We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DONT Reccomend this atleast for now. Investors have put in the wrong Management!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Colosseum Hotel & Fitness Club
Ranked #21 of 97 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Nice Property, Nice Area ... Horrible Service.

Room Service Closes at 2230hrs for this range of a hotel ? One Staff (Only Receptionist) for the rest of the night ? House Keeping Knock on the door 5 times in 30 Seconds for almost all the times during my stay. Receptionist wasn't able to call me a Taxi at 2200hrs?

The cook / chef knows what he /she is doing.. not too bad of food. But the lower collar staff need some serious training (The Room Service / Some of the receptionists etc).. They just don't match this hotels standards I think . If the management doesn't consider this. than they should consider lowering the prices for the rooms to match the overall service.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Opinion_20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM1231, General Manager at Colosseum Hotel & Fitness Club, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

Dear Opinion_20,

Thank you for staying at Colosseum Hotel on your recent trip to Dar es Salaam and for taking the time to share your review with us. Feedback such as this is essential to ensure we constantly monitor our standards and procedures and strive to exceed all expectations. I was very disappointed to read your comments on our services; the matters were raised and will be addressed.

Thank you,

Kobus Engelbrecht
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

118 - 124 of 146 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2013

The rooms were spacious and airy although the staff's attention to detail particularly related to bathroom cleanliness needs improvement. The staff were not accommodating considering that this is ranked as a pretty upmarket hotel who have many international travelers. The pool area was wonderful and ideal for a relaxing swim after a busy day. The breakfast buffet was not very impressive and the coffee was not good either, although they make a delicious Marsala chai.

Room Tip: Make sure your room has a fridge and TV remote, mine had neither and they refused to get me a remote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank E_traveller28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

So - the internet here is really slow, but if you go sit on the benches near the elevator it's not bad. What makes this hotel is the gym - which is really, really great. The food is not spectacular, but not awful and the breakfast is good and the staff are friendly. The hotel is quiet and a good place to work from while in Dar.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirsten W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM1231, General Manager at Colosseum Hotel & Fitness Club, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2013

Dear Kirsten W,

Thank you for staying at Colosseum Hotel on your recent business trip to Dar es Salaam and for taking the time to share your review with us. We are delighted to receive feedback on our staff and services thank you for your comments on our facilities at the Hotel and Gym.

We look forward to welcoming you to Colosseum Hotel in the near future.

Regards,

Kobus Engelbrecht
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

It provided the much needed rest after a whole day in between flights. The menu had a good variety and I was spoilt for choice; a la carte takes about 30 - 45 minutes so don't order when too hungry. There is a gym and fitness centre within the hotel premises for those who cannot afford to skip their exercise routine. It helps to know a bit of Swahili.

Room Tip: If you want peace and quiet opt for a room facing away from Haile Selassie Road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wadzie_Musha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM1231, General Manager at Colosseum Hotel & Fitness Club, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2013

Dear Wadzie_Musha,

Thank you for your review and staying at Colosseum Hotel on your recent business trip to Dar es Salaam and for taking the time to share your views. Feedback such as this is essential to ensure we constantly monitor our standards and procedures and strive to exceed all expectations.

With regards to the foods order taking a bit longer, is purely because we prepare each order fresh from the start.

We look forward to welcoming you to Colosseum Hotel in the near future.

Regards,

Kobus Engelbrecht
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2013

Colosseum is located in a quiet and green area of ​​the city. nice pool with bar and sauna, great breakfast with several kinds of hot meat.

of the drawbacks - the room had no fridge, internet worked only through wired connection (a wire was provided on check-in).

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizarov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM1231, General Manager at Colosseum Hotel & Fitness Club, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2013

Dear Elizrov,

Thank you for staying with at the Colosseum and your for your comments on services we provided. The mini bar in your room was send for repairs they day you arrived, I do apologize for the inconvenience.

Karibu Colosseum on your next visit to Dar es Salaam.

Regards,

Kobus Engelbrecht
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2012

I stayed at the Colloseum from the 19th to 21st December 2012 the Hotel was quiet due to the time of year. I had a very plesant stay the breakfast was first class with a lovely lady making your omelette to order with a smile, a nice start to any day, the Restaurant has Indian, Italian, European food on offer and boasts Tanzanias biggest burger ? you are sure to find somthing you like. The room was more than I expected very clean, all mod cons, air con, hair drier, tea and coffee, fridge etc, the free high speed internet (in the room) was easy to log into and was working fine. I never tried it anywhere else. It was very quiet, relaxing and is suitable for business and families I would highly recomend this Hotel, remember this is Africa. It was a pleasant change, not to be charged for a very late checkout as the gentleman on the desk pointed out it was low season and not a problem. I will use this hotel in the future.
Jack from Glasgow

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JACK B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM1231, General Manager at Colosseum Hotel & Fitness Club, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2013

Dear Jack B...

Thank you for your excellent review!!! We appreciate these comments, and will be passed on to our staff.

Kobus Engelbrecht
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

If you are looking for a place with terrible service and safety, Colosseum hotel is your choice.
Issues included:
a. The rug that was taken on day 1 was never returned to the room, leaving my 10 month old to have to sit on the tiles - we were there for 10 days!
b. The bedroom was never cleaned under the bed to the extent that lumps of dust were visible (let alone being close to where my baby used to play)
c. A request for a bath for baby was only seen to on day 9 of 10. Before this, we had to bath our baby in the bathroom basin where we brushed our teeth and gargled our mouths!!
d. On more than one occasion the room was not cleaned of the room service dishes
e. My wife's body wash was being used/taken to the extent whereby what would last my wife at least 2 months, was almost depleted within a week!
f. On the 2 days we requested assistance, my 4 year old and wife were left stranded, despite me arranging for a hotel vehicle to take them to school in the morning.
g. Finally, we had USD 250 stolen from our room.

Room Tip: simply do not stay at this hotel!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JunaidElias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM1231, General Manager at Colosseum Hotel & Fitness Club, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2013

Dear JaunaidElias,

Thank you for your comments. All the your comments was addressed with the necessary departments, and has been resolved.

Kind Regards,

Kobus Engelbrecht

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Peninsula Hotel
3.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Colosseum Hotel
Best Western Plus Colosseum Hote...
#45 of 97 in Dar es Salaam
5 reviews
3.3 mi away
Harbour View Suites
Harbour View Suites
#17 of 97 in Dar es Salaam
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
New Africa Hotel
New Africa Hotel
#18 of 97 in Dar es Salaam
420 reviews
2.3 mi away
Best Western Coral Beach Hotel
Best Western Coral Beach Hotel
#6 of 97 in Dar es Salaam
517 reviews
0.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Oysterbay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colosseum Hotel & Fitness Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colosseum Hotel & Fitness Club

Address: 79 Haile Salassie Road, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 97 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Price Range: £72 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Colosseum Hotel & Fitness Club 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With inspiration drawn from classic Greco - Roman architecture; the hotel offers complete facilities and relaxation whether you arrive after a long day in the office or as a stop of between your safari and Zanzibar beach holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Jovago.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Colosseum Hotel & Fitness Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing