We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, Relaxing, Accommodating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay
Ranked #4 of 95 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Certificate of Excellence
denver
1 review
“Friendly, Relaxing, Accommodating”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Stayed there for a few days on business. It provides a great mix of leisurely offerings with a business feel. I was able to work comfortably at the hotel and enjoy my time there when not working. I never felt claustrophobic or that I had to leave the hotel. The veranda is expansive and the pool area is very inviting. Modest gym allowed for basic workouts. Food was good and lots of variety when the buffet is available. Good coffee shop/lounge area is great for quick meetings or doing a little reading. Staff is very friendly and helpful. A waiter, Okello, was especially on point each day. Room service was speedy. Cleaning personnel were thorough and punctual each day. Overall, it's a clean facility with large rooms and accommodating staff.

Room Tip: For business travelers in demand of WiFi, get a room on the front side of the hotel for a stronger c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hollgram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judd L, Regional Director: Operations at DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Dear Holgram
Great feedback is always welcome as it fuels the energy levels to maintain service excellence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

832 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    271
    368
    119
    49
    25
See reviews for
49
96
55
569
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 28 October 2013

I have been in Dar for a business trip for one month and I had everything I search for a hotel on this lovely one. It is walking distance to Slipway where you can have cafe&restaurant and marketplace. You won't regret if you seek for a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Özer Ç
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judd L, Regional Director: Operations at DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Dear Ozer C
You are most welcome. The positive response shows our team is committed to striving for excellence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

I was staying in Dar Es Salaam for just one night on our way to Arusha for safari. After 30 hours of traveling, I was exhausted and couldn't wait to take it easy. And I was certainly able to do that at Doubletree Hilton Oysterbay.
When I pulled up to the front, I didn't think much of the place other than that it was located in a bit of a sketchy strip of the street. I walked into the lobby and the staff at the reception were very accommodating and kind. Both the room and the bathroom were very large and clean. And the AC was relatively quiet and functioned very well to keep the room cool.
I went downstairs to have a drink to relax, and was pleasantly surprised by the beautiful view of the bay. The pool was gorgeous and clean, and the outside bar area had just as a great view topped with an excellent bar service. I enjoyed the beautiful sunset and drinks until late in the evening.
For dinner I went to the restaurant in the hotel, and had a great meal. Again the service was excellent-friendly and quick.
I wished I had another day to enjoy the pool, and next time I am in Dar Es Salaam, I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yu M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judd L, Regional Director: Operations at DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Dear Yu M
Thank you for your valued feedback. The entire team says thank you for your positive comments relating to the property, views and service. we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

We have been in Dar Es Salaam for several months on a business trip. The hotel and it's staff have been accommodating and professional. We feel the security is a good as it gets in Dar. Food is excellent, room service is fast and accommodating. The staff does a professional job of cleaning the room, not just hurry and get it done but real cleaning top to bottom every day. The front desk was very helpful with changes to our schedule and also with car rentals. We felt that anything we need was accomplished through the hotel and with the best options in town.

We will continue to use this hotel because of their professionalism, cleanliness and commitment to safety.

We have checked and you can pay allot more in Dar Es Salaam for allot less. Call and ask for the Guest Director. She will meet you needs.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Drporter39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judd L, Regional Director: Operations at DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear Dr. Porter39

Thank you for your great feedback. The entire Team says Thank you, and we look forward too welcoming you back soon. I have personally conveyed your appreciation of the Guest Relations Manager's efforts and once again thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 24 October 2013

If we had known the hotel was being renovated we would not have stayed. The noise and dust in the hotel lobby and lounge was unbearable so having coffee or a snack there was not fun. The staff did their best, but it was terrible. There was also an overwhelming smell of sewerage anywhere outside the hotel so the garden and pool area were unpleasant. There was construction just outside the pool fence so the noise, constantly gawking workers, dust etc. was awful. The staff at the pool were excellent and did their best to make guests comfortable. The air conditioner in our room did not work properly but I discovered that if I switched it on and off at the wall then it re-set itself and worked properly till it went on the blink again. Not bad enough to move rooms or complain, but needs to be sorted out. Compliments to all the staff - everyone we met were extremely attentive and welcoming.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Simon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judd L, Regional Director: Operations at DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear Simon A

Our sincere apologies for any disturbance caused by the construction going on at the bottom of the pool area, we are hoping to complete this soon. It will be a great improvement to the property as a whole. Once again our apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morogoro
1 review
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We booked a last minute trip to Stone Town, Zanzibar, through Klaire, who works at Double Tree by Hilton in Dar es Salaam. This review covers our stay at Beit al Salaam as well as the superb customer service we received from Klaire (I hope I'm spelling her name correctly). My mother initiated this last minute trip. Klaire bent over backwards to accommodate my mother's request and remotely navigated us to our hotel in Zanzibar. I knew where the ferry was downtown but was unprepared for how difficult it was to actually find the right ferry. She guided us by phone and text all the way to Zanzibar intermittently keeping track of us by text until we were met by the hotel shuttle on the other side. The hotel was stunningly beautiful and fitting to Stone Town's antiquated Zanzibari architecture. As the building has been restored and its character retained, our room was breath-taking. I regret not being able to stay another night. The location couldn't be more central and was a minute's walk to the beach as well as the best shops and restaurant in Stone Town. The food was excellent and in perfect proportions. What impressed me most about Beit al Salaam was the manager's handling of my departure. My mother left before I did as she was leaving from the airport and me via ferry. I couldn't find a taxi and was down to the last minute. The manager rushed me to his car with my bags in hand and sped off to the ferry terminal Hollywood style to get me there in time. I made it literally 30 seconds before the ferry left. Thanks to him I was able to make it home in time. From beginning to end, this is one of the better trips I've had (they are many) primarily because we were so well taken care of. For those new to this area, you won't find better customer service or accommodations.

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor (third by American standards), The stairs are a little on the steep si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheryl Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judd L, Regional Director: Operations at DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear Sheryl Q

Thank you for your wonderful review of our new property in Zanzibar. Your positive comments regarding the handling of your trip by Klare are really appreciated and this is what we strive for, making your experience a memorable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 October 2013

I would give this 5 stars, though there is a lot of upgrading happening on the property, so to be fair to other travelers who may not appreciate the occasional dust and noise, be advised. Otherwise, this place deserves all 5 stars. It all comes down to service. Extremely friendly staff who will go out of their way to assist and accommodate. Look for Okelo (rhymes with "Othello") in the coffee shop. He's very attentive and can help with any information needs. This also makes it a very business friendly environment where meetings can be held. Food is great and the facility is clean. Would stay here again for sure.

Room Tip: Request a room facing the bay for maximum pleasure
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chauncey303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judd L, Regional Director: Operations at DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear Chauncey303

Thanks for the great feedback. Our sincere apologies for the discomfort due to the renovations but it is almost done. We are upgrading our coffee shop and bar to create a better experience for our guests. Nonetheless we are happy you enjoyed your time with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
3.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard
4.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro
5.3 mi away
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
#6 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Tanzanite Executive Suites
Tanzanite Executive Suites
#8 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
653 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sea Cliff Hotel
Sea Cliff Hotel
#5 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
474 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Slipway
Hotel Slipway
#14 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay
Address: Slipway Road Msasani Peninsular, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#3 Luxury Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#9 Business Hotel in Dar es Salaam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Highlights •Located 4.3 Miles from the City Center •Oceanfront property with bay views •Swimming pool and jetty •Three onsite restaurants •5 Meeting Rooms .What to do around here Select the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Dar es Salaam and be close to shops, restaurants and boating. Our hotel offers beautiful bay views and tropical, lush gardens. Enjoy staying in the most affluent area of Dar es Salaam when choosing our hotel. We are within walking distance of restaurants, shops and clubs. Spend a day on the beach. Go snorkeling, fishing and diving. Tee off at the Gymkhana Golf Course, only three miles away from the hotel. Take a 20-minute flight to Mikumi Wildlife Reserve. Visit the Dar es Salaam Yacht Club and go sailing. Visit the Slipway Arts and Crafts Center only two minutes away from the hotel. This popular recreation area offers bookshops, open-air restaurants and pubs. Be sure to visit the Village Museum, Sea Cliff Village and Shoppers Plaza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Dar Es Salaam-Oysterbay Hotel Dar Es Salaam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing