We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the Pearl of the Oysterbay…..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay
Ranked #5 of 96 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Great location on the shore of the Oysterbay……The Patio on the Ocean takes you all the way in the Ocean..the Swimming pool is very relaxing bordering the Bay and getting all the breeze of the Ocean…..Great space in the Hotel….Great space in the rooms…A very modern hotel with a Swahili taste of comfort, warmth and friendship….Ask Otelo Musa, the Barman with a great smile, at the Piano Piano Bar…Ask for A Smoothy with Yoghurt and a mix of Passion and Mango Fruits…Just relax..get cool…get on your Business Piano Piano…Pole Pole….and you will be surprised how much you can get done while staying at the Double Tree Hotel in Oysterbay, and while, at the same time…getting all the vibes of the Holidays tunes by the Indian Ocean..in the Harbour of Peace…(the Dar of Salaam)
Let Otela Musa be your Buttler if you wish….and the Double Tree Hotel, like a Pearl on the Oysterbay, will be charming you and inspiring you...

Room Tip: Ask for a Room with a View on the Bay….You will get the sunshine, the sunset….and the charm of the O...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dgbl7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay at Doubletree by Hilton, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, Your feedback and comments are an essential part of our quality assurance. I will also ensure Otelo Musa is nominated in our employee recognition program.
Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (872)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

627 - 633 of 872 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2013

The DoubleTree hotel has very good location and may be inerested for people comming to Dar es Sallam for business. The area is quiet and not far away from the city center. Its also good to meet friends and business people in a democratic Lobby bar. Okelo Musa Barista is always offer you good choice of drinks and cakes. Friendly atmosphere makes your stay in a bar longer then you planned to do. I have office and accomodation in Dar es Sallam, but visit Doubletree very often.
Thank you those guys for geat hospitality. I enjoy it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yury C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Thank your for choosing Doubletree by Hilton, we are delighted you enjoyed your time with us. Your comments are an essential part of of our quality assurance program and we thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. we look forwar to your continued support

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

I have been a loyal client to this hotel. For the past 4 yeas, I must have stayed no less than 12 times at the Double Tree before trying most other hotels in city. When I started my trips to Dar, I considered this hotel to propose the best quality-price ratio. Unfortunately, not anymore. And my latest trip to this hotel will probably be the last one. First, the quality of service in the hotel has deteriorated tremendously. Waiting time for anything you order, from coffee to pizza, is way above 15 minutes, and sometimes 30 minutes, if it does not come at all. Besides this, rules from management have been established everywhere for everything, as if to displease customers. Here is a sample. If you want to seat on the terrace with a nice view, you can not eat there after a certain time, but will have to come inside in the restaurant, because "management said so". You can only eat pizza next to the swimming pool but nowhere else in the hotel "because management said so". The swimming pool closes at 7 pm, so if you work all day like I do, you will be kicked out of the swimming pool as soon as you have started enjoying it, "because management said so". And if you ask the management to come and explain why, they ask you to come and talk to them inside, because they are busy doing something else. Client satisfaction clearly not being at the top of their priority list (with the remarkable exception of a nice german security manager who tried to justify all this nonsense)… Anyway, unfortunately, I cannot recommend this hotel anymore. I actually do not understand anymore how this hotel still receives its « lettre de noblesse » from Hilton.

Room Tip: Trips in the 600 to 800 with a view on the bay are much better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Khaledb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

We thank you for choosing to stay at Doubletree by Hilton, but are very dissapointed that on this occassion we did not meet your expectations. We are continually striving to improve our guest experiences, and will be working on the issues you have highlighted, as a matter of great importance to ensure our guests feel comfortable. Thank you for bringing these points to our attention and hope you will re-consider your decison, and give us the opportunity to host you on your next visit to Dar es Salaam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

The lobby bar of the DoubleTree hotel is a great place to visit if you have time between meetings or even if you wish to hold a meeting in a relaxed setting. It is well equipped with comfortable couches and is a relaxing place to have a coffee or lunch. Okelu Musa will greet you with a friendly smile and make you feel very welcome. Arguably one of the better hotel meeting places in Dar.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank henning m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Stayed in this Hotel and it was a pleasure to be served by Rose at breakfast she was always friendly and bubbly and this made a somewhat dreary day seem a little nicer
appreciate the assistance and help, always willing to tend to my requests

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the terrrace or Pool,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nick l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

All decent hotels in Dar es Salaam are expensive, and the Doubletree is no exception. I spent 7 nights there, in two different rooms. One was very good, the other very disappointing due to lack of maintenance, general level of noise, and very dim lighting. The rooms were both very spacious and look attractive. My first complaint and request for the air-conditioner to be sorted out was ignored. After complaining again at a higher level the problem was addressed, which resulted in some improvement, but the unit and room were still noisy, and I slept very badly all week.

Lack of maintenance was also evident in the Fitness Centre - both the treadmills and the orbital stepper make various grinding and clanking noises, and the air-conditioner is inadequate.

In general, the service is poor. One evening I ordered a meal from room service; after 40 minutes, the meal finally arrived, but without a glass for the beer or a spoon to eat the soup with. Check-in took ages, and the hotel had not credited my account for the accommodation which had been paid in advance by my employer - despite the fact that the hotel had issued a Receipt. So I was forced to pay for the accommodation on my own credit card, and then ask them 3 times to process the Receipt and reverse the charge made to my card.
When checking in, I specifically asked for a quiet room. What I was given was a room right opposite the entrance to the lift, and facing onto a road, where big truck engines (or is it the hotel generator?) periodically intrude.

The food in the restaurant is pretty average, and the lovely deck outside only serves sandwiches and drinks. The restaurant at the Waterfront complex about 300 meters down the road serves far superior food at much lower prices, so its not surprising that the Double Tree restaurant looks pretty empty.
On balance, this hotel was a disappointment, and does not offer value for money in its price range.

Room Tip: Go for a sea facing room, not near a lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Although only stayed one day the staff in the hotel were exceptionally helpful and friendly, the room was comfortable and very clean and the overall ambience and experience was very, very good. A special mention must go to Lamson, the head waiter, who was helpful, attentive, informative and very professional. He and his team made dinner a pleasure and the food was very good. The reception staff are brilliant. Very enjoyable stay and the view from the room was stunning.

Room Tip: The only thing I would comment on the negative side were the towels in the room could do with being...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roblambert007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
3.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard
1.3 mi away
Sea Cliff Hotel
Sea Cliff Hotel
#3 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
514 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Southern Sun Dar es Salaam
Southern Sun Dar es Salaam
#2 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
712 reviews
5.3 mi away
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
#8 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
365 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Coral Beach Hotel
Best Western Coral Beach Hotel
#6 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay

Address: Slipway Road Msasani Peninsular, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#4 Luxury Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#9 Business Hotel in Dar es Salaam
Price Range: £123 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Highlights •Located 4.3 Miles from the City Center •Oceanfront property with bay views •Swimming pool and jetty •Three onsite restaurants •5 Meeting Rooms .What to do around here Select the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Dar es Salaam and be close to shops, restaurants and boating. Our hotel offers beautiful bay views and tropical, lush gardens. Enjoy staying in the most affluent area of Dar es Salaam when choosing our hotel. We are within walking distance of restaurants, shops and clubs. Spend a day on the beach. Go snorkeling, fishing and diving. Tee off at the Gymkhana Golf Course, only three miles away from the hotel. Take a 20-minute flight to Mikumi Wildlife Reserve. Visit the Dar es Salaam Yacht Club and go sailing. Visit the Slipway Arts and Crafts Center only two minutes away from the hotel. This popular recreation area offers bookshops, open-air restaurants and pubs. Be sure to visit the Village Museum, Sea Cliff Village and Shoppers Plaza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Dar Es Salaam-Oysterbay Hotel Dar Es Salaam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing