We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not up to Holiday Inn standards”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre
Ranked #26 of 101 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Ocean City, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not up to Holiday Inn standards”
Reviewed 22 February 2014

There are some nice hotels in Dar like the Kempinsky, which is where I normally stay. This time, I stayed at the Holiday Inn. Big mistake. For starters, the rooms smell mildewy. I hate that smell. Next, there's an ashtray in the room and you can tell by the smell in the room that it's been used. I really hate that smell. I could live with all that (but I'd never return), but what really got me is that the AC was broken. It blows air but it never got below probably 80 F in the room, in spite of repeated calls to the front desk and assurances that engineering would look into it. The rooms belong in a cheap motel, not a respectable chain like a Holiday Inn.

On the plus side, the buffet dinner was pretty good. But if you're looking for a comfortable stay, look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Make sure the AC is working.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaxTheCard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaheshCLangoo_68, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear MaxTheCard,

Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam. As a practice we try to sanitize all our guest areas with a disinfectant just before the rainy season so that harmful micro-organisms do not grow and get killed.
The smell that you have mentioned about is from this disinfectant that we have tried to use for the first time. We have realized that it leaves a strong after smell in the rooms. Hence we have stopped using this disinfectant and continue with our earlier system to prepare our rooms for the rainy season. I am also sorry about the air conditioning not working, because of power fluctuations leading to failure of the compressor.
We thank you for appreciating the buffet dinner. We can assure you of our best services at all times in future. We look forward to welcome you again at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam.

Best regards
Mahesh Chander Langoo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    170
    161
    51
    28
See reviews for
44
79
39
238
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

I picked HI as I had stayed here 8 years ago.Unfortunately HI's current state is not a change for the good.Rooms ,linen & towels smell of damp.A porter came to my room at 3 30am to deliver a bag that wasn't mine and I was quized by security as I had left as to if I had paid! The staff on check out didn't look me in the eye,greet me or enquire about my stay.I have another night booked and paid for on Saturday but I am likely to stay somewhere else.Don't get me started on the pool! It is city centre so location is great but dont expect a peaceful sleep!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank mella1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaheshCLangoo_68, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear Mella 1973,

Greetings from Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam!

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences caused to you during your last stay. We would like to assure you of our best efforts to make sure that your next stay at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam is comfortable. We have noted your points of concern and the same have been discussed with the respective department heads to ensure that the same is not repeated again.
We thank you for bringing this to our notice as it helps us to look into our weak areas so that we can improve upon our weakness.
We would request you to consider this as an isolated incident and assure you of offering you our best services at all times. We look forward to meet you personally on Saturday and talk to you

Best regards
Mahesh Chander Langoo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

I ended up staying on 3 different nights between safari and other trips in and out of Tanzania. The first 2 times the rooms smelled really mouldy and one of the bathrooms smelled really bad. The whole hotel actually smells of damp mould. Then on the third visit the room was nicer (looked like it had been painted) and the bathroom looked like it had been updated and did not smell. Be prepared to possibly ask for a room change. The staff were nice and the location is good if you want to be sort of city centre. Breakfast buffet is not bad.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VixMix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear VixMix,

We'd like to thank you for leaving a candid review about your experience. We regret to see the smell prevented you from fully enjoying your time as our guest. We were glad to see the high score for the Service you received. We welcome all reviews to help us identify areas that may need improvement. We have shared your comments with the staff and we’re confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chennai, India
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

decent hotel to stay, if on a short, business trip. located centrally with decent amenities. the business center is well equipped though the internet facility is slow. the chef provides indian cusine on request. value for money for a business traveller.

Room Tip: the top floor with executive rooms are much better ! you get free access to business center as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krish_HMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaheshCLangoo_68, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Dear Mr. Krish_HMA,

The management of Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam would like to thank you for writing a review about our hotel on tripadvisor.com.
We are glad to know that you have enjoyed our facilities and services. You have liked the executive floors because of free access to the executive lounge which provides free business center services, variety of snacks and drinks throughout the day - ideal for all business travelers.
The slow internet connection could be possible because of some power fluctuations that would be looked into. We apologize for the inconveniences caused.

We look forward to welcome you again at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam.

Best regards,

Mahesh Chander Langoo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitwe, Zambia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

the first thing that hit me was the smell of the carpets. had to open the windows,that you will have to live with , i think it comes from the fact that the area is hot and humid. i arrived at the hotel at noon, the lady at reception was very polite and friendly a plus! the room was big and spacious though the bed not so comfy a bit on the hard side. aircon worked perfectly, very important in Dar. my disappointment came with the bath room, shower has a very short curtain, after a shower a flood was in inevitable, not too nice. overall, not a bad place to go to, went to ve a peek at the roof top restaurant nice place if you wanna have a drink and chat. downstairs restaurant was good for continental meals and breakfast. the best part is the friendliness of the staff i met.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mwandamena K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Dear Mwandamena,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the accommodations you received prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We did appreciate the high scores for Service and Value. We take all of the reviews we receive very seriously as they allow us to identify areas that may benefit from additional attention. We have shared your comments with the staff and we’re confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
istanbul
Level Contributor
139 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

This hotel is just ok. room was spacious. staff were all friendly and helpful.
Unfortunately there was an unpleasent smell in the room, which I guess occurred because of humidity. I had a problem with the shower tube and was immediately repaired.
Wifi is free but connection speed should be improved.
Breakfast should be better but it's ok.
It is a normal holiday inn standard hotel.

Room Tip: I stayed at 5. floor and was ok but I guess higher floors might have better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kivancgorkem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahesh L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Dear Kivancgorkem,

Warm greetings from Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam1

Thank you for writing a review about our property on tripadvisor.com

We are happy to note that you like our services and our staff but we are disappointed about the smell in your room which you have rightly mentioned i because of the humidity and because of the routine carpet shampooing of the rooms. Sometimes the moisture from the carpets does not dry up quickly which leaves a bad odour in the room. We try to avoid allocating these rooms till the carpets have dried completely. It seems the room was allocated to you immediately after carpet shampooing. We will ensure that this mistake is not repeated again. I can assure you of best services at all times.

Looking forward to welcome you once again at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam

Best regards,

Mahesh Chander Langoo
General Manager
Holiday Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karlstadt, Germany
Level Contributor
70 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

on arrivel, room not finish! but they still know i arrive early! need to wait!
the restaurant, still the same, not change anything. i order one mix grill, with one steak! medium! and! same the time before! steak was well done and strinky! the beer come not much cold and the glass use from the table ( need order cold glass seperate! ). I order in this time ALL what i eat without any garlic!! about if something is not ok you can smell! this time it works! i not had problem with sormage! the breakfast! same as before. you look for plate? not there! check eggs? finish, but still 15 min later! not fill up! i sit down 10 min. than they ask for tea! after 10 min i told to one other girl! order tea again! noboddy take care for anything! if you stay ( like me ) 3 times in this hotel you can see! the room! second day i want shower! no towel! i must use this hotel, about the company had some contract, but private! i can say! NOT USE!

Room Tip: Best not close to elevator!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Udo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear Udo L,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the food selections prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
0.1 mi away
Ramada Encore Dar Es Salaam
Ramada Encore Dar Es Salaam
#9 of 101 in Dar es Salaam
134 reviews
0.5 mi away
Harbour View Suites
Harbour View Suites
#20 of 101 in Dar es Salaam
211 reviews
0.4 mi away
New Africa Hotel
New Africa Hotel
#16 of 101 in Dar es Salaam
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tanzanite Executive Suites
Tanzanite Executive Suites
#8 of 101 in Dar es Salaam
646 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tiffany Diamond Hotel & Spa
Tiffany Diamond Hotel & Spa
#28 of 101 in Dar es Salaam
81 reviews
0.5 mi away
Southern Sun Dar es Salaam
Southern Sun Dar es Salaam
#3 of 101 in Dar es Salaam
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre
Address: 5 Upanga Road | Azikiwe St / Upanga Rd Junction City Center, Dar es Salaam 3222, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Dar es Salaam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre Hotel Dar Es Salaam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing