We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great start into dar es salaam”
Review of Hotel Nikko Tower

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Nikko Tower
Ranked #34 of 96 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Reviewed 5 May 2014

First we wanted to stay here 4 nights, at the end we stayed 6 nights.
Cool place to stay in the centre of dar es salaam. Close to the ferry, and the main attractions of town, in the so called indian part. Very helpful, sympathetic and welcoming tanzanian staff. The indian run hotel has a great indian restaurant, where we spend a lot our evenings. Great staff again. Very smart and nice. The rooms are small, but on good standard, with A/C, shower, good beds and wifi. When electricity in our room went out, they gave us straight away a new room, even a bigger one. That is what i expect from a hotel.
Ask for Omary, he is very helpful with everything you need, e.g. buying a telephone, finding a taxi, getting around.

Room Tip: Try to get the rooms at the corner of the tower, they are bigger, ending with a 01.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elke N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (84)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Nikko Tower
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

It's worth to spend when you get personalised service. I apriciate managment and staff who put their all efforts to make worth your every penny.

Speaciality Indian cuisine. Authentic Indian taste with warm hospitality.

if you want to relax and enjoy your drink..... Go to Zebra launge on 9th floor..

Mr.Dinesh Hotel manager personnaly take care of every need and requirement of the guest...


To enjoy hospitality and good food with Dar surroundings... No harm to try Hotel Nikko tower.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikhil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We came to this hotel not being sure what awaited us. But we were surprised to see that the key management people were Indians and the room service, food and stay was exceptionally good. They served Indian food and they gave us transport facilities in their cab which was much cheaper than the normal taxi there.

The only problem is that it is located a bit in the interior. One star off for this. Other than that its a very good business class affordable hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BSreeraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

The room is big and clean, although just a little care worn. The staff are very friendly and helpful. While I like the hotel and the people here, I am a bit cautious of the immediate vicinity. Though strategically located in city center, I would hesitate to venture out alone.
There's a nearby mosque so be prepared for regular prayers. Near Kariakoo market and near the Zanzibar ferry terminal. Would recommend for short stay and for small group.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
Thank Slynl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

I stayed in the Nikko Towers hotel for 3 nights whilst in Dar on business. It is perfectly located in the CBD and close to the Zanzibar ferry. I had meetings all over town and could walk easily instead of getting stuck in the monotonous and notorious Dar traffic. The rooms were excellent, one night we were without water but that was due to a municipal water issue not the hotel itself. The air conditioning is freezing and you don't seem to be able to change the settings so I slept with the ceiling fan on and that was enough. The TV reception is terrible and the Wifi comes and goes but if you are patient you can download emails in certain places around the hotel. There is no pool, a small gym and a very strange bar on the top floor (empty every night I stayed). The restaurant is the jewel in the crown. The food is well prepared, tasty and there is plenty of it. I would recommend anything from the curry menu. Overall, a decent hotel for a short stay in the middle of town.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jimmyray38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We only stayed here for one night. We liked the location, very close to the ferry port as well as some shops and restaurants. The shower had fairly good pressure and hot water. I found the beds uncomfortable for sitting on, but ok for sleeping on. As one of few low cost options we were very happy with this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Kailey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

I have stayed at Nikko Towers in March 2014 and was surprised to be offered a really nice spacious room (ask for room 705!) with an incredible view that was even spotlessly clean and nicely furnished (for Dar es Salaam standards, of course) and came with a really big and tasty breakfast. I enjoyed the good shower with perfect water pressure (a rare thing in Tansania, it seems), Wifi worked well even in the room, they have a small gym on the top floor that I didn't check out though. The place has no pool but a nice bar with a view and a goo restaurant on the second floor where breakfast is served as well. The employees seemed extremely attentive and helpful, spoke very good english and were very kind to us. Only their coffee didn't exactly taste great but considering the fact that you pay twice or three times as much money for this standard elsewehere in Dar es Salaam, I guess this the best choice you can make. The hotel is located quite central so it's just short walk to the harour and everything you might want to see downtown. You can walk around on your own during the day but I would suggest you don't try to walk home after sunset since the entire area with its rather dark and narrow streets doesn't feel absolutely safe at night. So just take an official taxi at night and you will be fine. There is a great indian restaurant around the corner that I can highly recommend as well. Ask for "Chef's Pride" near Libya Street... Try to book the hotel online in advance because they offer their best rates on booking.com and hrs.com so you might get a double room for around 64 USD. I did ask for that rate as I walked into the hotel and after a short and very friendly negotiation they offered me a room for 70 USD and made sure they gave me the best avaible room which I found very nice.

Room Tip: Rooms 704 and 705 are a lot bigger than the pother rooms on the 7th floor plus they come with balcon...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frollein_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
0.2 mi away
Harbour View Suites
Harbour View Suites
#19 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
235 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tiffany Diamond Hotel
Tiffany Diamond Hotel
#36 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
83 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tanzanite Executive Suites
Tanzanite Executive Suites
#10 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Urban Rose Hotel and Apartment
Urban Rose Hotel and Apartment
#26 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
67 reviews
0.6 mi away
New Africa Hotel
New Africa Hotel
#17 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
416 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rainbow Hotel
Rainbow Hotel
#38 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nikko Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nikko Tower

Address: Plot # 1485 / 148, Aggrey / Jamhuri Street, Dar es Salaam 6732, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 96 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Price Range: £59 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Nikko Tower 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Nikko Tower is one of the finest hotels in Tanzania. We are based in the heart of the city centre on Aggrey/Jamuhri Street in Dar-es-Salaam, which is just 20 minutes away from the Airport and approximately 3 minutes away from the Sea port/ferry terminal for Zanzibar - the Spice Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Jovago.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Nikko Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing