We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sleepless nights” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay
Ranked #6 of 102 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Sleepless nights”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

Tonight is the 3rd sleepless night in a row in DoubleTree. After spending 2 nights in a room overlooking the backdoor of the restaurant finally I'm in a different room. There's constant humming of 65 dB with the aircon off. After the first sleepless night I was asked to wait another night to be transferred to another room. Yesterday there was a power cut lasted a few hours. The breakfast is not great, the fruit served is not always ripe, the selection is average. There's hardly any seafood on the menu which is strange considering the location. The staff is nice and helpful and the location is great. It's a shame you pay $170/night for such a disappointing service. I stayed in the Hotel Serena in downtown where they have a wide selection of fresh seafood and tons of fresh and tasty fruits. I decided to stay in DoubleTree because of its better location but now I can see it was a mistake. Despite I'm a HH member I got the worst room in the hotel, no apology, no upgrade. I really love this beautiful country and its genuinely friendly and welcoming people but if you want to have a nice time in Dar Es Salaam stay away from DoubleTree.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank szinbad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

795 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    255
    354
    114
    49
    23
See reviews for
47
96
53
537
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dar es Salaam
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

Thoroughly attentive staff, have enjoyed many extended stays. Breakfast is always very good and the Friday night buffet by the pool is great. Okello in lobby bar makes the best cappuccino ever. Feel very comfortable and safe here. Housekeeping has always done a great job with room and laundry.
Does need a true bar in the lobby.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank derayner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judd L, Regional Director: Operations at DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Dear Derayner
Thank you for your most welcome feedback and for noticing our barrister in particular.
The lobby bar is 99% complete and has already impacted very favourably with our guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mwanza, Tanzania
Level Contributor
33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

Stayed here 3 times in the last year and the hotel never ceases to amaze me! Shared my bedroom with three resident cockroaches!! Bathrooms have a foul smell that seeps out of the drains at night (I have noticed this in all my previous stays at this property)!!

The room service menu was decent though - and my order came in good time. However trying to get decent service at the hotel terrace coffee shop and bar is a nightmare! Drinks took close to 30 mins (after 3 reminders...) to be served at our table.

Contrary to the F&B team at the hotel, the staff at the reception and housekeeping however were friendly and attentive. Would only stay here next time if I really had to (keeping in mind its not the cheapest option in Dar...)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kunal16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judd L, Regional Director: Operations at DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Dear Guest
we apologise for your less than satisfactory stay and have noted your concerns. All areas have been highlighted with he entire management team and I do believe that you will not have a similar experience when you next visit Dar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

Superb location by the Indian ocean with stunning views. The room was extremely spacious and extremely comfortable! The wi-fi was decent. Breakfast was amazing with fresh coconut water on the menu. I particularly enjoyed sitting on the deck puffing on the sheesh a pipe watching the sun go down! The concierge was not very helpful however. Great experience overall!

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Kumaran S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judd L, Regional Director: Operations at DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Dear Kumaran
We appreciate your valued feedback. I have requested our FO Manager to look into the Concierge Desk issues and I apologise for the negative experience. On the other hand we are pleased that your stay was overall great and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gevelsberg, Deutschland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

quite hotel in a nice neighbourhood. safe area. some shops around . good service. wireless is working well all around the hotel. small gym but well equipped. very nice pool area. breakfast is good. in the morning low water pressure and sometimes no hot water. hotel is showing its age and needs some renovation within the next years.

Room Tip: get a room with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dlpe-traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judd L, Regional Director: Operations at DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Dear Guest
we appreciate your candid feedback and apologise for the low water pressure and hot water issues you experienced. We unfortunately had some load shedding issues which had a knock on effect on our generator plant. Im sure you will not have the same issues when you return to Dar again. Our new gym equipment has arrived and will be installed by year end which will offer a much better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

Great location and an excellent service by the coffee shop staff. Especially Okelo Mussa, our barista extraordinaire. He was very friendly and prompt reminded me of my favorite barista back home. Thanks.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RPCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judd L, Regional Director: Operations at DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for noticing Okela. It isn excellent to see him being praised again and again by our guests. I have conveyed your appreciation of his services to him. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kampala, Uganda
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

I enjoyed the Hospitality at Double Tree, the Customer Relations Manager was able to help on arrival and exit. I liked the way she helped coordinate the extension of my check out time as my flight was later in the evening. I had some time to relax. That was quite wonderful! Thanks for the good Administration. Keep up the good spirit.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Frank K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judd L, Regional Director: Operations at DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Dear Frank
Thank you for your feedback, our Guest Relations Manager makes us proud as is evident buy responses such as yours. The rest of the team in the background fortunately are all working towards the same goals, and we all appreciate your positive response.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
5.3 mi away
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
#5 of 102 in Dar es Salaam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro
3.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sea Cliff Hotel
Sea Cliff Hotel
#4 of 102 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Slipway
Hotel Slipway
#13 of 102 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hotel White Sands - The Beach Resort
Hotel White Sands - The Beach Re...
#10 of 102 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay
Address: Slipway Road Msasani Peninsular, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#5 Luxury Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#9 Business Hotel in Dar es Salaam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Highlights •Located 4.3 Miles from the City Center •Oceanfront property with bay views •Swimming pool and jetty •Three onsite restaurants •5 Meeting Rooms .What to do around here Select the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Dar es Salaam and be close to shops, restaurants and boating. Our hotel offers beautiful bay views and tropical, lush gardens. Enjoy staying in the most affluent area of Dar es Salaam when choosing our hotel. We are within walking distance of restaurants, shops and clubs. Spend a day on the beach. Go snorkeling, fishing and diving. Tee off at the Gymkhana Golf Course, only three miles away from the hotel. Take a 20-minute flight to Mikumi Wildlife Reserve. Visit the Dar es Salaam Yacht Club and go sailing. Visit the Slipway Arts and Crafts Center only two minutes away from the hotel. This popular recreation area offers bookshops, open-air restaurants and pubs. Be sure to visit the Village Museum, Sea Cliff Village and Shoppers Plaza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Jovago.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Dar Es Salaam-Oysterbay Hotel Dar Es Salaam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing