We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Conferencing experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay
Ranked #6 of 103 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Certificate of Excellence
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Conferencing experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

Very efficient and humble staff including, Monica Gimono-Sales Executive Corporate, Lambert, the Banqueting Supervisor, Rasheed and his team at the front office, service personnel including Happiness, Lightness, Ramadhan, Mzungu.

Services were provided as promptly as needed and our guests had little if anything at all, to complain about.

Our transfers were well handled by Gemini Ltd led by Peter, Bryson, Tadiwa and the rest of the team.

The rooms, both conference and accommodation are clean and well maintained.

All in all, it was a good experience.

Room Tip: All rooms are good and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 74Lindak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at DoubleTree by Hilton -Oyster Bay, we appreciate the time you have taken to review the hotel. Your comments are a valuable part of our commitment to continually review and improve our services. We are delighted that, overall you enjoyed your stay with us, and that your conference went well, we hope to see you again and look forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Dar es Salaam.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

797 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    255
    355
    115
    49
    23
See reviews for
47
96
53
539
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

Very good environment for conferencing (Peninsula) with good accommodation facilities. Rooms have very stable wi-fi. Very efficient in checking in and service in general. I enjoyed the view around and especially the sunset from the Jetty with a nice breeze. Shopping can be done at the Slipway where you can also get a forex bureau. Staff are very polite, friendly and helpful. Special mention to Lambert, Naima, Caroline, Monica, Vanessa, Happiness, Hamisa, Lightness, Ramadhan, Rehema, Mzungu and Rashid. Quite a helpful team they are. I hope to come back again soon. Keep up the good work.

Room Tip: Generally the rooms are good, your choice will depend on whether you want a single bed or double bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philemon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at DoubleTree by Hilton -Oyster Bay, we appreciate the time you have taken to review the hotel. Your comments are a valuable part of our commitment to continually review and improve our services. We are delighted that, overall you enjoyed your stay with us, and that your conference went well, we hope to see you again and look forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Dar es Salaam.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waldbrunn, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

Franz Wahl (Germany)
I have been staying two nights in your hotel:
After the first night I had a request and for technical reasons I got offered another room through an excellent reception management.
The rooms have a large size, and are well equipped.
The swimming pool area is very nice.
The terrace for dinner is inviting. Service has been good, one staff (Janeth) provided a very professional service to customers.

Room Tip: As rooms have individual A/C and in case you are sensitive to this, check the noise-level they have.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Franz-Dieter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at DoubleTree by Hilton -Oyster Bay, we appreciate the time you have taken to review the hotel. Your comments are a valuable part of our commitment to continually review and improve our services. We are delighted that, overall you enjoyed your stay with us, and look forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Dar es Salaam.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

A stress free businessman friendly experience. Staff are warm and friendly and eager to help. The room was clean and comfortable, it was ideal for relaxing after a stressful work day. The lighting could be improved and additional wall sockets provided. The gym was small bur well equipped, I did not use the pool but it looked good and well laid out.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank David John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at DoubleTree by Hilton -Oyster Bay, we appreciate the time you have taken to review the hotel. Your comments are a valuable part of our commitment to continually review and improve our services. We are delighted that, overall you enjoyed your stay with us, and look forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Dar es Salaam.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

My 9 year old daughter and I had been in Tanzania for over 10 weeks and decided to end the trip on 'vacation'.We found a great rate online and booked it. We had plenty of help on checkin (we had A LOT of luggage). We had a problem with the safe when we first checked in. The IT person took a bit to get there (there were several IT problems at the same time) but was really pleasant when he did. The problem was a lot more than they realized it was going to be but he got it working.
We headed to the pool - it was awesome! We enjoyed food and beverage service by the pool and there were plenty of helpful people there.
The beds are a little soft for my liking, but I slept amazingly well. The amenities in the room were really nice - we loved the smell of them. The bathroom was very nice. They had radiant heat in the floors and the showers had great water pressure and consistan heat (not always the case for either in any of the places we stayed)The coffee and tea service in the room was nice also.
We ate several meals at the hotel and while a little expensive, the food was always great. We had one woman, Asnath Ramadhani who went above and beyond one night for dinner - and with a beautiful smile! Sometimes the service wasn't the fastest, but hey, this is Africa!
There is great shopping right next door and just beyond that at Slip Away. The Jetty was a beautiful place to sit and watch the sunset over the bay. The internet was occasionally not strong, but it was the best that I had in my 10 weeks here.
If in Dar again I would definately come stay here again.

Room Tip: We had a great balcony and a view of the ocean (through some trees, but still was there)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at DoubleTree by Hilton -Oyster Bay, we appreciate the time you have taken to review the hotel. Your comments are a valuable part of our commitment to continually review and improve our services. We are delighted that, overall you enjoyed your stay with us, and look forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Dar es Salaam.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel was far from town but really enjoyed my stay and hope the trafic distance will be look at but I reall love the food and the pool and hope I visit again anf again .staff have good smile and very helpful keep it up

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adolf t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at DoubleTree by Hilton -Oyster Bay, we appreciate the time you have taken to review the hotel. Your comments are a valuable part of our commitment to continually review and improve our services. We are delighted that, overall you enjoyed your stay with us, and look forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Dar es Salaam.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Oyster Bay and Peninsula region are strongly expatriate/embassy region. Trip into town is by car or taxi - buses and three wheelers are not recommended to town.
The DoubleTree is literally next to the Slipway complex, which means that non-business day activity has many very easy and safe options (which I could not often take, working continuously for business!).
Power outages are quickly restored by site generator, but can take out the WiFi server and require reset and fresh login. Some internet trouble both on site and across the city during my trip. A plug-in internet dongle provided backup and was cheap (from communications shop in Slipway).
Gemini, the on-site car company, is quite good and reputable. (And require negotiation for best rates!)
On-site jeweller is capable and has some very well locally cut stone; not only (precious) Tanzanite but also some fine semi-precious stones.
Drainage is a bit underpowered but any fix is quick - service is aware there can be a problem and responds quickly.

Room Tip: Even-numbered rooms in the main building are on the Bay side; level 4 or 5 look out over the lower s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at DoubleTree by Hilton -Oyster Bay, we appreciate the time you have taken to review the hotel. Your comments are a valuable part of our commitment to continually review and improve our services. We are delighted that, overall you enjoyed your stay with us, and look forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Dar es Salaam.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
5.3 mi away
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
#4 of 103 in Dar es Salaam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro
3.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sea Cliff Hotel
Sea Cliff Hotel
#5 of 103 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Slipway
Hotel Slipway
#14 of 103 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hotel White Sands - The Beach Resort
Hotel White Sands - The Beach Re...
#10 of 103 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay
Address: Slipway Road Msasani Peninsular, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#5 Luxury Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#9 Business Hotel in Dar es Salaam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Highlights •Located 4.3 Miles from the City Center •Oceanfront property with bay views •Swimming pool and jetty •Three onsite restaurants •5 Meeting Rooms .What to do around here Select the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Dar es Salaam and be close to shops, restaurants and boating. Our hotel offers beautiful bay views and tropical, lush gardens. Enjoy staying in the most affluent area of Dar es Salaam when choosing our hotel. We are within walking distance of restaurants, shops and clubs. Spend a day on the beach. Go snorkeling, fishing and diving. Tee off at the Gymkhana Golf Course, only three miles away from the hotel. Take a 20-minute flight to Mikumi Wildlife Reserve. Visit the Dar es Salaam Yacht Club and go sailing. Visit the Slipway Arts and Crafts Center only two minutes away from the hotel. This popular recreation area offers bookshops, open-air restaurants and pubs. Be sure to visit the Village Museum, Sea Cliff Village and Shoppers Plaza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Jovago.com, Hilton EMEA, Odigeo, Southall Travel and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Dar Es Salaam-Oysterbay Hotel Dar Es Salaam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing