We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice enough room in Dar downtown”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tanzanite Executive Suites
Ranked #8 of 101 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Certificate of Excellence
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Nice enough room in Dar downtown”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

I recently stayed at the Tanzanite Executive Suites for a night before some meetings in Dar es Salaam. The room was fine with a nice bed, balcony and huge shower! The service was good overall, but the breakfast was very meager and the check out lady made me wait for a maid to check my room before I could leave. Luckily it didn't take long, as I had a meeting to catch. Overall worth a stay if you are there for business on a budget. Also FYI it is a completely dry (no alcohol premise) which didn't matter to me, but would have been nice to know up front.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MakameKomba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    237
    285
    76
    28
    22
See reviews for
119
175
64
147
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

The location of the hotel was good in relation to the airport though the surrounding area didnt seem great. We arrived in the middle of the night; thankfully it only took us 15 minutes to get to the hotel from the airport as there was no traffic. When I tried to arrange pickup from the airport with the hotel (as that is one of their services) I received no reply at all to the email I sent, which was not impressive. However it got sorted once I called them up and omeone was waiting for us when we arrived. The room was basic but clean and the bathroom was better than I expected. Everyone was very friendly in reception for checkin and -out. Breakfast buffet was small but OK. For overnight stays this is a good place as the rate is OK, but I would not stay for longer duration due to the location and the basic rooms.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katthen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013 via mobile

Good option for overnight stay pre/post Zanzibar or Safari. Close to ferry. Good value for money. Friendly staff. Very clean, comfortable beds, huge rooms, beautiful bathrooms. Free wi-fi. Gym available. No in-house restaurant, but plenty of take away options available, front desk will help with this.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Emmelina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

In the centre of town, so ideal for business meetings. Hotel staff are very helpful and willing to advise on all matters. A room was provided for me in which I was able to hold meetings. Rooms are large and very clean. Breakfast was very good. No in house restaurant for evening meals, but staff will assist with delivery service. This hotel is Muslim run and they request you bring no alcohol onto premises. I will stay there again on my next visit.

Room Tip: Airport pick up for US$20.00 is good value but request before arrival.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hafnarfjörður, Gullbringusysla, Iceland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

The rooms are big and clean either a comfortable bed and a flat screen tv. There is no restaurant in the hotel but as it is dead center in the old part of Dar, this foes not matter and a number of good restaurants in walking distance from hotel. Internet connection Ok and staff helpful and friendly. Value for money and to be recommended.

Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Arneus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

This is a business hotel but perfect for short stays on all trips.

There are two PCs in the reception with free internet and printing making, excellent for confirming online banking and further travel.

I stayed here twice (before moving north for safari and then again after Zanzibar ferry) and both time the rooms were clean, had nice bathrooms and a toaster, fridge and table.

Walking distance for the ferry terminal (even with luggage) and the staff will arrange a driver to collect you from the airport or bring you to the train station.

The breakfast room is bedroom so don't expect anything fancy and be prepared to wait. There is no evening food but they will order take away for you. We did this one evening and waited over three hours. Try a few of the tearooms nearby, they are cheap and cheerful.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J_Judgemental
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

Recommended for families. Nice breakfast, clean and quiet rooms, powerful air conditioners, close to ferries to Zanzibar, helpful staff, and good working wifi/ international cable. Price is pretty reasonable too.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joshuasmith77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
1.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard
0.0 mi away
Tiffany Diamond Hotel & Spa
Tiffany Diamond Hotel & Spa
#29 of 101 in Dar es Salaam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbour View Suites
Harbour View Suites
#19 of 101 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro
0.2 mi away
Rainbow Hotel
Rainbow Hotel
#45 of 101 in Dar es Salaam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ramada Encore Dar Es Salaam
Ramada Encore Dar Es Salaam
#9 of 101 in Dar es Salaam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tanzanite Executive Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanzanite Executive Suites

Property: Tanzanite Executive Suites
Address: Mali Street, Morogoro Road, Dar es Salaam 64, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#4 Romantic Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#5 Family Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#12 Business Hotel in Dar es Salaam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tanzanite Executive Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tanzanite Executive Suites is a business hotel located in the heart of the city center of Dar es Salaam with facilities catering specifically for the business traveler. The hotel offers 64 contemporary guestrooms and suites, with spectacular views over the city centre of Dares Salaam. It has a modern style restaurant within the premises. All rooms include free wireless Internet access, a safe that is large enough to hold a laptop, mini-fridge, satellite TV, air conditioning, kettle, microwave, and toaster for the highest degree of comfort. All of our guests enjoy complimentary access to our fitness center and may make use of the Jacuzzi and sauna.For families, we suggest our 200 square meter 3 bedroom Family suites, each with a fully equipped kitchen and reserved underground parking, offering complete independence and comfort throughout your stay. The hotel is located just 500 meters from the harbor and the Zanzibar ferry terminal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Jovago.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tanzanite Executive Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tanzanite Executive Hotel Dar Es Salaam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing