We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy Hotel with excellent Indian Food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre
Ranked #27 of 96 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cosy Hotel with excellent Indian Food”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We had to stay for one night, because our flight was canceled. The management did a goo job. I needed a wheelchair accessible room and after a littel back and forth we got it. The bathroom is small but ok, the room was clean and the bed good. Enough space to move with a wheelchair. Unfortunately with carpets, but that seems to be Holiday Inn policy.
The Buffet at the evenening and the breakfast was realy good and better, than you can expect in a classical business hotel. Even the location in the city center is perfect for business people and tourists.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Streitferdt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahesh L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear Streitferdt,

Warm greetings from Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam! We thank you for writing a review about Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam on tripadvisor.com. We understand that you are a traveler with special need and we try to ensure that your need for wheelchair accessible room is handled efficiently. As per the Holiday Inn standards we have to have carpets in all the rooms. We have an excellent team in the kitchen who are well qualified to prepare various cuisines as per the requests of our esteemed guests like you.
We look forward to see you again at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam.
Best regards,
Mahesh Chander Langoo
General Manager
Holiday Inn Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    172
    164
    53
    28
See reviews for
44
81
40
243
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gurgaon, India
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a week on a business trip. I'd rate this place as an average business hotel. The rooms are decent sized, the breakfast is ok. There was a lot of renovation going on when I was there, there was tarpaulin all over the lobby and the intercom wasn't working. Would have appreciated if I were informed when I booked. If u have the budget, the Serena located nearby is a better bet.

Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Salilsood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Salilsood,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay with us. We always try our best to ensure we meet our guests needs and expectations and on this occasion we apologize for your inconvenience with the renovations. We take all feedback seriously. It helps us gauge what we are doing right and what we need to improve on. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
Reviewed 12 March 2014

I stayed here a few weeks ago, but I gotta say it is a great place to stay. Right just at the perfect place from the centre city centre. You feel like you are at the centre of it all! Fantastic for site seeing. The staff are friendly, and the rooms are a very decent side. The roof top restaurant is quite a great place to chill out and has the right kind of ambience.
Would definitely stay here again and would recommend to people travelling to Dar Es Salaam!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank varmull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahesh L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear Varmul,

Greetings from Holiday Inn dar Es Salaam!

We thank you writing a review about your experiences at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam. We are happy to know that you like our rooms, services and the roof top restaurant.

We appreciate your good words about our staff. It feels good to know that our staff is taking good acre of the guests and looking after them attentively.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcome you once again when you are in Dar!

Mahesh Chander Langoo
General Manager
Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

This a three star property, Service is bad , I had to approach the General Manager to get basic things moving. Food is average. Pool is a tank filled with water, best avoided.

They charge you money for room service and deliver really pathetic food. So do'nt even try. bathrooms are very small and clogged. Stay here if it is for a limited duration and you do'nt have much money to spend.

Room Tip: None, you always keep on praying when you stay will come to an end.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deekshitm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear deekshitm,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments online. I certainly apologize for the inconveniences you experienced with the unsatisfactory quality and service you have received during your stay. Your comments are being shared with the hotel management and appropriate action will be taken. I assure you that every comment, no matter how small, is taken very seriously. We hope to get a chance of hosting you again and show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dar es Salaam hotels

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

I would really like to review this hotel better, but I was kind of disappointing. I've stayed at this hotel twice over the past two months and can't say I was impressed either time. On the plus side it is in a great location, right in the center of the city with nice staff. There is also a nice rooftop restaurant/bar with some decent options (however service is very slow) and great views of the city. Strange enough, they also advertise helicopter transport to the airport since they're the only building in Dar with a helipad on the roof! The breakfast buffet was average fare. On the negative side:

- walls are rather thin...you can often hear people in the other rooms talk at normal volumes
- not very much lighting; rooms seem dark. Some lighting fixtures need to be replaced.
- the A/C isn't the most efficient; sometimes the rooms smell mildew-y
- the bathrooms are very uninspiring and cramped; looks as though they were an afterthought. the mirrors in mine had scratches on it.
- TV doesn't get many stations, and most are poor quality
- WIFI isn't strong. In my room it only works when I'm standing near the door...in other places of the hotel it won't connect at all.
- carpets are worn and slightly dirty
- visible signs of wear/tear/age in hallways
- there is this green light in the rooms that faces the floors, while useful at night, is too bright!

Overall, if you need a nice-ish place to stay for a night at the end of a safari or beach vacation in Dar, the Holiday Inn should be fine. If you're staying for longer than 2-3 days, especially for business, I would suggest another hotel. The Holiday Inn Dar es Salaam just lacks finesse compared to other hotels in the area. Doubtful I'll stay here again.

Room Tip: Friday and Saturday nights the hotel hosts a club with a DJ on the top floor, so I would request a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Eric D,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We are sorry for the shortfalls you have experienced during your stay. Your comments are highly valuable and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. Rest assured, your comments will be used for review and actions will be taken accordingly to ensure similar incidents could be avoided.

Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madurai, India
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

The hotel is located very close to the city center. You get lots of taxis from this place. The city center is walkable from this hotel. It has outdated equipment in GYM, sad experience for a people like me. The rooms are kept very clean, the service at the front desk is good and warm. The towels served wont be white unless you ask for it. So don't be surprised if you notice sub standard towels in your room. Request for a nice towels, you will get it. I stayed there for 5 days and did not find any change in the breakfast menu. You will find the same thing at the same place. One would wonder if that is fresh or old stuff. On the whole i wasn't very happy with gym, breakfast and towels and may be I missed a few more things. Please visit them to validate.

Room Tip: Please be specific about your likes for breakfast, towel quality and cleanliness. You might get bett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rduraikannan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Dear rduraikannan,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving a review about your visit. I am happy that our location was of convenience. However, please accept my apologies if this stay was less than satisfactory due to the condition of the gym facility and breakfast served. We take all feedback seriously and your comments will help us improve what we can offer to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

This is a good value stay if you use IHG points and as Platinum I enjoy the lounge and free breakfast in the restaurant downstairs, and usually a suite upgrade. Its not a luxury hotel for sure, but its where I always stay when in Dar on my way to a safari or beach holiday. Staff is friendly; reception is efficient; ATMs in banks are close by (although it was better several year sago when there was one in the hotel); the bar on the top floor is excellent for the views , drinks and entertainment; ferry is close, and other places you may want to go are not far away some by walking , some by taxi.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordonnomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahesh L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Gordonnomad,

Warm greetings from Holiday Inn City Centre Dar Es Salaam!

I thank you so much for writing a beautiful review about our property on tripadvisor.com. We are happy to know that you have always been using our hotel for your stay in Dar ES Salaam and you have always found this hotel to be good because of the location, services and the friendly attitude of staff. It is good to receive good comments from our regular and loyal guests who stay with us more frequently. Our hotel is very well located such that it becomes convenient for all our business guests to move around in the city.

We hope to see you more often to use our facilities and services. We will try to make your stay more comfortable every time you stay with us.

Looking forward to meet you during your next visit to Dar Es Salaam.

Best regards,

Mahesh Chander Langoo
General Manager
Holiday Inn City Centre
Dar Es Salaam Tanzania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
0.1 mi away
Ramada Encore Dar Es Salaam
Ramada Encore Dar Es Salaam
#8 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
158 reviews
0.4 mi away
New Africa Hotel
New Africa Hotel
#17 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
414 reviews
0.2 mi away
Golden Tulip Dar City Center
Golden Tulip Dar City Center
#20 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Harbour View Suites
Harbour View Suites
#18 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
227 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tanzanite Executive Suites
Tanzanite Executive Suites
#10 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
657 reviews
0.3 mi away
Urban Rose Hotel and Apartment
Urban Rose Hotel and Apartment
#26 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre
Address: 5 Upanga Road | Azikiwe St / Upanga Rd Junction City Center, Dar es Salaam 3222, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Dar es Salaam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre Hotel Dar Es Salaam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing