We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and better than expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay
Ranked #5 of 96 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great service and better than expected”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I've been told this is better than a standard DoubleTree - it's well-built and designed and the service is great. There is an awesome patio to enjoy dinner and the sunset from. Business centre offers free printing from their computers, and the wifi is good throughout the complex (inside and out). Only downside is that the food options differ whether you eat at the restaurant inside, outside, or at the lounge. It is within a quick walk to a shopping centre with a supermarket so if you are staying longer, this is super convenient.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at DoubleTree by Hilton Oyster Bay, your comments are a valuable part of our commitment to continually review and improve our services. We are delighted that overall you enjoyed your stay with us, and with Chef Hassan our new Executive Chef we are sure your next visit will be a different experience, and in the meantime look forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Dar es Salaam.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

843 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    279
    370
    119
    50
    25
See reviews for
50
98
55
574
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

This hotel has everything you would expect for the price bracket. The food and location are its best selling points. Sundowners on the terrace overlooking the ocean and delicious breakfasts were the highlight for me.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at DoubleTree by Hilton Oyster Bay, your comments are a valuable part of our commitment to continually review and improve our services. We are delighted that overall you enjoyed your stay with us we will reserve you a space on the terrace for sundowners, and look forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Dar es Salaam.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
Reviewed 3 April 2014

I have had a very good experience staying at the DoubleTree in Dar. My room was very nice with a fantastic view of the ocean. I found the hotel to be very clean and the staff to be fantastic. Ayesha from the restaurant delivered food to my room twice and she was kind, professional, and very personable.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizB5699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at DoubleTree by Hilton Oyster Bay, your comments are a valuable part of our commitment to continually review and improve our services. We are delighted that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and will pass your thanks to Ayeshe in Room Service, and look forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Dar es Salaam.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Accra, Ghana
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

This is the complaint letter I have sent to Hilton Hotels:

Dear Sir or Madam

I was a guest at the Doubetree Dar-es Salaam ( a very poor and tired example of your brand by the way) 25th to 27th February 2014. The hotel reservation number was 3126905768. The accommodation was prepaid.

I can only find the telephone and fax number of the hotel on the website – no e-mail address – so I am not going to spend my money on an international phone call to resolve my complaint, hence this e-mail to customer relations.

On check in I presented a credit card for extras and was told that a pre-authorization would be obtained for this. I was handed a credit card slip which showed, it tunes out, a purchase receipt for $513. This was debited on 27th February (posted according to the slip on 25th February). So much for it being a pre-authorization as I was told on check in (three people handled the check in).

On check out I handed the same card that the ‘pre-authorization’ was obtained for. I was then charged $112.19 for the extras.

On checking my credit card bill I noted that two payments were deducted one for $513 and the other for $112.19 which means that you have deducted a total of $625.19 for a bill of $112.19. Good if your hotel can get away with it – poor if it is found out by your client.

Your hotel needs to:

1) Immediately refund the $513 to my credit card. You will also cover the interest charged on this by my credit card provider and make an ex-gratia payment of points to my HH card to cover of the inconvenience of having to contact you about this matter. I was also charged £9.00 for the non-sterling transaction fee – this can also be reimbursed to me immediately.
2) Streamline your check in and check out process so that a pre-authorization is given (and not a full deduction made) and on check out to reconcile the pre-authorization/credit with the bill due. I am surprised this was not reconciled at check out, but perhaps is a result of chaotic and slow check in and check out processes at the hotel.

Please confirm that 1) above has been achieved immediately

Yours faithfully


Simon Bush
HH Diamond - 678812963

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simonaccra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at DoubleTree by Hilton Oyster Bay, your comments are a valuable part of our commitment to continually review and improve our services.We have taken note of your complaint and will respond directly, when we recieve it. In the meantime we have checked your account, and we do not appear to have double charged you, The charge on arrival was for your accommodation and the departure charge was for your extras. Your account is settled in full, and we are not holding any other payments from you. We do apologize for the inconvenience and will reply to your letter separatley.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Nice hotel , dated rooms and bathrooms, not too good showers but excellent breakfast and wonderful staff make up this hotel,
the location is wonderful, walk up to the jetty near the swimming pool during high tide and the sea is just amazing, the pool is nice and clean, do get your swimming glasses on.
the food is average, not very great but the coffee in the coffee shop is really good. the bar is average and the cocktails nothing to write home about
the health club could do with some newer equipment.
request for a sea facing room on a higher floor

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MVy_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at DoubleTree by Hilton Oyster Bay, your comments are a valuable part of our commitment to continually review and improve our services. We are delighted that overall you enjoyed your stay with us, we do have a planned program to renovate our bathrooms, we have in the last four weeks installed all new PRECOR equipment in our fitness centre, and our new Executive Chef arrived last Monday so we look forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Dar es Salaam in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

This is the 4th time I have been back to Dar es Salaam and have always stayed here. I love it, the rooms are spacious and clean, the views over Oyster Bay are beautiful and the staff are wonderful. I can't remember all their names but thank you Mariam (reservations), Vanessa and Lillian (at reception), Florenso (General manager), Okello-Musa, the two Rahmadinis (at the door) and all the others along with their beautiful smiles :)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Theodora-x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at DoubleTree by Hilton Oyster Bay, your comments are a valuable part of our commitment to continually review and improve our services. We are delighted that overall you enjoyed your stay with us,and will pass your appreciative comments to Mariam, Vanessa and Lillian Florenso Okello-Musa, the two Rahmadinis, and look forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Dar es Salaam.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Probably good for local options but when looking at North American standards it fell short. Power outages, painting (chemical fumes in room), internet dropped a lot. Beautiful building, friendly staff however ordering food in english it is difficult to get order correct.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Tyler D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at DoubleTree by Hilton Oyster Bay, your comments are a valuable part of our commitment to continually review and improve our services. We are dissapointed that we did not meet your expectations, but are not sure why you think that 'locals' would expect anything less that than 'North American' standards. We do apologize for the inconvenience, but do hope that you might stay with us again on future viists to Dar es Salaam.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
3.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard
4.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro
5.3 mi away
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
#6 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Tanzanite Executive Suites
Tanzanite Executive Suites
#10 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
657 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sea Cliff Hotel
Sea Cliff Hotel
#4 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
485 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Slipway
Hotel Slipway
#15 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay
Address: Slipway Road Msasani Peninsular, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#4 Luxury Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#9 Business Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#9 Best Value Hotel in Dar es Salaam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Highlights •Located 4.3 Miles from the City Center •Oceanfront property with bay views •Swimming pool and jetty •Three onsite restaurants •5 Meeting Rooms .What to do around here Select the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Dar es Salaam and be close to shops, restaurants and boating. Our hotel offers beautiful bay views and tropical, lush gardens. Enjoy staying in the most affluent area of Dar es Salaam when choosing our hotel. We are within walking distance of restaurants, shops and clubs. Spend a day on the beach. Go snorkeling, fishing and diving. Tee off at the Gymkhana Golf Course, only three miles away from the hotel. Take a 20-minute flight to Mikumi Wildlife Reserve. Visit the Dar es Salaam Yacht Club and go sailing. Visit the Slipway Arts and Crafts Center only two minutes away from the hotel. This popular recreation area offers bookshops, open-air restaurants and pubs. Be sure to visit the Village Museum, Sea Cliff Village and Shoppers Plaza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Dar Es Salaam-Oysterbay Hotel Dar Es Salaam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing