We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“best you will find at that price in Dar” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tanzanite Executive Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tanzanite Executive Suites
Ranked #8 of 101 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“best you will find at that price in Dar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

In that price range it is defintely the best hotel in Dar. clean and spacious, friendly staff and great breakfast. just note that no booze allowed. we had a family room that had its own kitchen and two separate bedrooms

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanR70ZB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    235
    284
    75
    28
    22
See reviews for
119
175
64
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

stayed for 4 nights,
good central location for some shops, mosques, money exchange, taxiing to beach-Gymkhana leisure centre with golf course- travel to Zanzibar with ferries.
clean hotel, helpful staff, good brakfast, good in room entertainmaent on TV channels, free wifi, we stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment, very spacious , good beds, fridge/microwave present in lounge.
Nearby average golf course, dry - in gymkhana, (taxi- 10,000TZS return), two holes tee off by beach- good view, do try fresh coconut juice .
Only 10 minute walk to Azam ferries station for booking ferry (2 hr) to Zanzibar, 40 US$ for VIP seats ( recommended), 35$ for business class, need passport when booking and need it in Zanzibar. we stayed there for 1 day, spend a few hours on Prison Island (10 US$ each for small boat)- good snorkeling and amazing turtles on the island. spent a few hours around stone town- see old houses, museum, bazaars, slave dungeons,etc, house of Freddy Mercury birthplace.
Nearby restaurants, we found a KFC also- 40,000 TZS by taxi,
hassle free shopping in small bazaar style shops in 'Safeway' part of Dar, ask taxi driver, for small souvenirs.
Not recommnneded to walk too far on your own, liaise with hotel staff who are more than helpful.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrummyAli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

We (family of five) stayed at the tanzanite executive for one night, having arrived at Dar and before we flew to Mwanza. We took a family apartment which was huge: three bathrooms (though one a bit stinky - a drainage problem which was explained), kitchen, living room and three bedrooms. All very clean, with great skyline views. Hotel arranged a taxi from and to airport, as well as an early (basic) breakfast. Overall, great value. And close to Mambos for a great on-street meal.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

We booked this place as it was cheapish and seemed to have some nice features - sauna and jacuzzi. On arrival, we found out that we were not allowed to drink alcohol in the hotel. Also if you're a couple you can't use the gym or sauna or jacuzzi together. We felt cheated. Breakfast was okay but nothing special. Rooms were large, bright and clean but not exactly romantic. I won't be staying there again as I didn't appreciate all the restrictions.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IVDD42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

This place is amazing value for money. Stayed for a total of 9 nights on 3 occasions. 1 night in an executive suite and the rest in a studio suite.
All bathroom accessories are provided as standard including Towels, shampoo, gel, soap, tootbrush & paste, disposal razor & cream, etc . The room has air con and fan, a safe , kettle, toaster and microwave. Also an electronic Bug Zapper as standard (no bugs encountered). Iron, board and hair dryer were provided promptly on request. A dining area was being installed near to the reception.
The reception also had two Apple Macs with internet access for free use by guests. The included breakfast had a range of fruit, drinks, cereals, hot and cold food daily. The Manager Yusuf and his senior staff are recent appointees and could not have been more helpful. They stored one of our suitcases when we went on a 3 day safari.
The majority of the clients are Europeans and is kept clean by the diligent house team. Taxis are always parked right outside the main entrance ( always bargain and agree the price prior). A number of superb eating places to suit every taste are nearby within a max 10 minute walk.
This is probably the best location for a city centre stay.

Room Tip: City centre location with views of buildings all around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DilluManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

What a weird place. There's good and bad here. To save money, we booked a large suite to accommodate 5 of us. To the hotel's credit, they gave us the large suite, plus an extra small suite without extra charge. The rooms were large, comfortable, and well appointed.

On the negative side, the home delivery dinner was less than average, the promised drinking water refill was not delivered, our early morning wake up call never happened, & our early morning room service breakfast never happened.

At check out, they tried to charge us for an extra mattress that we didn't have, and they charged us US$20 each way for airport transfers. (we later discovered that these transfers were actually included in our tour)

Our early morning airport transfer was a disaster. We left late (no wake up call or breakfast), and got delivered to the WRONG airport terminal on the wrong side of Dar Es Salaam airport. No time to call a taxi to get us to the correct airport terminal. After some mad scrambling, paid a local private car driver to take us there. Then Precision Air wouldn't let us on the plane. I can understand this. Rules are rules and we arrived less than 30 mins before departure. But the Precision Air check-in girl was pretending to try to contact her supervisor via her i-phone to help us, but was actually on face book the whole time. She just tried to delay us long enough so we would miss the flight from a competing airline.

So we went to the Fast Jet counter, paid for 5 flights to Mwanza (cash only. US dollars). The Fast Jet plane was almost new, and arrived in Mwanza BEFORE the Precision air one anyway. And Fast Jet are cheaper than Precision Air too.

Its a good travel story now, but it was horrible at the time.

But I think the whole city is shonky.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peter t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Level Contributor
106 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

On arrival to the hotel you are greeted in the lifeless vacant feeling Lobby by an enormous sign saying ALCOHOL strictly prohibited. It goes on to say Visitors too are forbidden. It is hotel for Goodness sake! Guests of guests are a regular at hotels and people stay at hotels in order to meet people and conduct business and the like!! At check in we were made to wait for half an hour for reasons yet to be established. No initial greeting was given but we were given our bill; IMMEDIATELY! I said how about a hello or showoing me my room before giving me my bill? There were a large number of people standing around in the reception but not quite sure what they were all doing. I felt very uncomfortable immediately.

We were shown to our room which was acceptable and the bathroom too was clean but very little water pressure unfortunately.There are no rugs or carpets to be seen in the hotel corridors or our room making the whole place very loud and full of echo's.

Breakfast was a farce. There were staff just standing around looking blankly at the guests as they tried to eat their food whilst one man in particular (one of the management or owners I presume) walked around prodding the various trays of food and occasionally barking an order at one of the staff to bring out more of this or that. The breakfast room was hopeless and lifeless with an open door to the Toilet literally right next to the food! My table cloth was filthy as well. the food was awful and cheap and looked quite frankly tinned!
Finally as people are looking for reviews for their own best interests I must add that this Hotel is situated in a very Muslim area. I was woken at 05H05 by the sound of one of the many many Mosques wailing out their word. I felt the area was dangerous and was even told so by one of the many "staff" type people lingering around the reception.
I felt very very unwelcome here and I think it best that the Hotel establish on their website that only Muslims or people of a certain "disposition" are welcome as clearly the Management are going out of their way to keep very tight control on the way things are run! If a Hotel does not sell Alcohol for example and goes out of their way to make a point of this, then obviously they are biased toward one form of belief and ignoring those of others. My girlfriend and I are not married and this was just one more reason why we felt so looked down upon and threatened almost.
A horrible feeling of insecurity and threat and so will NOT stay here again or recommend it. I will not forget it though.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
1.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard
0.2 mi away
Harbour View Suites
Harbour View Suites
#20 of 101 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tiffany Diamond Hotel & Spa
Tiffany Diamond Hotel & Spa
#28 of 101 in Dar es Salaam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro
9.5 mi away
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
#5 of 101 in Dar es Salaam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
4.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tanzanite Executive Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanzanite Executive Suites

Property: Tanzanite Executive Suites
Address: Mali Street, Morogoro Road, Dar es Salaam 64, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#4 Romantic Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#5 Family Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#12 Business Hotel in Dar es Salaam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tanzanite Executive Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tanzanite Executive Suites is a business hotel located in the heart of the city center of Dar es Salaam with facilities catering specifically for the business traveler. The hotel offers 64 contemporary guestrooms and suites, with spectacular views over the city centre of Dares Salaam. It has a modern style restaurant within the premises. All rooms include free wireless Internet access, a safe that is large enough to hold a laptop, mini-fridge, satellite TV, air conditioning, kettle, microwave, and toaster for the highest degree of comfort. All of our guests enjoy complimentary access to our fitness center and may make use of the Jacuzzi and sauna.For families, we suggest our 200 square meter 3 bedroom Family suites, each with a fully equipped kitchen and reserved underground parking, offering complete independence and comfort throughout your stay. The hotel is located just 500 meters from the harbor and the Zanzibar ferry terminal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jovago.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Tanzanite Executive Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tanzanite Executive Hotel Dar Es Salaam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing