We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best for Pampering”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay
Ranked #5 of 97 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I selected this hotel for my last night in Tanzania. I felt pampered and relaxed. Beautiful grounds, pool side patio, dock to walk out to Oyster Bay, evening BBQ dinner, close to walk to open market. Lobby front desk can arrange for taxi to airport ($40), exchange currency, and hold luggage. Hotel allowed me to extend check-out since travel to airport & flight were later in the day.

I walked to the local market/stores/restaurant for dinner. A relaxing and un-rushed way to eat/drink while casting a last view over the bay. Very reasonable prices and great selection of wines.

Do not miss breakfast!! Try every food item offered. The best ever after trying 21 days of breakfasts.

Room Tip: Save money by not choosing a bay view room. Take the garden rooms (1st floor) if available. I pref...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yvette Camille ... B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay at DoubleTree by Hilton -Oyster Bay, your comments are a valuable part of our commitment to continually review and improve our services. We are delighted that, overall you enjoyed your stay with us, it's alwasy great to receive positive feed back, and look forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Dar es Salaam.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (882)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

562 - 568 of 882 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014

I have stayed in many hotels in Dar es Salaam over 20 years. This was my first stay at the DoubleTree. The atmosphere is welcoming and the rooms (and beds!) comfortable. The food is good but pricey. The restaurant service is either very fast or totally slow.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank Delphine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay at DoubleTree by Hilton -Oyster Bay, your comments are a valuable part of our commitment to continually review and improve our services. We are delighted that, overall you enjoyed your stay with us, sorry about the slow service in the restaurant we will work on it for next time, in the mean time we look forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Dar es Salaam.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Hotel is good and clean. My bed was not very comfortable. Dinning staff were kind and helpful. Reception staff were not very friendly. The ones I found were impatient and at times indifferent. Food was good but variety was limited. The location of Double Tree is excellent with a good view of the ocean.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank Eva M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay at DoubleTree by Hilton -Oyster Bay, your comments are a valuable part of our commitment to continually review and improve our services. We are delighted that, overall you enjoyed your stay with us, and we are currently changing our beds, I am sure you will enjoy your next experience, in the mean time we look forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Dar es Salaam.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Overall the hotel is very comfortable. The rooms are huge and have wonderful views of the ocean. There is a nice little pier for having a sundowner. The food wasn't amazing. I had room service though. They forgot to bring breakfast. It's quiet. I had an infant with me and they provided a crib.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LauraBorner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay at DoubleTree by Hilton -Oyster Bay, your comments are a valuable part of our commitment to continually review and improve our services. We are delighted that, overall you enjoyed your stay with us, and look forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Dar es Salaam.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I spent quite a number of weeks at the Doubletree. The staff were very friendly and knew me by name and always warmly welcomed me back from any side trips I had.
The rooms are great - try to get something on the 4th or 5th floor in the main building on the water side for great sunset views.
Wifi is pretty much excellent throughout the complex - even down by the pool.
Breakfast is good, and a new chef arrived while I was there who revitalized the restaurant menu. I chose to dine out though as the restaurant room itself doesn't have much for ambience, especially compared to the great alternatives at Slipway nearby.
The terrace is a great spot to work during the day or have a drink or shisha in the evening, while watching the sun set.
Gym is decent but small - a couple of treadmills, bike, stairs, plus some weights and machines.

Room Tip: ocean side is quieter and better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beth604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay at DoubleTree by Hilton -Oyster Bay, your comments are a valuable part of our commitment to continually review and improve our services. We are delighted that, overall you enjoyed your stay with us, and look forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Dar es Salaam.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

Very pleasent hotel. Friendly staff always willing to assist. Room are ok with good views of oyster bay. I was very impressed with the open terrace a pool area. Ideal location especially if you want to book a safari or purchase tanazanite from the shops located in house.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay at DoubleTree by Hilton Oyster Bay, your comments are a valuable part of our commitment to continually review and improve our services. We are delighted that overall you enjoyed your stay with us, and enjoyed the views from the terrace. We hope to see you again and look forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Dar es Salaam.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Some of the best and most welcoming service i have had in a long while, especially from Mr. Okelo Musa who showed me hospitality and friendlness all round. Will definitely recomend this hotel and its staff based upon this to all my colleagues.

Room Tip: Gop Sea View........ You are in Dar after all........
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PienaarRaptor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay at DoubleTree by Hilton Oyster Bay, your comments are a valuable part of our commitment to continually review and improve our services. We are delighted that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and have passed you appreciative comments to Okello who will be nominated in our recognition program. We hope to see you again, and look forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Dar es Salaam.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
3.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard
1.3 mi away
Sea Cliff Hotel
Sea Cliff Hotel
#4 of 97 in Dar es Salaam
516 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Southern Sun Dar es Salaam
Southern Sun Dar es Salaam
#2 of 97 in Dar es Salaam
718 reviews
1 mi away
Best Western Coral Beach Hotel
Best Western Coral Beach Hotel
#6 of 97 in Dar es Salaam
515 reviews
5.3 mi away
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
#8 of 97 in Dar es Salaam
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay

Address: Slipway Road Msasani Peninsular, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#4 Luxury Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#9 Business Hotel in Dar es Salaam
Price Range: £124 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Highlights •Located 4.3 Miles from the City Center •Oceanfront property with bay views •Swimming pool and jetty •Three onsite restaurants •5 Meeting Rooms .What to do around here Select the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Dar es Salaam and be close to shops, restaurants and boating. Our hotel offers beautiful bay views and tropical, lush gardens. Enjoy staying in the most affluent area of Dar es Salaam when choosing our hotel. We are within walking distance of restaurants, shops and clubs. Spend a day on the beach. Go snorkeling, fishing and diving. Tee off at the Gymkhana Golf Course, only three miles away from the hotel. Take a 20-minute flight to Mikumi Wildlife Reserve. Visit the Dar es Salaam Yacht Club and go sailing. Visit the Slipway Arts and Crafts Center only two minutes away from the hotel. This popular recreation area offers bookshops, open-air restaurants and pubs. Be sure to visit the Village Museum, Sea Cliff Village and Shoppers Plaza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Dar Es Salaam-Oysterbay Hotel Dar Es Salaam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing