We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK For What It Is”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Transit Motel Airport
Ranked #54 of 96 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Reviewed 13 December 2012

We used Dar es Salaam as our travel hub on a 6 week trip to Africa. We stayed at the Transit 3 seperate nights when we had transfer flights a day apart. This hotel is basic, real basic. The place has curb appeal. It looks good from the street but the inside does not maintain the image. Once through the door it is a 2 star hotel. The rooms are very small and rather bleak. The rooms we had were clean. You had better have something to read because that is about all there is to do. There is free wifi so you can catch up on email or some of your favorite websites. The staff are hit and miss. Half are really nice and helpful, the other half I think hate their job. The restaurant is inexpensive and adiquate but the food is totally uninspired. A couple of things that you might want to know, there is no hot water, this was not much of a bother as the water is not really cold either, the shower was only slightly bracing. On two of our stays we asked for a wake up call, both times the call came an hour earlier than we requested, something missed in the shift change I guess. There is AC and a fan. The AC was not working properly but did cool the room adiquately.
The hotel will book a taxi for you but it costs $5 per ride. The ride is literally 500M. The times we arrived or left in the daylight we walked and had no trouble what so ever. If you can arrange your own taxi, easy on arrival, you can get a ride for 4500 TSH or less, 1/2 of what the hotel driver charges. I assume the hotel gets a kick back or the driver is making a fortune. You can also arrange for the driver that drops you off to pick you up at a specfic time and negotiate that cost as well. To get to the hotel walk straight out the international airport road, across the busy highway and along the street directly opposite the airport entrance. About 100M you cross a rail road track and 20M later the hotel is on the cross street on you left hand side.

If you care to read about Africa check out our non profit blog at:
http://havecarryonwilltravel.com

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MurTheExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (194)
There are newer reviews for Transit Motel Airport
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 194 reviews

Reviewed 12 December 2012

The room had the basics- bed, air co, mosquito net, shower, desk, and basic TV.
The shower only had cold water.
Staff was okay.
One nice feature is that they had Wi-Fi available for guests.

At the restaurant, there wasn't much available from their menu. The fried chicken was fine (about as much meat as bone) and the masala chips were the highlight.

You should be able to get a taxi for $4 plus tip ($1) or possibly less- it is located almost right across the street from the airport. Walking to/from/around the neighbourhood does not seem safe.

For transit, this is a convenient, affordable option.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CDN_Wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2012

We stayed at Transit Motel at the beginning and end of our Tanzanian adventure purely because we had very early flights to catch the next morning and therefore wanted to be as close to the airport as possible. And close it was: no more than 7-10 mins drive, door to door, depending on traffic (animals, potholes, carts, vendors etc). The Motel arranged for a taxi to pick us up and drop us off each time, which was well worth it. Just ask them to do so when making your booking. (Pay the taxi driver in cash each time.)

There were a host of less than desirable attributes of the Transit Motel, which will follow, but it was clean. And it was close to the airport. If we were doing the same trip again and had the same early flights to catch, then we'd probably stay there again. For US$40 per couple per night you'd be hard pressed to get anything cheaper or more convenient.

The less than desireable attributes were as follows (this is just to prepare you - don't be put off by it - if you are going to stay here just do so knowing it's a 1-2 star motel at best).

The aircon worked in our room, but not in my sister's. Hers was set at a contant 15 degrees (or something that felt that cold). At least it was cool though (it was already 30 degrees at 6.30am with 100% humidity when we were there in Feb). If there were more than just sheets on the beds to provide some warmth, the cool temp may not have been such a problem, but there weren't, so it ended up being a really cold night. Tip: have some warm clothes/blanket on you in case this happens to you.

Both rooms had a shower and toilet. There was no toilet seat in my sister's room and there were some issues with the plumbing... Make sure you wear your own jandals/slip slops in the bathrooms - don't use the ones provided by the Motel.

The Motel has a restaurant, but don't rely on this for your eating requirements. We arrived at the Motel at 7pm and were told the restaurant was open for dinner. We ordered our meal at around 7.30pm. It arrived at 9.30pm. All we ordered was rice and veges and burgers and fries. At no point were we told to expect a 2 hour wait. When we enquired about dinner, we were told 'it was coming'. Tip: The rice and veges was the better option. Better tip: pack your own food to eat when you arrive or eat before you get there. There's no kitchen facilities in the rooms but even some tinned food/bread/chips/muesli bars etc would have been better than waiting all that time and paying the earth for a well below average meal. We weren't that prepared at the beginning of our trip, but on the way back, we ate a big dinner before we left Zanzibar so we didn't need to eat at the Motel when we arrived.

Some staff were really helpful. Others weren't. The Motel is next door to a night club. We were so tired that it didn't worry us, but if you're a light sleeper make sure you bring earplugs. Don't be alarmed at the trip out there from the airport. Especially at night, it looks like you're going into some squatter camp never to return again - but you're not. It's fine :) The Motel feels really safe: with a big fence and security guard on watch 24/7.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank L2C2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2012

This small hotel is basic but very convenient for the airport. Rooms small but clean and perfectly comfortable. One word of warning, do not rely on an early morning call, it just doesn't seem to happen despite assurances. On the other hand their taxi service seems perfectly reliable.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kibebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2012

I was extremely happy with the Transit Motel in Dar es Salaam. I, like most travellers, was only there for one night between flights. Although I had arranged a pick-up at the airport, it either didn't arrive or turned up late so I began to walk. It was a very short walk, max. 15 minutes and the hotel was very easy to find. It was still light so I didn't mind this at all, although I wouldn't have wanted to do it on arrival in the dark - it is not advised to walk anywhere in Tanzania in the dark. I didn't feel unsafe when I did it, however.

My room was lovely, very clean, with a big bed, a mosquito net and air conditioning. There was hot water for the shower, and an actual proper toilet! (the last place I had been staying only had squat toilets). For me, the best thing about the hotel was free wifi that worked really well. I had been staying in Arusha and it was so rare to find this anywhere!

I found all the staff extremely helpful and friendly. I had a lovely dinner, and a very nice evening. The only thing I would say is that the service was very slow in the restaurant; there was one man in particular getting very angry about this.

The transfer for my flight in the morning was there and waiting at 6am, just perfect.

Overall, a great place to stay if you have an early flight/arrive late in Tanzania.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajd87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

We arrived late at night on the inevitably delayed TAZARA train from Zambia. The motel wasn't far away and we received a warm welcome and a good meal from the kitchen staff who were just finishing for the night. The room was clean, the shower very welcome after the delights of TAZARA and we slept well. Convenience is the big plus with this place, being a 10 minute walk from terminal 2 of the airport. We were taking an internal flight, most of which use the smaller terminal 1 which is a 5 min taxi ride. Because we were taking the internal flight weight is more restricted so we asked the motel if we could leave some of our luggage there, to pick it up later for when we left for home. This was no problem. They recorded what we'd left in a book and all was in order when I picked it up 4 weeks later! This place was just what we needed, just the job.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoveTanzania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Motel very close to the airport, you can eaven walk. Its quite clean. The only problem is staff, so lazy !!! I was waiting for someone to prepare food on breakfast before 10am ! no way they drinking cofee in kitchen and dont care about clients waiting. Had to go to kitchen and shout if anybody working there? On the end supriced what I want from them?? Taxi 15 min late, paid in the hotel but driver ask me again about money on airport. He wants me to wait until he call hotel and confirm my payment... so unprofessional !

Tomasz - Poland

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tomasz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
6.2 mi away
Tanzanite Executive Suites
Tanzanite Executive Suites
#10 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
665 reviews
5.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Colosseum Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotreef Hotel
Hotreef Hotel
#68 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
No photo provided
Tansoma Business Hotel
#67 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
3 reviews
6.2 mi away
Blue Pearl Hotel
Blue Pearl Hotel
#70 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
85 reviews
6.3 mi away
Harbour View Suites
Harbour View Suites
#19 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Transit Motel Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Transit Motel Airport

Address: 4 Block D Karakata Rd, Off J Nyerere Airport | P O Box 18083, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 96 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Price Range: £35 - £43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Transit Motel Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Transit Motel Airport is located near Dar Es Salaam's J Nyerere Airport providing clean and affordable no frills accommodation. The Motel is ideal place for travelers arriving late during the night or those departing very early in the morning. We provide airport transfers to our guests upon request. Check-in can be done any time (yes! 24/7) And late check out can be arranged. Breakfast (included in the room rate) is available even for early departed guests. Free WiFi available to our guests ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Transit Motel Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Transit Motel Airport Hotel Dar Es Salaam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing