We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay
Ranked #5 of 96 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 May 2014

The driver was pleasant and gave some information about Tanzania and Dar es salaam in general which was a good beginning. The hotel should do better in providing welcome drinks or snacks to its guests.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank Irene S. L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay at DoubleTree by Hilton Oyster Bay, your comments are a valuable part of our commitment to continually review and improve our services. We are delighted that overall you enjoyed your stay with us, and look forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Dar es Salaam.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (872)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

567 - 573 of 872 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2014

My reliable retreat when I'm in Dar. Been staying there for years now and they can proudly hold their heads up high for excellent service in sometimes difficult circumstances inherent to Africa. Good location, friendly staff, tranquil ambiance and situated in the lovely Oyster Bay area close to exciting shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank Johannes FJ D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay at DoubleTree by Hilton Oyster Bay, as a regular customer your comments are a valuable part of our commitment to continually review and improve our services. We are delighted that overall you enjoyed your stay with us, and look forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Dar es Salaam.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Double Tree did their best to make my stay as comfortable as possible and our conference run smoothly. The banquet manager was very helpful, and the caretaker of our conference room - China Mood in the afternoons, Ali was such a pleasure to work with, paid so much attention to detail in our set up. Looking forward to continued collaboration with Double Tree

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AACAgMP2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay at DoubleTree by Hilton Oyster Bay, your comments are a valuable part of our commitment to continually review and improve our services. We are delighted that overall you enjoyed your stay with us, and that your conference was a success. We look forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Dar es Salaam.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I've spent a total of 1 1/2 weeks here over two different stays and always enjoyed it. I was always comfortable there. The food is good but the service could be faster. The hotel is close to the Slip Way shopping area where we walked to shop and eat. The security made us feel safe. The lady in the gift shop sells stamps and will mail your post cards for you. When I return to Dar I'll stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patrickscotch70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay at DoubleTree by Hilton Oyster Bay, your comments are a valuable part of our commitment to continually review and improve our services. We are delighted that overall you enjoyed your stay with us, and will follow up your comments regarding the speed of service in the restaurant, in the mean time we look forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Dar es Salaam.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

I enjoyed the stay at the Double Tree. The time spent next to the swimming pool was one of the best in a long time. The reception staff was extremely professional. I had a great time and will definately be back. Thank you to all staff.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank Annalise E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay at DoubleTree by Hilton Oyster Bay, your comments are a valuable part of our commitment to continually review and improve our services. We are delighted that overall you enjoyed your stay with us, and will make sure we reserve a sunbed around the pool for your next visit, in the mean time we look forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Dar es Salaam.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Ideal hotel for a business trip. Good service. Good breakfast and lunch buffet. Excellent rooms. Security can be improved, Guards are a bit sloppy but for African standards it's maybe the best you can get. The hotel's security manager helped, on his initiative, in a very professional manner when we needed his service. Next time this will be our hotel of choice again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Digi-Dish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay at DoubleTree by Hilton Oyster Bay, your comments are a valuable part of our commitment to continually review and improve our services. We are delighted that overall you enjoyed your stay with us, and will follow up your comments related to our security guards, in the meantime we look forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Dar es Salaam.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Very nice hotel with excellent, helpful staff. They were polite and professional yet still personable with me and my friends, taking the time to back-and-forth about some language differences and chat about some local aspects. Two employees of particular note were Khadija (front desk) and Aysha Salim (lounge service), they were great, friendly and most helpful!!

Room Tip: Try and get a water-side view, the sunsets are quite scenic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twilius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay at DoubleTree by Hilton Oyster Bay, your comments are a valuable part of our commitment to continually review and improve our services. We are delighted that overall you enjoyed your stay with us, and have noted two employees of particular note Khadija (front desk) and Aysha Salim (Piano Piano), who will be nominated in our employee of the month recognition program. We look forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Dar es Salaam.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
3.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard
1.3 mi away
Sea Cliff Hotel
Sea Cliff Hotel
#3 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
514 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Southern Sun Dar es Salaam
Southern Sun Dar es Salaam
#2 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
712 reviews
5.3 mi away
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
#8 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
365 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Coral Beach Hotel
Best Western Coral Beach Hotel
#6 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay

Address: Slipway Road Msasani Peninsular, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#4 Luxury Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#9 Business Hotel in Dar es Salaam
Price Range: £123 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Highlights •Located 4.3 Miles from the City Center •Oceanfront property with bay views •Swimming pool and jetty •Three onsite restaurants •5 Meeting Rooms .What to do around here Select the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Dar es Salaam and be close to shops, restaurants and boating. Our hotel offers beautiful bay views and tropical, lush gardens. Enjoy staying in the most affluent area of Dar es Salaam when choosing our hotel. We are within walking distance of restaurants, shops and clubs. Spend a day on the beach. Go snorkeling, fishing and diving. Tee off at the Gymkhana Golf Course, only three miles away from the hotel. Take a 20-minute flight to Mikumi Wildlife Reserve. Visit the Dar es Salaam Yacht Club and go sailing. Visit the Slipway Arts and Crafts Center only two minutes away from the hotel. This popular recreation area offers bookshops, open-air restaurants and pubs. Be sure to visit the Village Museum, Sea Cliff Village and Shoppers Plaza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Dar Es Salaam-Oysterbay Hotel Dar Es Salaam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing