We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay
Ranked #5 of 101 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds UK
Level Contributor
154 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Good Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

We had four days at this hotel from 5th February 2013 because my husband was attending a conference there. It is a comfortable hotel and we had a large, very clean and spacious room overlooking the pool and sea. Unfortunately the pool was being refurbished and wasn't in use. The staff were very helpful. Food was okay but nothing special.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sven L, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay, responded to this review, 28 February 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel;it is true that we are situated in the serene surbarbs of Masaki-Msasani with spectacular views to the ocean; our rooms are also the most spacious compare to the other hotels in same range.

I have delivered the positive feedback to our staff. Thank you again. I regards to the pool; we had closed it for refurbishment from 1st Feb of this year for one month. I am delighted to inform you that it will be open from tomorrow 1st March. we apologized for any incoveniences caused.

We look forward to your next stay - i hope soon.

With Kind regards,


Sven L.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

805 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    256
    358
    117
    49
    25
See reviews for
47
96
53
547
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2013 via mobile

I stayed here on and off for three weeks while I was in Tanzania on business. Even after leaving for the week we were greeted with smiles by name like we had never left. The restaraunt was very good food how ever a little pricy. We deffentaly stay here again if I make it back to Dar.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gradley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sven L, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay, responded to this review, 28 February 2013
Hahaha, i concur, there's nothing like feeling like you are back at home. Thank you for your magical feedback. I hope you learnt a few swahili words from our team like Karibu (welcome) and Asante (thank you).

I have informed the teams about your feedback and we are looking forward to your next stay. As i am always in constant contact with the guests, i hope to meet with you during your next stay.

Asante.

With kind regards,


Sven L.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
addis ababa
Level Contributor
108 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2013

I have been guest by a friend at this hotel, and I found the service very very poor. The breakfast room was so dark that was so sad to have breakfast, lunch or dinner there. The people working there were useless, so many rules for nothing (for example no possible to eat in the pool!!) it was even impossible to talk with the general manager for the complains. The position of hotel and rooms were ok, though

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andrea f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sven L, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay, responded to this review, 9 February 2013
I am sorry to hear that your stay wasnt as memorable as you had expected, however i believe in second chances and i hope your will give us a second chance and stay with us again.

Yes our location is perfect, as we are situated in the Msasani Peninsula home to many embassies and International companies.Unfortunately our restaurant being inside the hotel and without direct light tends to be slightly dark when comming from the beautifully sunshine of Dar es Salaam. However in the evening the restaurant provides a wonderful and memorable setting for Dinner.

Our Food and Beverages manager, is training his team on day to day basis and there are more Menus in the afternoon and evening ours for our pool bar.

Since i am always in constant contact with our guests (sorry i did not manage to meet with you last time)i hope that i will meet with you during your next stay.


With kind regards,


Sven L.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deadwood, South Dakota
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2013

The food was delicious and varied and abundant. Pricey but well worth the cost. We are vegetarian and finding the right food has been sometimes difficult. We were delighted with the luncheon buffet at Marimba.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mmmm924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2013

A returning Dar es Salaam resident and Hilton Gold member, I booked this hotel for the location and usual upgrades from the benefits of being a Hilton Gold member.
However there is really NO BENEFITS if you are a Hilton Gold member...breakfast is included but it is included for everyone. There are no room upgrades. The initial fruit basket was old fruit. Apparently, the executive lounge (one of the best incentives for a Hilton Gold member) has been used to build additional rooms. This was REALLY disappointing since the website does state that the executive lounge is available--not sure why they have not changed this. Only benefit was free water (which you would get anyways) since they gave us access to mini-bar but only has water, beer and soda (which I dont drink)... Hilton Nungwi offers much better Hilton Gold benefits.

Positives:
Good gym for Dar es Salaam
Location
Friendly and competent staff (hard to find in Dar)
Good food selection for Dar
nice seating area by coffee shop
In room/hotel wifi
Good view if have the right room
extremely comfortable bed, sheets and pillows (hard to find in dar)

A few more cons:
Major issue with shower--leaks out of the bathtub non-stop. Basically, the shower has the wrong shower head and probably was never replaced from the previous use of the hotel so the water leaks out of the bathtub ALL over the floor. This not only wastes all the towels (used to sop up the water)and is bad for the environment, but it is extremely dangerous and obnoxious for guests.
Towels smell like smoke--need to differentiate towels for smoking rooms and non-smoking rooms.
Salon--does not have convenient hours--only open until 6/7 and closed on Sundays--not very useful for guests who want to use these services.
Sitings of cockroaches although had to close the hotel for 2 weeks previously so giving it the benefit of the doubt.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Americanincognito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sven L, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay, responded to this review, 9 February 2013
Thank you for your feedback; i hope that you will be able to stay with us again soon. The team and I wish to extend our thanks to you for the positive comments about the service and thesupport you received from us.It is indeed hard to find competent staff and our senior managers are keen on training and supporting all their team members on a daily basis. Asante sana (thank you).

We have informed our maintainance and House keeping team about the bathroom situation and the separation of towels for smoking and non-smoking guests, we apologise for the inconvenience.Our Salon is outsourced but we have requested them to extend time and days of their work so as to provide service to our guests.

As a Hilton Worldwide brand we know the importance of our Hilton Honors Members, i am sorry that you feel that you werent recognised as HHonors , unfortunately being a corporate hotel, we dont always have availability of room upgrades, however, our Front office is informed and they always provide an upgrade on availability. Yes our Executive Floor/Lounge is no longer available, thank you for bringing this information to our attention, we shall update our website at the soonest.

Last but not least, as i am always in constant contact with all our guests, i hope to meet with you during your next stay with us.


With kind regards,


Sven L.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2013

I stayed here for the first time for 2 weeks in January on business. The hotel lacks warmth and atmosphere. The bars and restaurants are not well frequented and the whole place has a "sterile" or cold atmosphere. I have stayed at other hotels in Dar es Salaam, and this was not as good as those. The gym is very poorly appointed which is exacerbated by some the equipment not working. The gardens at the rear are very nice, however, the pool is a bit of a let down.
The shower leaked all over the bathroom floor, whatever I tried to do, and the water temperature was very temperamental, fluctuating between boiling hot and tepid.
The staff were all very friendly and helpful though, and one member of staff was particularly kind and attentive when I had a problem.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grabone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sven L, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay, responded to this review, 9 February 2013
I really appreciate your honest review and loyalty; especially regarding the service provided by our staff. Your feedback is very important to us.

Our gym will be upgraded soon as part of our ongoing efforts to improve our standards. Currently we have closed our swimming pool for full refurbishment and it will open in three weeks. We have also informed our maintaince team to resolve the water temperature fluctuations.

In regards to the occupancy of the hotel during your stay; in late december to mid January, most of Dar es Salaam is on holiday therefore most of our regular guests do not frequent our bars and restaurants.

We hope that you will stay with us in the near future . Thank you again for your review.


With kind regards,


Sven L.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
90 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2013

Good size rooms and facility is nice. Located on the water, near restraurants and craft shopping. Work out facility is sub standard. Breakfast was decent. Staff was friendly and the property is clean and secure.

Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Stratus222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sven L, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay, responded to this review, 4 February 2013
Your review is important to us. Thanks for taking the time to post it.
Yes it is true, we are situated on the shores of Oysterbay, in the serene surbarb of Msasani Peninsula. Our guests enjoy the fresh Indian Ocean breeze whether in the bayview superior rooms or relaxing and enjoying the sunset at the Terrace. Shishah is a plus for the smokers.

In regards to our gym equipment, we have ordered special equipment that will be delivered soon. I hope during your next stay you will enjoy the new equipments.

we at the Doubletree by Hilton Dar, are looking forward to your next visit.


Yours sincerely,


Sven L.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
3.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard
4.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro
5.3 mi away
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
#6 of 101 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Slipway
Hotel Slipway
#15 of 101 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sea Cliff Hotel
Sea Cliff Hotel
#4 of 101 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
4.2 mi away
Southern Sun Dar es Salaam
Southern Sun Dar es Salaam
#3 of 101 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay
Address: Slipway Road Msasani Peninsular, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#4 Luxury Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#9 Business Hotel in Dar es Salaam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Highlights •Located 4.3 Miles from the City Center •Oceanfront property with bay views •Swimming pool and jetty •Three onsite restaurants •5 Meeting Rooms .What to do around here Select the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Dar es Salaam and be close to shops, restaurants and boating. Our hotel offers beautiful bay views and tropical, lush gardens. Enjoy staying in the most affluent area of Dar es Salaam when choosing our hotel. We are within walking distance of restaurants, shops and clubs. Spend a day on the beach. Go snorkeling, fishing and diving. Tee off at the Gymkhana Golf Course, only three miles away from the hotel. Take a 20-minute flight to Mikumi Wildlife Reserve. Visit the Dar es Salaam Yacht Club and go sailing. Visit the Slipway Arts and Crafts Center only two minutes away from the hotel. This popular recreation area offers bookshops, open-air restaurants and pubs. Be sure to visit the Village Museum, Sea Cliff Village and Shoppers Plaza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton EMEA, Jovago.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Dar Es Salaam-Oysterbay Hotel Dar Es Salaam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing