We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tanzanite Executive Suites
Nearby Hotels
Sea Cliff Hotel(Dar es Salaam)
US$360
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$181
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$409
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$282
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Spa
Hotel Slipway(Dar es Salaam)
US$175
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$165
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$238
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$224
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$179
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$182
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$127
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harbour View Suites(Dar es Salaam)
US$158
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$120
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$313
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$289
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$233
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$196
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (709)
Filter reviews
709 results
Traveller rating
251
316
89
30
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
251
316
89
30
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsno alcoholbedroom suiteferry terminalwalking distancedining tablecall to prayerzanzibar ferryshort staycity centrerooms are cleandowntown darhotel is locatedair conditioningexcellent breakfastbusiness hotelhot watermicrowave
Filter
Updating list...
339 - 344 of 709 reviews
Reviewed 5 December 2013

What a weird place. There's good and bad here. To save money, we booked a large suite to accommodate 5 of us. To the hotel's credit, they gave us the large suite, plus an extra small suite without extra charge. The rooms were large, comfortable, and well appointed.

On the negative side, the home delivery dinner was less than average, the promised drinking water refill was not delivered, our early morning wake up call never happened, & our early morning room service breakfast never happened.

At check out, they tried to charge us for an extra mattress that we didn't have, and they charged us US$20 each way for airport transfers. (we later discovered that these transfers were actually included in our tour)

Our early morning airport transfer was a disaster. We left late (no wake up call or breakfast), and got delivered to the WRONG airport terminal on the wrong side of Dar Es Salaam airport. No time to call a taxi to get us to the correct airport terminal. After some mad scrambling, paid a local private car driver to take us there. Then Precision Air wouldn't let us on the plane. I can understand this. Rules are rules and we arrived less than 30 mins before departure. But the Precision Air check-in girl was pretending to try to contact her supervisor via her i-phone to help us, but was actually on face book the whole time. She just tried to delay us long enough so we would miss the flight from a competing airline.

So we went to the Fast Jet counter, paid for 5 flights to Mwanza (cash only. US dollars). The Fast Jet plane was almost new, and arrived in Mwanza BEFORE the Precision air one anyway. And Fast Jet are cheaper than Precision Air too.

Its a good travel story now, but it was horrible at the time.

But I think the whole city is shonky.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peter t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

On arrival to the hotel you are greeted in the lifeless vacant feeling Lobby by an enormous sign saying ALCOHOL strictly prohibited. It goes on to say Visitors too are forbidden. It is hotel for Goodness sake! Guests of guests are a regular at hotels and people stay at hotels in order to meet people and conduct business and the like!! At check in we were made to wait for half an hour for reasons yet to be established. No initial greeting was given but we were given our bill; IMMEDIATELY! I said how about a hello or showoing me my room before giving me my bill? There were a large number of people standing around in the reception but not quite sure what they were all doing. I felt very uncomfortable immediately.

We were shown to our room which was acceptable and the bathroom too was clean but very little water pressure unfortunately.There are no rugs or carpets to be seen in the hotel corridors or our room making the whole place very loud and full of echo's.

Breakfast was a farce. There were staff just standing around looking blankly at the guests as they tried to eat their food whilst one man in particular (one of the management or owners I presume) walked around prodding the various trays of food and occasionally barking an order at one of the staff to bring out more of this or that. The breakfast room was hopeless and lifeless with an open door to the Toilet literally right next to the food! My table cloth was filthy as well. the food was awful and cheap and looked quite frankly tinned!
Finally as people are looking for reviews for their own best interests I must add that this Hotel is situated in a very Muslim area. I was woken at 05H05 by the sound of one of the many many Mosques wailing out their word. I felt the area was dangerous and was even told so by one of the many "staff" type people lingering around the reception.
I felt very very unwelcome here and I think it best that the Hotel establish on their website that only Muslims or people of a certain "disposition" are welcome as clearly the Management are going out of their way to keep very tight control on the way things are run! If a Hotel does not sell Alcohol for example and goes out of their way to make a point of this, then obviously they are biased toward one form of belief and ignoring those of others. My girlfriend and I are not married and this was just one more reason why we felt so looked down upon and threatened almost.
A horrible feeling of insecurity and threat and so will NOT stay here again or recommend it. I will not forget it though.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

The hotel is clean, comfortable, cheap and well located next to kitumbini and kariakoo markets.
The rooms are very very good.
The staff at the reception and main door is friendly and helpful, internet works well but there are some power cuts, the rooms are really big, modern and fully equiped.
You can order some food at the reception, breakfast is good. They are now opening the new restaurant at the hotel which will add some value.
You can take taxis just in front an taxi drivers there are wellknown by the staff of the hotel.
only problem is you can not drink alcohol and you can not bring any client to the room for a proffessional meeting, but is not a big issue. also it was quite at around 4:30am due to mosk neraby....that was a honestly a bit disturbing,
some rooms, the biggest ones are like very nice flats, kitchen, nice toilet etc
I absolutely recommend you this hotel whenever you go to Dar Es Salaam.
Fernando,

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fernandogracia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

We booked executive room and it was pretty decent in size.Wash room is very well made.Housekeeping service could be better.You can get taxi right outside the hotel.Not much option for breakfast but still decent.Home delivery option provided by hotel for lunch and dinner is not too good.Very oily food.Overall it was a good experience.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Eema S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

A good, comfortable hotel in a central location (Morogoro Rd). Highly professional, friendly and competent service. Rooms are equipped with a/c, satellite tv, safe. Wifi is free, sometimes sketchy (two fast somputers can be used at reception). Breakfast is ok. Reception orders takeaway dinners from nearby restaurants at good prices and quality, manifold restaurants and shops are just steps away. No alcohol allowed on premises.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DidiJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews