We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and Cheerful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Transit Motel Airport
Ranked #55 of 95 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
86 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Cheap and Cheerful”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

For a quick night between planes, this place is ideal. Nothing fancy but very close to the airport--you can walk it if you're feeling brave and it isn't dark out--clean rooms, hot water, even a TV. There's a little room where they serve breakfast and when you've just come off a 24-hour flight, you can get a beer to take to your room. Don't count on the airport pick-up service, however.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nomad1248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rolandi, Manager at Transit Motel Airport, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you Nomad for your review. We are happy that you had a nice stay with us albeit for a few hours. We will do all we can to ensure that our transfer services a very reliable. Next time you count on us on airport transfer

Asante sana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    51
    78
    37
    17
See reviews for
20
73
41
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
111 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

It is what it is.
A good value for the money.
Good for unlimited wifi and a place to stretch your legs and lie down. The bathroom is atrocious and totally unclean and there isn't technically a shower.
I had checked in at 10pm and left at 5am for my domestic flight. On my way back I used it during the day to just use the internet and lie down a bit.
Never used the bathroom !!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Showbiz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rolandi, Manager at Transit Motel Airport, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you Showbiz for your candid review. We are happy that you had some good experience although you were not comfortable with some of our amenities/facilities. We have taken some measures to improve them and hopefully when you pass by next time you will find a difference. Karibu sana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Since we arrived Dar es Salaam airport at 7 PM and next day left the city by plane, we chose this hotel, located near the airport. Anyhow you need taxi to get to the hotel, at some 5$. Receptionist was very unkind, restaurant shabby, mattress U shaped. Breakfast was not served due to the unnoticed absence of the chef. Instead of breakfast missed, they offered free ride to the airport. The driver took us to the wrong airport even though we told him we are going to domestic airport, flying to Zanzibar(there are neighboring two airports in this city one for international, one for domestic).

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yong H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rolandi, Manager at Transit Motel Airport, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Thank you for taking your time to write a candid review of our hotel. It is unfortunately that you did not have a pleasant experience while staying with us. We wrote to you few days ago requesting more information to enable us to know when did you actually stayed with us. It is not that we are in doubt about your stay but we want to know who was there to serve you. Unfortunately we can not know this from the info available here at TA.

J Nyerere Airport has two terminals, one for light aircrafts and charter planes and the second one for both local and international flights. Sometimes this cause a confusion to our guests when booking the transfer. To be on safe side tell us which flight you're in and we will know which airport terminal to send you. We are very sorry for the confusion but we are happy that you reached your terminal in time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frauenfeld, Switzerland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

If you have to stay one night near the Dar es Salaam airport, this is certainly not a bad choice. Even though the arranged pick-up at the airport did not show up the taxi drive took only less than 5 minutes so it is very convenient to get back to the airport and catch a flight without having to cross the entire city. The room was functional and not very cosy. There is a little restaurant which closes at 10pm and also serves you breakfast in the morning. It was easy to arrange a taxi for the next morning.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manulin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rolandi, Manager at Transit Motel Airport, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Thank you Manulin for taking your time to write a review about us. We are happy that you had a pleasant stay albeit for few hours.

We are sorry that we did not collect you from the airport as arranged. In the past we use to arrange the transfers with airport's taxi drivers, therefore we did not have a control over them. Since late Jan this year we have our own transfer vehicle and the problem of our guests missing the transfer is not there anymore

We hope that you will stay with us next time you're in Dar Es Salaam

Karibu sana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
71 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

The hotel is literally 5 minutes from the airport, although when I arrived in the middle of the night - it took 30 minutes before the taxi that was picking me up arrived (from 5 minutes away!). I had pre-paid the 5 USD to be picked up and returned to the airport then following more, yet the taxi driver and the check-in person stated that this was never paid. Luckily I had the email confirmation showing that I did in fact already pay this fee.

Rooms were ok. Pretty clean. REALLY noisy outside. If it weren't for the airconditioning to cool me off and to drown out the noise, I likely would have been awake the entire night. It was VERY HOT and in the middle of the night, the electricity went out - which was a bit disturbing. It was not only pitch black, but it became so uncomfortably hot that I had to just lie there hoping that the airco would pop back on soon (and it luckily did!).

WiFi was available sometimes - which helped. I didn't want to stay in the bathroom long as there was an ant nest near the sink which wasn't pleasant to be around. Didn't stay long - just a quick in and out so can't say much more about other issues.

For a woman staying there alone though - I definitely didn't feel super safe...

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Blitz17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONDON
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014 via mobile

Very close to airport so saved a trek into Dar. Rooms clean enough and had air con. Bed comfy with mosquito net. Service mostly bad - grumpy and surly as other reviews describe. Air con worked and drowned out the nearby music playing til late so sleep was also fine. Water didn't work in the morning so no shower available. Felt safe/secure. Chef missing when we arrived so food availability was limited! Distinctly average and below average in places but when you're tired you can sleep most places. Walked to airport in morning. 5 mins, very easy.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HULLJEM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mombo
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

The hotel is very close to the airport and they also offer a pick-up service for 5 USD, which is nice if you arrive at Dar airport in the middle of the night (the pick-up actually is quite expansive for a 1 minute drive..). The rooms are small and relatively clean, offer a large (though short) bed and there is (slow) WiFi available in the rooms, what made my short stay pleasant. They also offer a simple breakfast. The hotel is not so expansive which makes it a good stay for one night. However, there is a lot of noise during the night from all around (and also from inside) the hotel which makes it hard to get some rest.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marco H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
5.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Colosseum Hotel
6.2 mi away
Tanzanite Executive Suites
Tanzanite Executive Suites
#8 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
651 reviews
5.3 mi away
No photo provided
Tansoma Business Hotel
#65 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard
6.6 mi away
Ramada Encore Dar Es Salaam
Ramada Encore Dar Es Salaam
#10 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
141 reviews
6.2 mi away
Harbour View Suites
Harbour View Suites
#17 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Transit Motel Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Transit Motel Airport

Property: Transit Motel Airport
Address: 4 Block D Karakata Rd, Off J Nyerere Airport | P O Box 18083, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 95 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Transit Motel Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Transit Motel Airport is located near Dar Es Salaam's J Nyerere Airport providing clean and affordable no frills accommodation. The Motel is ideal place for travelers arriving late during the night or those departing very early in the morning. We provide airport transfers to our guests upon request. Check-in can be done any time (yes! 24/7) And late check out can be arranged. Breakfast (included in the room rate) is available even for early departed guests. Free WiFi available to our guests ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Transit Motel Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Transit Motel Airport Hotel Dar Es Salaam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing