We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome and very friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Rainbow Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rainbow Hotel
Ranked #46 of 101 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
1 review
“Awesome and very friendly staff”
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Its awesome location....very good restaurant good tast of food..infact very good....nd specialy all the staff are very friendly. ..I enjoyed my stay der....will look to stay every time wen come comes to dar e salam....
HUSSY

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank attaharhusain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    44
    44
    10
    11
See reviews for
16
26
20
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 25 February 2014

the hotel is good and price is affordable and resonable . the location of the hotel is in central area of the city, just five minutes walk to get zanzibar ferry. helpful staff, good indian spicy and delicious food i had in restaurant of the hotel. ,even late night air port transport is available . i enjoy my stay. great budget hotel in dar es salaam for business trip.

Room Tip: deluxe double and deluxe twin rooms are very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrdpatel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 February 2014

If you are coming for business or to spend time out and about then this is the perfect hotel. Good value for money with all the requirements we need. Hot water, Room Service, Back up generator and safe.
Staff are good and will always try to help. Avesh is always there to assist and will see to it that your requirement is met. I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ariff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

This Rainbow Hotel is the biggest toilet I have ever had the misfortune of staying in. Mostly unfriendly staff, small cramped dirty room and potential food poisoning in the restaurant with badly undercooked fish.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank watchrobbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dar es Salaam hotels

Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 February 2014

i stayed in this lovely hotel for 3 nights as i was on business. I can honestly say i have never been to a hotel where i have been made to feel so welcome and at home. Avesh who works for the hotel was very helpfull and always had an answer to my questions and had many recomendation for places for me to visit. I must say he and the other staff there are a credit to this hotel and country. I am looking forward to my next business trip which is in 3 months.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrfmadam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

I stayed in the deluxe room on 3rd feb 2014 room no 408 the service was amazing, value for money this chap called Avesh looked after me he is a credit to the hotel excellent chap! The food was tasty and clean high level. I would deffo go there again without doubt.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lordpasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moshi, Tanzania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

I made an online reservation at the Rainbow Hotel for a two night stay in Dar. My first tipoff that this was not going to be a fun experience should have been when the front desk clerk told me that a taxi from the intercity bus stand to the hotel should cost around 20 USD - the correct price is between 10-15000 TSH. I brushed this off as a typing error and went ahead anyway, but when I got to the hotel, the room was unlike anything shown on the website or trip advisor. It was a closet - you could only open the door fully by pushing it past the bedframe, which was up against the wall. The walls were beige, the floor was dirty, and the sheets looked worn through. It was the single most depressing room I've ever seen. I went back to the front desk and tried to see about a different room, but apparently once it's been entered in the system, it's set in stone. I thought they would at least try and negotiate with me, but they just let me walk away. Fortunately, I ended up at the nearby Econolodge, which, while less than fancy on the outside, is scrupulously clean, and has a private bathroom and A/C for a quarter of the price. Once I spend the night here, I will rate the Econolodge, but thus far, I'm very glad I moved on from the Rainbow

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amckechnieoverseas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
0.2 mi away
Tanzanite Executive Suites
Tanzanite Executive Suites
#8 of 101 in Dar es Salaam
647 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tiffany Diamond Hotel & Spa
Tiffany Diamond Hotel & Spa
#28 of 101 in Dar es Salaam
81 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harbour View Suites
Harbour View Suites
#20 of 101 in Dar es Salaam
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Nikko Tower
Hotel Nikko Tower
#30 of 101 in Dar es Salaam
84 reviews
0.4 mi away
New Africa Hotel
New Africa Hotel
#16 of 101 in Dar es Salaam
403 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Amariah Boutique Hotel City Center
The Amariah Boutique Hotel City ...
#33 of 101 in Dar es Salaam
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainbow Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Hotel

Property: Rainbow Hotel
Address: Plot No. 1900/59 Morogoro Road, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 101 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Rainbow Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rainbow hotel is located in the heart of Dar-es-salaam city centre. Zanzibar Ferry terminal is only 5 minutes walk from the Hotel. There are lots of shops, restaurants, shopping malls, banks just as you step out of the hotel. The hotel has 75 rooms comprising of :16 singles, 24 standard doubles, 16 deluxe doubles and 16 twin rooms. We also have 3 apartments ( 1x 1 bedroom & 2 x 2 bedrooms). All bedrooms are ensuite and come with air conditioning, cable tv and free internet (Wi-Fi). We have a multi-cuisine restaurant which sits upto 90 people. There is also a Conference centre located on the top floor of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rainbow Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing