We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap stopover”
Review of Safari Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Safari Inn
Ranked #47 of 96 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
350 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Cheap stopover”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This was the cheapest place we could find online. We paid 35,000 and 30,000 for a airport pickup as we arrived late at night. We only stayed for one night but the room was fine, it had a mosquito net, fan and a powerful hot shower. It was only a 15 minute walk to the port for Zanzibar. The area felt safe in the day but it seemed a different story at night. If you want to just stay for one night then i would recommend this place.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frydayuk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    40
    57
    25
    14
See reviews for
5
52
35
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sudbury, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

I haven't read a lot of reviews of this place but I can guarantee from the rating that some of these people have never been to a hostel in africa before and expected way too much.

Amazingly friendly staff, 24 hour security, a little place to buy cold water and chocolate bars in front, reliable taxi drivers, hot shower, clean room, aircon, Barclays bank and a convenience store down the street!!.. what more could you want?

The only con I would say is the lack of restaurants around this area. By night you'd only really want to go to Chefs Pride down the road.. which is decent but not cooked fresh.

I stayed here 2 nights before zanzibar and couldn't wait to get back for my one night stay after zanzibar. Stayed in both 209 and 109 and I felt the 209 was more clean but they were both still simple and great for cheap. Love it!!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank BekkaDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

Airco not working reported twice no solution, mosquito nets on wall instead if ceiling making it almost unusable (your legs will touch and it gets lise very easy). Had 2 cockroaches in my room in 1 night. Bad experiences enough for me to switch to another hotel. This is my 2nd time in tanzania so i know what and what not to expect

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sjoerd v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
safariinntanzania, Webmaster at Safari Inn, responded to this review, 26 March 2015
Dear Guest,

Thanks for commenting. I’m sorry our property failed to meet your expectations. We take real pride in providing a great guest experience at a fair price and clearly let you down in some ways. I’m glad you found accommodations more to your liking elsewhere. We have changed in many ways, and I hope you will give us another chance to satisfy you soon.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dar es Salaam hotels

Whitehorse, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Great staff who helped us negotiate through this big city. It is not fancy and not the cleanest but good value and very safe. It is located close to the ferry terminal so we could take the ferry to Zanzibar with ease.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shehnaz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Was in Dar for few days and was booked in a different hotel. my very good friend arranged my pick-up from the Airport and the Chauffer suggested a cheap but cheerful budget hotel. Of course, I was a a business trip and was retuning to hotel to sleep.
Hotel is clean, rooms are clean with fan and AC if needed, includes breakfast (tea/coffee, toast, fresh juice and a banana) for extra you pay for.
Staff et all (Haj) are very friendly, hotel is in the city centre and so travelling and taxi service is very near. Rate are very reasonable.
I would recommend this hotel for a week if you are not fussed.
Average, basic facilities, no Internet WiFi !!!

Room Tip: Make sure you spray the room at night with Mosquito repellent and cover the bed with Mosquito net. L...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rikins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

If they had friendly n accommodating staff it might b ok but they don't. The staff are unfriendly non helpful n rude, they make u feel like u r inconveniently bothering them n interfering with there private life. Breakfast is included but don't bother it's a 2 dry pieces of toast with not enuf butter or jam supplied, we were on the 4th floor & guess what no elevator. Because we are not married we were only offered separate beds but when we insisted they gave us a double

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JimKSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
safariinntanzania, Webmaster at Safari Inn, responded to this review, 26 March 2015
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your comments. I’m sincerely sorry you had a bad experience with us. Fortunately, we’ve made many changes in the inn and the staff since your visit, and you’ll find a much better experience if you stay with us again. We’re always working to get better than ever before, and we look forward to the opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Very basic,guess what one can expect for the cheap price. For one night bearable,but don't stay longer.noisy at night.dirty moscito net.neighborhood also not the best,for girls travelling alone not ideal.english speaking staff.no ac

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nadja K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
safariinntanzania, Webmaster at Safari Inn, responded to this review, 26 March 2015
Dear Guest,

Thanks for commenting. I’m glad you found good value for your short stay. We take pride in running a safe, clean, comfortable hotel, and I apologize if we failed to meet your expectations in any way. We have changed and improved since the time of your stay and look forward to serving you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
0.4 mi away
Iris Hotel Dar Es Salaam
Iris Hotel Dar Es Salaam
#36 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
164 reviews
0.0 mi away
Butterfly Hotel
Butterfly Hotel
#42 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
4 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn Hotel
Sleep Inn Hotel
#64 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Rainbow Hotel
Rainbow Hotel
#40 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
139 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Nikko Tower
Hotel Nikko Tower
#30 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
84 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tanzanite Executive Suites
Tanzanite Executive Suites
#10 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Safari Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Safari Inn

Property: Safari Inn
Address: Band Street, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 96 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Safari Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Safari Hotel Dar Es Salaam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing