We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious!”

Mediterraneo Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #15 of 307 Restaurants in Dar es Salaam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Benvenuti and welcome to Mediterraneo Hotel, and karibu to Tanzania!We’ve designed our family-run hotel with relaxation, romance, and leisure in mind. Set around beautiful landscaped African gardens, bursting with tropical flowers and shaded by palm trees, the cool interiors of our rustic cottage-style rooms offer welcome relief from the Tanzania sun, while our restaurant dishes up gorgeous Mediterranean cuisine. Mediterraneo is the only Dar Es Salaam hotel that offers a true home away from home experience, with our friendly staff and excellent attention to detail. Whether your stay in a Dar Es Salaam hotel is for business, leisure, or simply pleasure, Mediterraneo has all you need.We look forward to meeting you, and, like many of our guests, we hope to see you here time and time again.
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

The ambiance here is wonderful. The restaurant is right up against the ocean and the wooden architecture is charming and romantic. The lobster and avocado salad was delicious, but the stuffed squid was only ok. Still, worth the setting. Others in my party enjoyed their food immensely.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Arielle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    76
    33
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Beautiful location, great with kids, nice food”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

The restaurant is located right at the beach, the scenery is beautiful and there is a nice little sea breeze. The interior is a nice mix between hardwood furniture and painted light blue tables with little shells. It's a beautiful setting. Later we found out that you can also grab a bite in the “lounge” part of the restaurant, below the Buddha Bar. Great place to relax too!
http://azebrasdream.com/2014/02/01/dinner-with-a-view/

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lily C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Rustic Beach Setting, great atmosphere, amazing Seafood”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

I ate here while in Dar es Salaam with some co-workers. This restaurant has an amazing beach-front location well outside Dar es Salaam up the coast to the north. It offers great views of the city of Dar es Salaam. It is a bit of a drive from the city but well worth it. I had seafood, it was very tasty and nicely presented and a healthy large portion. The prices were very reasonable and the staff were fast friendly and efficient. This location out of the city had a warm safe feeling and is a great destination for a nice meal in a great white sandy beach setting.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ONE-CAN-TRAVEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good location, moderate food”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Had here dinner multiple times, the waiters are very friendly. Location is very nice with a relaxed atmosphere. However, the quality of the food can vary by the day. Fish is a safe bet in this restaurant.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kris V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Improving restaurant, marvellous location”
Reviewed 4 December 2013

I have eaten at this hotel a number of times over the last few years. The location is fantastic with a wonderful view over the sea to offshore islands. If you choose the right table you can feel and smell the sea breezes. The service is sometimes slower than one should expect but the waiters are usually attentive. The food has improved of late and I would now rate it to be good although the portions are often small for the price charged. The pizzas are very good, The meat is of good quality. The pasta is sometimes served with unimaginative sauces. The ice cream is very good. The wine list is extensive but the South African wines seem to offer the best value for money. It is worth returning to, if only for the view and the atmosphere.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HughLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mediterraneo Hotel & Restaurant also viewed

Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
 
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
 
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
 

Been to Mediterraneo Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing