We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay, completely new, fantastic staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Tanzanite Executive Suites
Ranked #10 of 96 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Reviewed 31 August 2013

I stayed in the Tanzanite suites for a little over a month. Sam (the Manager) was fantastic and very professional. The hotel is completely new and right in the thick of ngora ngora rd and indira gandhi st. Security is also there 24/7. The breakfast was great and included a buffet and cooked options. fantastic service all around. Much better value than Harbourview Suites or Hyatt.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SinbadSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (668)
There are newer reviews for Tanzanite Executive Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

337 - 343 of 668 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2013

Tanzanite Executive had clean and spacious rooms. Staff were very friendly and helpful, everyone from the lift assistant to the general manager. Once we showed up with no reservation and the hotel staff immediately did their best to help us out. At one point I was unwell and the manager himself would daily ask about my health and show support. Thank you Tanzanite Executive!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank Skutella86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Stayed here three times during our visit to Tanzania. We were met at the airport as arranged and transfer cost was a very reasonable $20. We had a 2 bedroom suite which was clean and spacious. The hotel is centrally located in the old part of town and has many shops and restaurants nearby. The staff were friendly and courteous at all times and the service we received was excellent. Every request was dealt with efficiently and professionally. They even arranged the purchase of top vouchers for my mobile phone and topped it up for me. A complimentary transfer is provided to the ferry terminal for the ferry to Zanzibar. The 3 bedroom family suites are fabulous and extremely spacious. I have stayed in many 4 and 5 star hotels in Europe, America and Asia and I have to say that the service at the Tanzanite was the best that I have experienced. Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone thinking of going to Dar. A big thank you to all the staff for a great stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Allouttotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

I have been traveling in Tanzania for the past 5 weeks (July-Aug 2013) and have been in and out of Dar. Each time I'm in Dar I stay at the Tanzanite because it is brilliant! The rooms are gorgeous: AC, fan, TV, en suite, and real mattresses (if you've been traveling in Tanzania already you'll appreciate that!) It's not cheap, but if you can afford it it's worth every penny. As a backpacker, I definitely looked forward to staying at the Tanzanite. The staff are incredibly welcoming and friendly, and were able to help me with all sorts of travel arrangements from bus tickets to finding a salon! They also do airport/bus station pickup/dropoff. They don't have a restaurant but have a room service facility that involves the local restaurants nearby i.e. you order from the restaurant's menu and it gets delivered to your room- perfect! (Try the Lebanese place, Al Basha- very good!)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TanzTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We stayed in this hotel twice, once for a couple of nights and the second time for one night. The location was good, in the city centre close to the port and bus stops, and the staff nice. The room was clean, large with a nice view. We had issues with the delivery of food (it took 3 hours) and had much more enjoyment wandering the streets nearby even after dark (very safe, if a little scary). Would recommend the Tea Room nearby for lunch.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gingray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We stayed at the Tanzanite twice during our visit to Tanzania. The first time, we arrived very late (2:30 am) from Ethiopia (red-eye flight was delayed) but the hotel's driver was there waiting for us. We were driven to our hotel and greeted by friendly staff. They helped us to arrange a taxi to the bus station the next morning and recommended some bus companies. We only stayed for 2-3 hours before leaving for Mikumi National Park but our experience was great and we were upgraded to a suite with two rooms and two bathrooms (it was a nice surprise). We also had a view of the surrounding area.

The second time we stayed there was a few days later. Again, the staff who greeted us were warm and friendly. We were not given the same room (unfortunately) but the room we stayed in the second night was clean, and cozy.

We had the option of staying in and ordering from one of the many restaurants in the surrounding area there were lots of things to choose from: Indian, Asian, BBQ, and local cuisine. For anyone who likes ordering in, this is a real plus!

We had no problem finding our way to the ferry station and walked there in 15 minutes.

NOTE: If you are going to or coming from the bus station be prepared to leave at least 2 hours BEFORE you need to. Traffic is awful!

Overall, we had a pleasant stay at Tanzanite Executive Suites and will consider staying there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anthony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

My family and I stayed there for three nights July 19-21 2013. We were on our way to the Serengeti and stopped in Dar to visit the city and Zanzibar.
The location was not optimal, as the staff did not want us out after dark without a guide. They were willing to supply an escort. Security throughout the building was excellent. We felt totally safe.
The rooms had all the amities, were large with comfortable bed and safe. We had no problems with hot and cold water.
Breakfast was plentiful, juices awesome! They were happy to open early,5am, for those with early schedules.
Staff was very friendly and helpful at all times. Loved the fish tank! Good proximity to the airport, about 15 minutes. Windows opened in the room and screens were on a slider, perfect for taking pictures.

Room Tip: Corner room on higher floors. Windows opened- thank- you!
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
0.2 mi away
Harbour View Suites
Harbour View Suites
#19 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
235 reviews
1.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard
0.5 mi away
New Africa Hotel
New Africa Hotel
#17 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ramada Encore Dar Es Salaam
Ramada Encore Dar Es Salaam
#9 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
170 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro
0.3 mi away
Golden Tulip Dar City Center
Golden Tulip Dar City Center
#22 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tanzanite Executive Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanzanite Executive Suites

Address: Mali Street, Morogoro Road, Dar es Salaam 64, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#4 Romantic Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#5 Family Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#12 Business Hotel in Dar es Salaam
Price Range: £47 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tanzanite Executive Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tanzanite Executive Suites is a business hotel located in the heart of the city center of Dar es Salaam with facilities catering specifically for the business traveler. The hotel offers 64 contemporary guestrooms and suites, with spectacular views over the city centre of Dares Salaam. It has a modern style restaurant within the premises. All rooms include free wireless Internet access, a safe that is large enough to hold a laptop, mini-fridge, satellite TV, air conditioning, kettle, microwave, and toaster for the highest degree of comfort. All of our guests enjoy complimentary access to our fitness center and may make use of the Jacuzzi and sauna.For families, we suggest our 200 square meter 3 bedroom Family suites, each with a fully equipped kitchen and reserved underground parking, offering complete independence and comfort throughout your stay. The hotel is located just 500 meters from the harbor and the Zanzibar ferry terminal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Tanzanite Executive Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tanzanite Executive Hotel Dar Es Salaam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing