We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great budget hotel in Dar”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Safari Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dar es Salaam
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Safari Inn
Ranked #39 of 101 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
1 review
“A great budget hotel in Dar”
Reviewed 7 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed here 16 years ago and it is just the same. Clean, simple rooms at a good price. This time we came with out 3 kids and it was no problem. It always has quite a few young people staying and has a back packers feel. The staff were friendly and we got picked up from the airport.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philipsj68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    40
    56
    24
    14
See reviews for
5
51
34
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sidmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

The staff were extremely helpful in arranging taxi's, ferry tickets to Zanzibar and general advice on where to go and what to do in the city. The rooms were clean and the bathrooms (en suite) had hot water which was a plus. Very cheap for what you get, and the complementary breakfast is enough to keep you going although you can pay for more if you want to. There is also a laptop with internet you can use for free in reception which saved me a bit on internet cafe's. Would go back there is i ever return to Dar.

Room Tip: You don't need to pay extra for aircon, the fans do the job
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grace B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darmstadt, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Except for the breakfast, you find good and affordable food on the streets anyway, the Safari Inn is a nice place for everybody who is looking for simple accomodation and has no interest in greater luxury.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 16AxelR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arona, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Room was simple and a bit dark but clean, noisy at night but this happened everywhere in my trip. Being in Dar, for this price I think also breakfast was good. I appreciated the good position, from there I could walk to the waterfront easily, and then through the neighbourhood with small typical streets, up to the more modern area with shopping malls. At least two restaurants and a café open on sunday very close to the hotel. People where friendly, giving free access to internet, helping with transport to the airport.

Room Tip: Better on 3rd or 4th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sl0wtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
safari2, Manager at Safari Inn, responded to this review, 19 March 2013
Thank you for your comments, We continue to strive to provide better service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013

The hotel is okay for a budget hotel and the staff is nice. the breakfest is borring, but eatable the room is not very clean, so be aware of the bedbugs, unfortunately they got into our bags and is now in our apartment.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nicolaidimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
safariinntanzania, Webmaster at Safari Inn, responded to this review, 26 March 2015
Dear Guest,

Thanks for commenting. I’m glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and I’m sorry for any ways we may have let you down. We’re very careful to make sure we run a bug-free hotel and wonder if you may have gotten the bedbugs from other stop along your journey. In any case, we’ve changed and improved in many ways and hope you will consider staying with us again when in the area. We’re always getting better.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dar es Salaam hotels

Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
132 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013

I stayed as the Jambo inn was shut and generally the lonely planet has good hygiene standards so we took this recommendation for Safari Inn... but my god... we asked for a double but got a twin - not the end of the world went out with friends for drinks and came back to find roaches all over the place by this time its 1am so not much hope of a room change there was a dirt entrusted bin with roaches all over it so we put that out spent 40 mins killing critters on the walls and floors and slept with one bed pulled into the middle of the room and our stuff piled up in the other Left early in the morning. SUCH a pity as the staff were nice and helpful - bad night sleep !! Might be a grand place after a thoroughly deep clean and bug bomb ...

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eileennooleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
safari2, Front Office Manager at Safari Inn, responded to this review, 5 February 2013
Thank you for drawing our attention. We do fumigate the rooms periodically, but sometimes a room can be infested. It would have helped if you had complained immediately at the reception. We could have changed your room immediately.
Following your comment, all rooms have already been fumigated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013

The group was traveling from Kilimanjaro's national parks to Zanzibar so we needed a place to sleep for 1 night in Dar es Salaam. First reaction was...well, kind of shock, but acceptable for one night. On the way back we also stayed 1 night but we knew what to expect and surprisingly this time it was cleaner. Staff is correct, breakfast continental.

Room Tip: There is no elevator so if you have lots of laguage choose 1st floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sne_Mil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
0.2 mi away
Tanzanite Executive Suites
Tanzanite Executive Suites
#8 of 101 in Dar es Salaam
646 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rainbow Hotel
Rainbow Hotel
#46 of 101 in Dar es Salaam
133 reviews
3.5 mi away
Q-Bar & Guest House
Q-Bar & Guest House
#66 of 101 in Dar es Salaam
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn Hotel
Sleep Inn Hotel
#71 of 101 in Dar es Salaam
78 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sapphire
Hotel Sapphire
#24 of 101 in Dar es Salaam
97 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Nikko Tower
Hotel Nikko Tower
#30 of 101 in Dar es Salaam
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Safari Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Safari Inn

Property: Safari Inn
Address: Band Street, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 101 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 40
Also Known As:
Safari Hotel Dar Es Salaam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing