We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceeded expectations” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Transit Motel Airport

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Transit Motel Airport
Ranked #47 of 103 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Virginia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Exceeded expectations”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

The transit motel was a very pleasant surprise. We used it for transit purposes only, arriving around 7:30pm and leaving at 3am to catch a flight to Istanbul. We asked for transfer to and from the airport, and it was there waiting for us both times.

The room itself was perfectly fine, with working outlets, air conditioning (totally unexpected and very welcome!), a nice powerful ceiling fan and mosquito nets. It was surprisingly quiet considering the bustling street outside, and felt very safe.

The restaurant was pretty good, with decent food and a good beer selection (although service was painfully slow, I think because they went out to get more hamburger buns).

All in all - a nice experience for a great price, and exactly what we were looking for.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mwanawadunia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    49
    78
    35
    16
See reviews for
20
71
40
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

I arrived late at night and left early in the morning, so the room served its purpose as a sleeping accomodation. The taxi driver was at the airport when I arrived (I confirmed via email a couple times beforehand) and it was a 5 minute drive to the hotel. The room was clean, there was a fan, the water was warm. No complaints for a budget transit motel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TarzanJane2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

If you have an early morning flight and need a place to stay for one night that is close to the airport, then this place is certainly the closest to airport (approx 5mins). So the good thing about staying here is that one can avoid the terrible Dar traffic, and get to the airport easily and quickly.

However be warned...

We stayed here twice, two weeks apart, and on both occasions we stayed here there was very loud music until very late at night. So we didn't get much sleep on either occasion.

The other thing that I found very frustrating is that on both occasions that we stayed there the receptionist claimed not to have any change. The fee is $40 per night for a double room. You are required to pay a $4 deposit, and then upon arrival you have to pay the remaining $36. Both times that we stayed there the receptionist took our $40, claimed not to have change and then pocketed the remaining $4. There was never any offer to pay the change at a later stage or the next morning. I found the receptionist to be rude and we were treated like it was tough and we just had to accept that we had to donate $4 to her every time. The sad thing is that if she didn't swipe $4 off us every time we checked in here, we would tip far more, and she would actually get more out of us if we received better service. But I suppose she doesn't car because at the moment she is probably making a fortune keeping every customers change.

At least there was wireless in the rooms which was a plus.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Caroline T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood, Colorado
Level Contributor
260 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 289 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

It's Tanzania, it's Africa, so when the water isn't warm, the lights go out, and the water doesn't work at all, consider it part of the experience. What I loved about the Transit Motel was that the staff tried very hard to get the water to warm up (it didn't) but they also made sure I got my wonderful breakfast (I had forgotten there was a free one), and when the power and water were both off, I went for a nap, during which all was restored. Their good humor, and willingness to work with me made it turn out just fine. I found the rooms very clean, although you MUST wear the flip flops in the shower or your floor will have dirty footprints everywhere. Also if you pull the drapes open next to the alley and you are in your altogether, don't be surprised if you startle some worker like I did, because there is NO privacy. Stay dressed or keep the drapes closed. The lights are dim but that's the price you pay.

Plenty of plugs, thank you very much, for recharging. It's a twelve minute walk to the airport if you're not carrying much. The bathroom light is very dim, too. So bring a flashlight.

Room Tip: Get the room FAR in the back corner. Quieter, the fan keeps it very cool IF the power is on.The show...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

We arrived on a Wednesday and were kept up past 1am because of loud music playing right outside our window. Although it is close to the airport - literally 5 minutes away - I don't know if it's worth it considering you don't get any sleep. The bed is pretty comfortable but the bathroom is a bit dingy - the shower head is rusted.

The restaurant at the motel is slow - it took about 1 hour for an avocado salad (which was cut up avocado with cucumber), spaghetti with tomatoes (this is literal, don't expect a marinara sauce), and spiced beef with mashed potatoes (which oddly came with freshly diced tomatoes).

The car they arrange for pick up and drop off is $5USD or 8000TZS. The wifi is pretty strong so that's a plus - maybe it's because they know you'll be up all night from the loud music so they minus well give you good wifi!

In summary, if you're looking for rest - don't stay here - at least not in room 4 (facing the street).

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christine l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrence, Kansas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

We stayed here to rest before a 3:30 am flight. It was close to the airport and the taxi driver used by the hotel was good and punctual. But the food in the restaurant was terrible and in the room one bed was missing the top sheet and 3 of the 4 pillows did not have a pillow case. Front desk was indifferent

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank paulaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

We stayes 1 day in this hotel and had been very satisfieed. Our plane left at 3.45 in the night and we were glad to find a hotel just close to the airport. the price and service are good and the rooms clean.
We can recommend this hotel for a short trip to Dar es salem.

Room Tip: clean room with aircondition, 2 minutes far from the airport with restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christiane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
6.2 mi away
Tanzanite Executive Suites
Tanzanite Executive Suites
#8 of 103 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
5.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Colosseum Hotel
Best Western Plus Colosseum Hote...
#21 of 103 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Bedroom Hotel
The Bedroom Hotel
#51 of 103 in Dar es Salaam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
No photo provided
Tansoma Business Hotel
#71 of 103 in Dar es Salaam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
6.2 mi away
Harbour View Suites
Harbour View Suites
#19 of 103 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
7.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Transit Motel Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Transit Motel Airport

Property: Transit Motel Airport
Address: 4 Block D Karakata Rd, Off J Nyerere Airport | P O Box 18083, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 103 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Transit Motel Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Transit Motel Airport is located near Dar Es Salaam's J Nyerere Airport providing clean and affordable no frills accommodation. The Motel is ideal place for travelers arriving late during the night or those departing very early in the morning. We provide airport transfers to our guests upon request. Check-in can be done any time (yes! 24/7) And late check out can be arranged. Breakfast (included in the room rate) is available even for early departed guests. Free WiFi available to our guests ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Transit Motel Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Transit Motel Airport Hotel Dar Es Salaam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing