We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business Review”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay
Ranked #4 of 95 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Certificate of Excellence
Watford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Business Review”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Spacious room, extremely comfortable bed, Breakfast buffet was good with all varieties. Staff very friendly. Internet connection was a bit cumbersome but once connected the connection was good. Highly recommended

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Mustafa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judd L, Regional Director: Operations at DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear Mustafa

Thank you for your feedback. Internet connectivity has been a a bit of a downer but with our pending upgrade of WIFI and hotspots throughout the hotel I believe this will be sorted by the end of October, thereby enhancing the experience of all our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

828 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    269
    366
    119
    49
    25
See reviews for
49
96
55
565
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manassas, Virginia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

this was my second visit to this hotel. The location is lovely, facing west on Oyster Bay just outside of Dar proper. The staff are very helpful and friendly. I was traveling with 2 other colleagues and we routinely sat on the long and open terrace to watch the sunsets. The same terrace becomes a hooka "bar" at night and the smells float in the air. The outdoor pool is very nice and also a good place to greet the evening. The hotel is right next to a market that has most of the local wares. There is also a small shopping area that has a grocery store and clothing stores and Tanzanian crafts. The ATMs in the shopping area bank are usually open. We felt safe and well cared for during our week long stay. I would definitely stay there again

Room Tip: Ask for sea view on an upper floor of the main building, usually 5 is best. Rooms in the lower buil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pgholson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judd L, Regional Director: Operations at DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear Pgholson

Thank you for your comments. We appreciate your feedback as it gives us a good indication of where we are at in Dar amongst out competitors. We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 27 September 2013

The meals were excellent as well as the ambience. The staff was professional and friendly. The gym was a little small, but adequate. The only downside was the ocassional foul smell from the sewage lines in the bathroom. Otherwise it was a fantastic stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judd L, Regional Director: Operations at DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Thank You for your positive feedback. We are addressing the bathroom issues and are currently constructing a completely new waste facility so as to counter the issue you have highlighted. I apologise for the inconvenience but rest assured we are on top of this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
89 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We arrived way too early but despite that our room was ready so there was no delay however, being so early the famous Hilton Cookies were not yet ready. To the credit of the front desk staff and the guest relations staff they promised to track us down once they were ready, which they duly did so full marks to them for following up on their promises.
The room (901) was very spacious with a big bathroom and spotless from top to bottom. Housekeeping in general was pretty good though out our stay and the ladies are friendly and cheerful and a delight to chat too. So nice to see.

I spent allot of time around the great pool they have which was wonderfully warm and inviting. The hotel was fairly quite so plenty of loungers and towels. Strange that there were no umbrellas around the pool which kept me having to move the loungers to the shade on the lawn to escape the hot Dar es Salaam sun. This is something perhaps that should be addressed, even if just to save the wear and tear on the immaculate green lawns.

There is a jetty and pier, which appear to not to be in use (at least during the time we were there) This is great venue and perhaps they are missing out on maximizing revenue potential for that area. Just a thought. anyway that is neither here nor there. Back to the poolside. There is a pool bar with a pizza menu which we tired. Pizzas wern't bad but perhaps a little more salt in the pizza dough would not go amiss. Pool service, speed and friendliness were acceptable but not allot of effort made to up sell or even offer additional rounds drinks short of us going up to the bar ourselves to order. Prices are on par with the star grading of the hotel so no problems there.

We did not eat dinner at the hotel though did have cake and milkshakes at their "Piano bar coffee shop" all the cakes and mouse tasted as good as they look. Excellent coffees and milkshakes including egg-less chocolate cake so well done to Hilton for keeping special dietary needs in mind when catering. Service in the piano bar was good with friendly smiling staff. Billing was prompt and accurate.

Breakfast selection was very good with a wide variety of hot foods to choose from, a good cheese board and plenty of breads and pastries. Eggs and pancakes made to order. Overall breakfast foods were well prepared, well presented and tasty. It was however breakfast service that I felt let them down a little as despite on both mornings there being no more than 8 patrons in the restaurant, service was un-attentive and not as friendly as it could have and should have been. On the first morning i actually was compelled to walk over the staff, who had the habit of gathering in small knots in the corners, chatting and taking calls on their cell phones to ask them to rather pay attention the their guests and spend less time chatting and admiring each others phones. Service on the second morning was better but still it appeared that the buss-boy was the only one actually doing any work. The waiters then cheekily brought me a feedback form asking me to compliment their service. Needless to say I ignored it.

The hotel has a good location (though despite being on the water, not much of a beach, in fact no beach but the great pool makes up for that I felt so that did not bother me at all. The slipway complex is about 100m away with a range of shopping and some restaurants (though these are not very good so perhaps you may want to look further afield. there are plenty of options around and front desk is helpful in this regards. Beware of the traffic in Dar so plan your transfers to and from the hotel accordingly.

Despite the little issues, which are easy to fix, i have every intention of returning to this Hotel early in the new year. As such, i do recommend this hotel and look forward to my return visit.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 901 which did not have much of a view but considering we did not spend allot of ti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamirAbdallahAli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judd L, Regional Director: Operations at DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Dear Samir
Wer'e happy you enjoyed your stay!! The entire Team say a hearty ASANTE SANA, your comments are appreciated. Welcome back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 24 September 2013

When i arrived, was welcomed in friendly. Waited in the lounge for 15miutes then was shown to my room, the room waa so clean and fresh... And will never forget frank chauka was a very polite and helpfull staff amongst... Will deffenetly reccommened double tree hotell.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natasha24678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judd L, Regional Director: Operations at DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Hi Natasha
Thanks for your valued response. It is always nice to have guests who identify specific staff members for there commitment to service. We have passed your commendation to Frank and he is proud to have been recognised by you. A big thank you from the entire team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Very nice hotel with all the facilities you would expect, particularly the pool and outdoor terrace area. Excelent and friendly staff. It's also in a good location. Various bars and restaurants along the coast and the Slipway plaza is nearby (try the skewered chicken at the Waterfront restaurant - very nice). The only warning I would give is that there is no beach on site so no access to the ocean. This didn't bother us but may be an issue for some people.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the block that overlooks the pool. We had room 702 and was very happy with that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tulia_Simba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judd L, Regional Director: Operations at DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Dear Tulia_Simba
Thanks for the great feedback. The Garden and swimming Pool are fantastic for a relaxing stay. We are please you had an enjoyable stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
59 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

First trip to Dar es Salaam for a project. So staying on the peninsular makes sense due to bad traffic in town. Everything from the airport cars to the room, food & trimmings ran smoothly (unlike some other reviews). Caroline and the other staff in the hotel and restaurant were most polite, helpful and effective as we zoomed to and from of meetings in our executive van. The gorgeous ocean side facilities were delightful. Any negatives were minor - my first room smelt a little of damp, service can be a little slow (but most things seem to be in this town - think of it as 'relaxed'), and food a little bland. All in all, a comfortable and reliable choice.

Room Tip: The rooms in the main block if you want to avoid older rooms, with potential damp issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RamblinJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judd L, Regional Director: Operations at DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Dear RamblinJoe
We appreciate your feedback and your constructive review. Service is always a priority to us, and we are constantly striving to make this better and "speedier" to ensure a great guest experience. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and next time, we hope to impress you with a improved service delivery.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
3.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard
5.3 mi away
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
#6 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
295 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Tanzanite Executive Suites
Tanzanite Executive Suites
#8 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
651 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sea Cliff Hotel
Sea Cliff Hotel
#5 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
470 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Slipway
Hotel Slipway
#13 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay
Address: Slipway Road Msasani Peninsular, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#3 Luxury Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#9 Business Hotel in Dar es Salaam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Highlights •Located 4.3 Miles from the City Center •Oceanfront property with bay views •Swimming pool and jetty •Three onsite restaurants •5 Meeting Rooms .What to do around here Select the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Dar es Salaam and be close to shops, restaurants and boating. Our hotel offers beautiful bay views and tropical, lush gardens. Enjoy staying in the most affluent area of Dar es Salaam when choosing our hotel. We are within walking distance of restaurants, shops and clubs. Spend a day on the beach. Go snorkeling, fishing and diving. Tee off at the Gymkhana Golf Course, only three miles away from the hotel. Take a 20-minute flight to Mikumi Wildlife Reserve. Visit the Dar es Salaam Yacht Club and go sailing. Visit the Slipway Arts and Crafts Center only two minutes away from the hotel. This popular recreation area offers bookshops, open-air restaurants and pubs. Be sure to visit the Village Museum, Sea Cliff Village and Shoppers Plaza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Dar Es Salaam-Oysterbay Hotel Dar Es Salaam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing