We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good location, cheap for Dar”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of YWCA

YWCA
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dar es Salaam
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
YWCA
Ranked #15 of 109 Dar es Salaam B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“good location, cheap for Dar”
Reviewed 13 March 2013

I thought the location was really good (for what I needed to do) as right at the bus stop, easy to get to ferry, ATM's close by and some great street food all around. If you are travelling alone it is good also as even if there are no single rooms they may let you stay in a twin room and contact you if another solo traveller arrives and you are both happy to share to split the cost (YMCA would not do this). Basic rooms but clean and if you are just looking for somewhere cheap to stay in a good location and feel secure it is a good place. Also if you want clothes made, the lady on the very top floor in the sewing room does a good job, as well as the lady on street level directly under the hostel.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NRGreen87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    15
    13
    5
    5
See reviews for
Families
0
5
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013

I have stayed at this place several times when traveling through Dar es Salaam. I always called before arriving to make sure they kept me a room, since it is often full.
The rooms are very basic but if it's just for sleeping, they are perfect. De sheets are clean, mosquitenets are provided and since the rooms are all on the first floor, the noise from the street stays out.
I always payed the fixed price of 10.000 tsh (5€) per night. Breakfast is included but it starts only around 6 in the morning and I usually am out sooner.. so don't know about that..
Right in front of the YWCA you have the bus stand with buses taking you to Ubongo bus terminal. (from there all busses to Arusha, Morogoro, Dodoma, Mwanza etc leave!) Also it is walking distance from the ferries to Zanzibar and Pemba. So whether you arrive or leave from Dar, this is the ideal place for a transit.
For food I usually went to YMCA across the street and it serves simple but good and cheap meals.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manka240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kampala
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

I stayed heref or a night when I was stuck in Dar because of bus/ferry troubles. The room was really cheap (21 USD for a triple), but the bathroom was a little grimy and the mosquito nets aren't big enough. There is a curfew. The staff was nice enough, but not super helpful. If you have other choices, maybe pick one of those....

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
282 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

We stayed here on transit from Nairobi to Zanzibar and slightly regretted it.

The staff was welcoming enough but looked at us a little strangely when we said we had a room together, so we ended up signing in as a married couple.

We had been told there were only family rooms left so went for that option, only to find 2 single beds in a very, very narrow room (from the looks of it, all the rooms on that floor had been divided in half at some point to double the capacity). The dividing walls were just plasterboard, with several holes meaning there was minimal privacy. The graffiti actually made the room more welcoming!

The beds were clean and comfortable though, and there were mosquito nets that - whilst not particularly well fitting (prepare for a face-full of net) - did the job.

The bathrooms were basic to say the least - no toilet roll and no locks. We didn't bother with a shower because they looked a bit grim but they looked like they would have done the job.

Lonely Planet says the hostel is 'clean' but that doesn't seem to have stopped the rats; one of whom was spotted on the way back to the toilet in the early hours.

Rooms are noisy - especially those at the front of the building owing to there being no glass in the windows between the room and the road. Having said that, there was a party down the corridor from us going on until at least 4am but we didn't notice until we left the room for the bathroom.

If you're in need of a roof over your head, this is a cheap option that does that but not much more.

The one up-side: the hostel is well located for walking through down-town Dar of an evening.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EllieandAlexis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dar es Salaam hotels

Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2012

In 7 months of travel, this was the place that stood out as the worst-of-the-worst. The staff were beyond unfriendly. We arrived in Dar sick and were very quiet (ie. sleeping). The only noisy beings in our room were the rats who came to visit. For whatever reason, staff kept telling us that our room was booked and we had to switch twice in four days. The morning of our fourth day, when we went to pay, they informed us that we couldn't stay there at all any longer. We asked why, and they said that they had a four-night limit and that "this is a hostel, not a hotel." We saw plenty of empty rooms on our way out. We ended up at the YMCA, which was only 5000 shillings more expensive and a MUCH better option.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the street - its noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yalayala y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
52 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2011

I stayed here with around 30 others on a volunteering trip in 2010, it was our rendezvous point and not our choice. When I came back 2 months later there was no room so I stayed in another hostel which despite having a dirty room, was far more energetic (back-packer groups) - so you make your choice. It was around 40,000 shillings per night (less than £20) but I stayed in far better in the rural city Songea for 12,000 per night (en-suite, could request hot water, decent breakfast, caring staff) I would suggest elsewhere for atmosphere which is particularly depressing in the prison-like block, but don't necessarily expect better accommodation in this price bracket - it is the norm.

From our arrival the staff though pleasant enough seemed to have only one expression best described as a ‘knowing look’ – this was presumably why a few of were locked out on more than one occasion, though there is a long-suffering security guard who let us in.
The local/budget food was uninspiring everywhere in my experience - if you don't want wali na kuku then try the Chinese restaurants in town or the Holiday Inn literally opposite the YWCA which has a great bar at the top!

There's a big soviet-style concrete exercise yard outside which was useful for our evening team meetings but otherwise just adds to the institutional feeling. Like in most places hot water is a rarity though being Dar the sun sometimes makes the contents of the roof water tanks bearable by evening. The rooms are big, clean and the nets generally OK. Male and female toilets alternate by floor. Be wary of the Post Office sorting building next door however - from 5am you will be wondering where the jet crashed.

If you have just returned from a long flight/bus journey I guess it can be nice to be somewhere where you don't necessarily feel too dirty or under-dressed to relax in! Having said that, the YWCA attracts and interesting mix of guests - some of the poorest come for the cheap lunch service, backpackers for the basic, central location, but also smart Tanzanians on business trips, so if you can persuade them to communicate in this sterile environment you should not be disappointed.

Come with no expectations and go out to raise the spirits!

Room Tip: Stayed on numerous floors all more or less the same - try getting a room at the front - furthest fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PopiB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 February 2011

Very noisy until late at night. Reasonably clean but food in cafeteria extremely basic

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thomas419ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
0.2 mi away
Ramada Encore Dar Es Salaam
Ramada Encore Dar Es Salaam
#9 of 101 in Dar es Salaam
134 reviews
0.2 mi away
Golden Tulip Dar City Center
Golden Tulip Dar City Center
#19 of 101 in Dar es Salaam
56 reviews
3.2 mi away
Q-Bar & Guest House
Q-Bar & Guest House
#66 of 101 in Dar es Salaam
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Southern Sun Dar es Salaam
Southern Sun Dar es Salaam
#3 of 101 in Dar es Salaam
651 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dar es Salaam Serena Hotel
Dar es Salaam Serena Hotel
#7 of 101 in Dar es Salaam
592 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YWCA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YWCA

Property: YWCA
Address: Maktaba Street, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 109 B&Bs / Inns in Dar es Salaam
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing