,

Mahesh Chandler Langoo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

When it took me more than two hours to check in, I knew I was in the wrong place. They didn't bring my suit up and I had to go back to the reception for it after 4 hours; the room reeks of cigarette butts; staff in the main restaurant are the most unfriendly I've seen, except when throwing themselves at White men; on Day 2, my key didn't work, the Internet is programmed to last 24 hrs and one has to keep collecting a voucher, although the room was cleaned, toiletries were not replenished and the drinking water was missing too.
I have simply struck it off my list of hotels.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamella S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eclipse22, Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a Trip Advisor review of our hotel. I was pleased that you decided to stay with us, however it came as a great disappointment to me that you experienced problems during your stay.

With regards to the service that you received from our staff, I agree that this is totally unacceptable. Please be rest assured that we are regularly commended on our teams high level of customer service, so this feedback comes as a great disappointment. Please accept my sincere apologies.

With regards to your room cleanliness, once again, this is simply not acceptable. Please be rest assured that I will be discussing these comments with the Head Housekeeper in order to ensure that this doesn’t happen again.

With that being said, I would very much like the opportunity to discuss your comments in further detail. Therefore, I would be much obliged if you could please contact me directly on guestservices@holidayinn.co.tz at your earliest convenience. I hope that you will give us the opportunity to restore your faith in our hotel.

Warm Regards,

Mahesh Chander Langoo
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

Holiday Inn Dar es Salaam city centre is a fantastically located hotel with excellent facilities. I thoroughly enjoyed my time there. Of note; the staff were incredibly friendly; my full body massage and scrub were fantastic and the manicure/pedicure and facial were really very thorough! I used the high quality gym everyday but the highlight for me was Al Dar - the rooftop shisha bar. With a great view of the hustle and bustle of Dar es Salaam, I enjoyed their signature shisha on most evenings of my stay! The impeccably creative decor, music, food and lighting help make this one of its best kept secrets! Would go back any day.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Natasha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eclipse22, Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. I was pleased that you decided to stay with us and that we exceeded your expectations in all areas.

It came as a particular pleasure to me that you felt it necessary to highlight the staff as a positive feature of your stay. At Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre we pride ourselves on our exemplary customer service, I am glad that you were able to experience this during your stay.

I was also pleased to note that you were able to take advantage of our high quality gym and massage, pedicure, facial and manicure. I was also happy that you were able to relax and enjoy the food and music in Al Dar, our rooftop Shisha bar. With great views of Dar Es Salaam, we feel that this is the ideal place to relax after spending the day in the hustle and bustle of the city.

Once again many thanks for your kind comments regarding our hotel. I have passed them all on to the staff to act as a motivator for them to continue their good work. I look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future for another great stay.

Warm Regards,

Mahesh Chander Langoo
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
0.1 mi away
Ramada Encore Dar Es Salaam
Ramada Encore Dar Es Salaam
#9 of 103 in Dar es Salaam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.5 mi away
Harbour View Suites
Harbour View Suites
#19 of 103 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.4 mi away
New Africa Hotel
New Africa Hotel
#16 of 103 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tanzanite Executive Suites
Tanzanite Executive Suites
#8 of 103 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
0.5 mi away
Southern Sun Dar es Salaam
Southern Sun Dar es Salaam
#3 of 103 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tiffany Diamond Hotel & Spa
Tiffany Diamond Hotel & Spa
#28 of 103 in Dar es Salaam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre
Address: 5 Upanga Road | Azikiwe St / Upanga Rd Junction City Center, Dar es Salaam 3222, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Dar es Salaam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, IHG and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre Hotel Dar Es Salaam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing