We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great City Centre Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre
Ranked #26 of 97 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Reviewed 16 May 2014

The Holiday Inn is well located in the city centre of Dar Es Salaam with familiar Hoilday Inn furnishing in all the rooms. Bar on the roof and a meeting room with mostly glass walls allowing you great views. Breakfast and lunch are very good though meeting facilities rather poor

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gavinareid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahesh L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Dear Gavinareid,

Warm Greetings from Holiday Inn City Centre Dar Es Salaam!

We thank you for writing a review about our property on tripadvisor.com. We appreciate your good comments about the rooftop bar, breakfast and lunch buffet. The location is good but at the same time it is bit of a constraint to have large meeting rooms and conference facilities. We will still strive to live up to your expectations to improve our meeting room facilities.

We look forward to welcome you once again during your next visit to Dar Es Salaam.

Best regards

Mahesh Chander Langoo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (502)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

197 - 203 of 502 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

Travelled to the city of Dar Es Salaam for business. The hotel is adequate. The facilities are good for a hotel situated in the city. The good is good. Although the hotel clearly needs renovation in most parts, its clean and offers its guests all the facilities required. The service isn't the greatest, but I guess that's expectant of the area.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank GusBehn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahesh L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Dear Gusbehn,

Warm Greetings from Holiday Inn City Centre Dar Es Salaam!

We thank you for writing a review about our property on tripadvisor.com. We appreciate your good comments about the cleanliness and the facilities. The renovation of the property is currently being done in a phased manner as this is a functional property. In order to minimize the inconvenience to the resident guests, the pace of renovation is a bit slow. But w will soon complete the renovation of all the floors.

We are sorry for any inconveniences caused to you during your stay at the hotel. we look forward to welcome you once again during your next visit to dar Es Salaam.

Best regards

Mahesh Chander Langoo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Great hotel.Room is great.Food is excellent.Service is impeccable.Vibrant atmosphere on the 11th floor after 22:00. Beautiful view from the sundeck on the 11th floor.Shuttle departs for beach area at 10:30 daily.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the harbor side of the hotel that would be the South / Eastern side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louis02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahesh L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear Louis2,

Warm greetings from Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam!

I thank you so much for the nice words you have written about our property here at Dar EsSalaam. All our efforts are always focused to surpass the expectations of our esteemed guests like you. The positive feedback from guests like you make us happy and we feel satisfied that we are moving in the right direction.
The Al Dar sheesha lounge and restaurant is one of the best places to be spend late evenings here in Dar Es Salaam. We also offer value added services like the shuttle to the beach which has always been appreciated by our guests. we are happy to know that you like our services.

We look forward to welcome you again at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam. We laso expect you to recommend our property to your friends and colleagues.

Best regards,

Mahesh Chander Langoo
General Manager
Holiday Inn City Centre
Dar Es Salaam
Tanzania

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

I stayed at the Holiday Inn for business, and despite the good location, should you be seeing clients in City Centre, the hotel rooms are in serious need of upgrade. The lobby and breakfast restaurant have all the look and feel of a Holiday Inn any where in the world, but thats were it ends. The rooms are a good size and have typical furnishings, but bathrooms are old and the bathtub shower was falling apart and needed attention. The advertised Free Wifi is almost impossible to connect to from your room, as according to a staff member the router isn't strong enough to reach rooms on higher floors (I was on 4th and couldn't get a signal). The Hotel wont be on my list of choices next time i visit Dar.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank SA_Business_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahesh L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Dear SA_Business_Traveller,

Warm greetings from Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam!

I thank you for your review on tripadvisor.com. I appreciate your comments about the Lobby, food and particularly the breakfast. We apologize about the inconveniences caused to you by faulty internet but this has been looked into and rectified. The rooms are being renovated and are certainly going to be in excellent condition.
I would request you to consider this as a one off case as this does not reflect on the high standards being followed by Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam. Please let me know about your next visit to Dar Es Salaam and i would be happy to meet you in person to discuss all issues with you.

Best regards,

Mahesh Chander Langoo
General Manager
Holiday Inn
Dar Es Salaam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

This Holiday Inn is in the centre of the city, the traffic at peak times from the airport can be pretty awful, so one innovation is the offer of Helicopter transfers for USD $275 to beat the traffic, certainly not to everyone's budget.
The infrastructure is a bit shaky, a good storm will knock out the lifts and leave you with no running water in the rooms, not ideal when you have a busy day of meetings ahead of you!
The business centre is dreadful, the machine setup dreadful and not connected to the printer which rarely seems to be working. Wi-Fi is complementary and works well until the hotel is full and the bandwidth is being hammered by every resident on several devices each!
The rooftop bar is a great location to retire to after a long day, open until 2am, this is the place to be of an evening.
All in all an OK hotel, rooms are clean and comfortable but facilities are limited. No ironing facilities are provided. Very slow check in times can be experienced depending on the front of house staff.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GreboGuru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahesh L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Dear Streitferdt,

Warm greetings from Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam!

We thank you for writing a review about Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam on tripadvisor.com. We understand that you are a traveler with special need and we try to ensure that your need for wheelchair accessible room is handled efficiently. As per the Holiday Inn standards we have to have carpets in all the rooms.
We have an excellent team in the kitchen who are well qualified to prepare various cuisines as per the requests of our esteemed guests like you.

We look forward to see you again at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam.

Best regards,

Mahesh Chander Langoo
General Manager
Holiday Inn
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

The hotel is a little more used, but not more as Holiday Inn hotels Italy or USA or Canada. Or OMG dirty Crowne Plaza Amsterdam or terrible H-Inn Lisboa City center. Of course, IHG chain members in Germany, China, Hungary or for example Slovakia are much much beter. What is not OK is complicated WiFi internet access with insufficient signal power and mad/crazy access code system not trasferrable between unconnected access points inside the hotel space. Here You are in Africa. However the room carpets, TV or chairs can be better and newer, the staff is excellent, service perfect and location fine. .

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Pan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eclipse22, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Dear Mr.PanP,

Warm greetings from Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam!

We thank you for writing a review about Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam on tripadvisor.com. We also thank you for rating our hotel better than other hotels mentioned in your review. We apologize for the inconvenience caused to you because of internet/wi-fi not being good enough as per your expectations. We have also noted your concerns about the rooms.
We are happy to know that you have rated our staff as excellent and service being perfect.

We would be happy to welcome you at Holiday Inn during your next visit to Dar Es Salaam.

Best regards,

Mahesh Chander Langoo
General Manager
Holiday Inn
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We had to stay for one night, because our flight was canceled. The management did a goo job. I needed a wheelchair accessible room and after a littel back and forth we got it. The bathroom is small but ok, the room was clean and the bed good. Enough space to move with a wheelchair. Unfortunately with carpets, but that seems to be Holiday Inn policy.
The Buffet at the evenening and the breakfast was realy good and better, than you can expect in a classical business hotel. Even the location in the city center is perfect for business people and tourists.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Streitferdt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahesh L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Dear Streitferdt,

Warm greetings from Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam! We thank you for writing a review about Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam on tripadvisor.com. We understand that you are a traveler with special need and we try to ensure that your need for wheelchair accessible room is handled efficiently. As per the Holiday Inn standards we have to have carpets in all the rooms. We have an excellent team in the kitchen who are well qualified to prepare various cuisines as per the requests of our esteemed guests like you.
We look forward to see you again at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam.
Best regards,
Mahesh Chander Langoo
General Manager
Holiday Inn Dar es Salaam, Tanzania

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
0.1 mi away
Ramada Encore Dar Es Salaam
Ramada Encore Dar Es Salaam
#8 of 97 in Dar es Salaam
198 reviews
0.4 mi away
New Africa Hotel
New Africa Hotel
#18 of 97 in Dar es Salaam
422 reviews
1 mi away
Best Western CBD Hotel
Best Western CBD Hotel
#24 of 97 in Dar es Salaam
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Golden Tulip Dar City Center
Golden Tulip Dar City Center
#22 of 97 in Dar es Salaam
81 reviews
0.5 mi away
Harbour View Suites
Harbour View Suites
#16 of 97 in Dar es Salaam
254 reviews
1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre

Address: 5 Upanga Road | Azikiwe St / Upanga Rd Junction City Center, Dar es Salaam 3222, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Dar es Salaam
Price Range: £61 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre Hotel Dar Es Salaam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing