We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loud and not worth the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Triniti Guest House
Ranked #34 of 119 Dar es Salaam B&B and Inns
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Loud and not worth the price”
Reviewed 15 January 2013

Two of us stayed at this place one Friday night at the beginning of January 2013 and were extremely disappointed. To start, there was nobody at Reception to check us in when we arrived, so the poor guards had to help us out and show us to our room. After travelling for ten hours by bus, all we wanted to do was to have a shower and go to bed. However, first of all the room did not look anywhere as beautiful as advertised in the guest house’s website. More irritatingly, the towels in the room were damp, leading us to have doubts as to whether they were clean or not, and there was loud club music till past 2 am, which we obviously did not appreciate, as we were told that it would be over by midnight.

We got the impression that the managers / owners seem to be more concerned about running the restaurant / bar, which is open to people not staying at the guest house and gets really busy on a Friday night, rather than running the guest house. Personally, I don’t think the two are compatible, and should be in different locations so that guests who want to, can sleep in peace and quiet, without being disturbed by loud music.

On the plus side, the guards, restaurant / bar staff and management (when they finally surfaced the next morning when we were checking out) were friendly and helpful. I really just don’t think the place is worth the $70 (US) we paid for a double room with ensuite bathroom. I don’t even think it’s worth the $65 we were originally quoted when we booked a month in advanced. (Also more than slightly annoyed that they increased the price).

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Getupandg0g0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    17
    9
    8
    5
See reviews for
9
17
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2012

We stayed in Triniti 2-times 2nights on our way to countryside respecitvely to the island. Both stays were very nice. The rooms are clean and quiet (we only stayed on weeksdays, so i don't know if it will be noisy saturdays). Also the food is very delicous, even the meat is not always "very well-done" but medium if you want. The owner Jacky is a fantastic person and makes sure that you have everything you need.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marco F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
279 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

We stayed here just one night on our way through Dar Es Salaam to Zanzibar, and we have no real complaints. The room itself was a little one the small side, something we think would have bothered us a little had we been there longer. But in general the room was fine - clean but nothing special.

The dinner menu was a little disappointing from a vegetarian perspective and there were no puddings (disappointing from everyone's perspective!), but they did say that they were looking to change the menu so maybe it will be better in the future. Breakfast did the job - the pancakes (be warned, if you're expecting sweet pancakes, they have onion hidden in the batter!) were very oily which was disappointing, and the milk (labelled "cold milk") was luke warm which made the cereal a little unpleasant. But otherwise the food was fairly unremarkable.

The staff were friendly and helpful. Our only real problem was with the mosquitos which plagued us through the night, including inside the net over our bed.

As a place to stop over, Triniti was great. As somewhere to stay for a while - especially given it's distance from the town centre - we'd go with somewhere else.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EllieandAlexis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lusaka Province, Zambia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2012

Just to be clear. Triniti has a vibrant mixed crowd who enjoys good food and a fantastic band on Friday evening. Ambiance is all African look which makes you feel right at home. An added bonus if you know Jackie, she will certainly come around to see how you are doing. Friendly waiters, cold drinks and great cocktail- what more can one ask for?

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelindar1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 17 October 2012

A warm welcoming apon arrival, Throughout the week, it was calm. Food price quality was very good. A nice big T-bone steak for less than 10 euro’s. Friday night was excellent, good music good vibe. Location was good, beach and night clubs closeby. Thanks Triniti crew, we had a great time.

Room Tip: Get the Ngorongoro room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reneysp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
durban
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

Back for the second time, and great to be remembered from a week ago, food still great, clean and comfortable accommodation, listening to soothing jazz while enjoying the free wifi on offer. The coffee is a great perk me up for the morning, I leave for my duties earlier than breakfast starts, but the team always manage to get the necessary ready before my travel.

Staff are laid back but attentive, which lends itself to a really safe and stress free couple of evenings a week. I said I would be back and here I am, thanks Triniti team, you have a great concept and Dar es Salaam was lacking this sort of accommodation option.

Cold fridges, good air conditioners and nice hot hand towels before (and after if you have been a bit messy) dinner, certainly a great option for a couple of nights, and personally met by the proprietor to see how everything was.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sirrahcram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 July 2012

I only stayed for 1 night at Triniti, but wished I could have stayed for longer. Everyone was very friendly and helpful and I sincerely felt very welcomed. I was there on a Friday night, which was great- i did not have to leave to enjoy a good party; they had a cool band playing, the placed was packed with a fun crowd, and it was a perfect way to spend a Friday night when travelling alone.
Thanks to Jacky and everyone for a great stay...i will be back for sure!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bianca_c_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
0.2 mi away
Golden Tulip Dar Es Salaam
Golden Tulip Dar Es Salaam
#54 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
213 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Slipway
Hotel Slipway
#15 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
316 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sea Cliff Court
Sea Cliff Court
#25 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay
1.4 mi away
Best Western Coral Beach Hotel
Best Western Coral Beach Hotel
#9 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
459 reviews
1.0 mi away
Q-Bar & Guest House
Q-Bar & Guest House
#67 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Triniti Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Triniti Guest House

Property: Triniti Guest House
Address: Msasani Rd 26 | Oysterbay, Dar es Salaam 123456, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 119 B&Bs / Inns in Dar es Salaam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Triniti is a little piece of tranquility, centrally located only 10 minutes from Dar es Salaam city centre. They started with only one room and now the compound has grown up to 13 unique rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Jovago.com so you can book your Triniti Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing