We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little coffee shop and get together place”
Review of Epi d'or

Epi d'or
Ranked #7 of 304 Restaurants in Dar es Salaam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$15
Cuisines: French, Lebanese, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: We are located at Haile Selassie road in Masaki. Epidor has been 17 years of serving freshly bake bread and pastries. We also serve sumptuous Lebanese and Continental dishes. Excellent place for all kinds of functions.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
58 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Nice little coffee shop and get together place”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Great little place to grab a cappuccino and a scone. They also have great breakfasts. It is a safe place for a solo visit too and happy that they have guards in the parking lot. Will definitely visit again.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    141
    35
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dunkeld, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
294 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Lebanese Restaurant in Dar”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Good Lebanese food. Open air but with an inside bit as well. Good choice. I had the Mezze which was tasty and filling. The usual stuff, Homous, Babaganoush, fatayer, Moutabel, Pitta etc. Well recommended. Not too expensive.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank gam8le
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
81 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“incredibly disappointing”
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Went here with friends who had been before and raved about it. Service was fine but I ordered the mixed grill and honestly only the chicken was edible. The rest was vile. Two of my friends also ordered it and all three of us felt incredibly ill afterwards, it even made me throw up, which has never happened after a meal before. Everyone else at our table seemed satisfied with their meal so perhaps it was just a poor batch of meat but I would be scared to go back, I was that ill after it. And it was pricier than many of the other restaurants in Dar that we've eaten in. That being said the smoothies are excellent and the wraps looked (and supposedly tasted) great. If you do go, avoid the mixed grill!! (and the Aryass, which tasted almost as bad as it looked according to my friend)...

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cailinseamus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nungwi, Tanzania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Food, Courteous, Friendly Service”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

This was a recommendation from a friend when on a short trip to Dar. The food was excellent, the service was friendly and courteous. The lemonade with fresh mint was delicious and refreshing and make sure you save room for the homemade caramel almond ice cream, it's absolutely gorgeous! There were a couple of small problems with the service, but they were fixed quickly and professionally. We enjoyed dinner so much, we went back for lunch the next day!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Really nice Lebanese”
Reviewed 2 August 2013

I know most people rave about the cafe aspects of this place, but I am far more keen on the lebanese. There may be nothing spectacular but all the dishes were really nice.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kyle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Epi d'or also viewed

Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
 
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
 
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
 

Been to Epi d'or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing