We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good choice in Dar Es Salaam”
Review of Hotel Nikko Tower

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Nikko Tower
Ranked #30 of 96 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
3,666 reviews
241 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,598 helpful votes
“A good choice in Dar Es Salaam”
Reviewed 6 July 2013

I was really quite happy with this hotel until my checkout when they tried to charge me again although I had already pre-paid on Hotels.com. Fortunately I wasn't in a hurry and was able to waste 20 minutes to explain that any payment dispute they had should be with Hotels.com and not with me, and eventually they accepted this line of argument. I am yet to bring the matter up with Hotels.com.

Apart from this I thought the hotel was great. Decent location in the downtown area, friendly and helpful staff, the room a little on the small side but very clean. Small TV, fridge, overhead fan, decent aircon unit. Free wifi throughout the hotel.

Paid $73 USD via Hotels.com

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KGB777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    44
    20
    5
    2
See reviews for
8
23
12
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Have just spent 10 days in this hotel and highly recommend it. The room I had was comfortable and clean. The young staff were courteous, friendly and attentive while the restaurant had a good choice (including Indian food) and was reasonably priced. The wireless is irregular and unstable but overall I had a pleasant stay and will return when in Dar es Salaam again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WilliamGD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

I made the reservation online with this hotel but my bus did not arrive until 1AM in the morning, the staff immediately made a very generous decision to let me rest in the room as soon as I am done checking and only charge me on the second night there. I extended my stay to another extra day on top of that and the staff only charge me 15% less than the online rate.
The two gentlemen working at the receptionist desk are too awesome, they helped me to get around on the back on a hired scooter at the local rate, great experience to get around town.
The location of this hotel is very close to the ferry and a busy (must see) fish market.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NTLCINNAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013 via mobile

If this place was cheaper it would have got higher ratings from me. My first 2 nights were ok, however on my last night i found creatures on my bed so couldnt sleep on it. the telly also didnt work but that wasnt a problem for me as im not a huge watcher, althougher some readers may find this important. the shower wasnt working properly throughout my stay. On the plus side, the staff are really nice and friendly, always saying hello and try to help you. As i said, if this was cheaper it would have been a very worthy hotel but given the cost, it just doesnt match up to places of similar price.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aqueouscream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

I've stayed at the Nikko Tower twice in the past two years for a total of 10 days. It's located in an older section of Dar es Salaam near several mosques and bustling streets filled with stores selling everything from jewelry to bicycle tires. I like this hotel primarily because of the staff, who have been very kind to me and some of my colleagues. People like Innocent try very hard to help you accomplish tasks, find transportation or learn about the area. The rooms are somewhat small but have reasonably comfortable beds, good bathrooms. The restaurant is fairly good, as is the Zebra bar on the top floor, but again, it's the staff that makes it stand out. Cons: Some of the loudspeakers for the mosques are pretty close to the rooms, so you will hear them at all hours. I'm not Muslim, but after a few days, I appreciated the beauty and ritualism of the prayer calls. The elevator also is pretty slow. Also, when some of the key staff are gone, the place does slip a little in the service department.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the street if you don't want to get blasted by nearby Mosque loudspeakers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arusha, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013

Had an awful experience ! Not worth what they charge, room not shaped to hotel standard. Phone wire hanging and doesn't reach to bed / desk , i had my things missing for more than 20 hours until the housekeeper came back .. Why did they remove my things from my room in the first place, while I had paid for a 2 night stay?

The services need to be bettered and the staff need to be better addressed, the owners seem to have it built with passion but the management doesn't suit rite in.

Room Tip: Dont spoil your night here. Not a comfortable place at least for the price, you can get lots better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Opinion_20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dar es Salaam hotels

London
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013

W stayed here for a night before flying out of Dar Es Salaam back to London. The staff were friendly enough on reception and the porter was kind enough to arrange a different room for us when the one we were given only had 2 twin beds. (instead of a double). The room says small, but clean enough. We ate at the restaurant which served fantastic and authentic Indian food at a reasonable price.

I wouldn't go here for a romantic get away, but it more than suffices for a night or 2.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
0.2 mi away
Tiffany Diamond Hotel
Tiffany Diamond Hotel
#33 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
83 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbour View Suites
Harbour View Suites
#19 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
227 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tanzanite Executive Suites
Tanzanite Executive Suites
#10 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Urban Rose Hotel and Apartment
Urban Rose Hotel and Apartment
#26 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
67 reviews
0.6 mi away
New Africa Hotel
New Africa Hotel
#17 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
414 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rainbow Hotel
Rainbow Hotel
#40 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nikko Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nikko Tower

Property: Hotel Nikko Tower
Address: Plot # 1485 / 148, Aggrey / Jamhuri Street, Dar es Salaam 6732, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 96 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Nikko Tower 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Nikko Tower is one of the finest hotels in Tanzania. We are based in the heart of the city centre on Aggrey/Jamuhri Street in Dar-es-Salaam, which is just 20 minutes away from the Airport and approximately 3 minutes away from the Sea port/ferry terminal for Zanzibar - the Spice Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Nikko Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing