We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top quality hotel, hands-on management”
Review of Alexander's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alexander's Hotel
Ranked #2 of 114 Dar es Salaam B&B and Inns
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Top quality hotel, hands-on management”
Reviewed 10 December 2013

I spent only one night at Alexander's, but it's a high quality hotel with close personal management by the owner, who clearly has an eye for detail and makes sure his guests are well looked after. He waited up for my late arrival from the airport to personally show me the room, which was enormous and nicely furnished. Nice to find a bowl of fruit in the fridge! Everything worked well, as you would expect at this price level. Ideal for parking yourself if you have a report to write (most of the clients seemed to be consultant types!). Very minor grip was the lack of a 'proper' shower - my room only had the shower on a flexible hose attached to a bath tub. But it's a small issue and I was told other rooms had separate showers. You will also have to walk or drive to find shops - the closest are 15 mins away at Slipway.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Africahand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    21
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
23
8
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beaufort, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Alexander's is a boutique hotel tucked away in a residential area on the Masasani Peninsula of Dar es Salaam. Gordan Alexander and his staff give excellent service to make every guest feel at home. They have an excellent restaurant, which is considered to be one of the best in Dar es Salaam. the Jumbo Prawns are wonderful, but if all you want is a sandwich, they will be happy to make it for you.

It is a bit hard to find (you need to put up some signs Gordan), but it is worth searching out.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nudibranch22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
158 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Stayed at Alexander's for a week while in Dar on business.

The hotel is very nice: well-priced, small, clean, quiet, secure, hassle free, efficiently appointed and the food is quite good.

Good place for single women travelers. Seems to be frequented by NGO in int'l association types, but quite comfortable and efficient.

Dealing with Gordon Alexander by email to confirm the reservations and arrange airport pickups was painless. He's a good host at the hotel.

Power goes off in Dar, but the hotel's generators seem quite capable. There is free wifi through reception varies throughout the hotel.

A decent breakfast is included in the price.

I will definitely stay here again and recommend it to others.

The only drawback is that it is a bit far from the center of the city. With Dar's miserable morning traffic, we had to allow about 45 minutes from hotel to city center appointments.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gregv_ma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
126 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Clean and warm pool, nice location, nice bar/restaurant, clean and spacious rooms.

The manager and staff were helpful and went above and beyond. We stayed here twice.

No cocktails in bar - sniff. Hardly a big deal though.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank FraserCarrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
basel
Level Contributor
100 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed here at the end of a safari with a family of four. We enjoyed the beautiful rooms, excellent food and general sense of welcome. We are finicky sleepers and enjoyed the peace and quiet afforded in the quiet corner of otherwise hectic Dar.
We had saved up our souvenir shopping and were pleased to find the recommendations by the owner brought us to places far less expensive than what we had seen elsewhere in the country.
Also great: the airport pick up and transfer could be put on the hotel bill, very accommodating.
I would stay nowhere else upon return.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank businessmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ajijic, Jalisco
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

I loved everything about this hotel. Gordon is extremely helpful and accommodating. The breakfast is excellent and served in a lovely room. The rooftop bar and restaurant has a great menu and wonderful wine and bar list. Our room was comfortable, spacious, and well-equipped.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajiiccharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
102 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We spent roughly three weeks at Alexander's and nothing was too difficult for Gordon or his staff to make our stay more comfortable and pleasant, from arranging taxis from the airport with five minutes notice when arrival times were incorrect, to being amiable and friendly hosts to chat to in the evenings at the bar in the roof-top restaurant.
The hotel is situated in a little back road on the Msasani peninsular in Dar with easy access to the city and its environs - depending, of course, on the notorious Dar Es Salaam traffic!
There are a number of very good restaurants within easy walking distance of the hotel and the hotel's own roof-top restaurant offers a wonderful menu with excellent choices.
We will definitely be staying here for our next trip.

Room Tip: Any room is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rory G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Slipway
Hotel Slipway
#13 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
0.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard
0.0 mi away
Tanzanite Executive Suites
Tanzanite Executive Suites
#8 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mediterraneo Hotel & Restaurant
Mediterraneo Hotel & Restaurant
#14 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
0.0 mi away
Best Western Coral Beach Hotel
Best Western Coral Beach Hotel
#9 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sea Cliff Hotel
Sea Cliff Hotel
#4 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander's Hotel

Property: Alexander's Hotel
Address: Plot 1216 | Msasani, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 114 B&Bs / Inns in Dar es Salaam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An owner manager boutique hotel with beautiful rooms, elegantly decorated, all overlooking the swimming pool, providing a home away from home for the guests. The restaurant provides excellent food, and guests can choose from a good selection of wines in the unique wine cellar. The roof top lounge and bar has a tranquil atmosphere overlooking Msasani Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Alexander's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing