We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inexpensive luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Tanzanite Executive Suites
Ranked #8 of 95 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
London
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Inexpensive luxury”
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Have recently spent two nights here before our trip to Zanzibar. Lovely hotel with very helpful staff. It's also a 10 minute walk to the ferry port, very useful. Not in the best area but very lovely if you're in transit.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scrome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    238
    289
    79
    28
    22
See reviews for
123
175
66
148
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arusha, Tanzania
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I must say in the midst of all the confusion of Dar-es.Salaam, you do tend to forget the chaos of it all once you get into TES. Despite being in a not so obvious location, though in the midst of everything, it is a good place and the owner do offer very good service for the price.

It is very clean, and I did have a beautiful view of the city from the 6th floor. The rooms are spacious and well stocked. It was also very quiet for me, maybe because I was a bit higher up.

The internet wasn't at all bad, nor was the program selection on the TV. The restaurant and the food in it are very good for East African standard.

It mat seem a bit cramped, but you don't notice it so much, due to the wide corridor halls and quite decent deco. Overall I liked it and was good value for money, and recommend it for business trips that require you to be around most embassies.

Room Tip: Rooms higher up a re quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sandra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Good location in the heart of Dar es Salaam. Modern feel with A/C, comfortable bed.

Good service. Front desk staff always helpful.

Hotel is generally over staffed so its not difficult to get someone to help.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JazzyYazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We stayed there two nights at the beginning and end of our trip in Tanzania and were very pleasantly surprised. The rooms were spacious and clean (the room we had on the second floor was better than the room we had on the eighth floor), the staff was nice and the restaurant had a decent food selection. One suggestion I would make is that they use PayPal in order to avoid the 5% transaction fee (this is normal throughout Tanzania). I also wish that they would have charged me for my entire stay prior to arrival rather than charging me separately for both nights stay and our airport transfers to avoid additional international bank fees. If you're going to stay there you should ask them to charge you in full at one time. Also their price for airport transfers is reasonable but make sure you have the right times arranged - despite them making me send them exact flight detail for all of our airport transfers (rather than just flight times) the guy that was supposed to drive us on our last day was very late. Luckily things are usually late in Africa so we didn't miss our flight but it was very nerve wracking.

Room Tip: the corner rooms are bigger and better
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waltham, MA
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Orr family of 4 stayed in a large, 3 bedroom apartment. It was huge. There was a dining table that could seat 8, so it was kind of funny that they have a "no guests" policy! We were very comfortable here, and ended up returning at the end of our Tanzanian trip. At the time we stayed, there was no restaurant, and that was the only downside, so now that there is one, I would highly recommend it for families. The administrative staff was efficient and helpful. We liked having access to the free computers in the lobby so that we could send quick emails home. Room price was very fair for what we got.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank iwanttogetaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathmandu, Nepal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

I booked a single room. The room I was given had a big mildew problem. I explained to the hotel booking office that the mildew will cause an infection in the lungs of the guest. I got the response "you see sir when it is getting damp these things coming it is normal there's nothing we do about it". I was told that there was only one other room available so I took it. The other room stunk. The next morning I felt ill. I met again with the hotel booking officials to ask if they had another room. The booking officials were dishonest in their response and very disrespectful.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jimmy d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I stayed here for one night in between other accommodation in Dar. It was clean and the staff were courteous and helpful. The room had a strange layout and was rather dark, but it was comfortable and spacious. The breakfast was decent. Overall, this is a nice place to stay downtown. The location downtown is nice and seemed safe, even by night.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with windows that don't face another building. You will likely have more light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arielle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
1.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard
0.2 mi away
Harbour View Suites
Harbour View Suites
#19 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
220 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ramada Encore Dar Es Salaam
Ramada Encore Dar Es Salaam
#9 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Golden Tulip Dar City Center
Golden Tulip Dar City Center
#20 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
63 reviews
0.5 mi away
New Africa Hotel
New Africa Hotel
#17 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
411 reviews
11.4 mi away
Kunduchi Beach Hotel And Resort
Kunduchi Beach Hotel And Resort
#16 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tanzanite Executive Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanzanite Executive Suites

Property: Tanzanite Executive Suites
Address: Mali Street, Morogoro Road, Dar es Salaam 64, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#4 Romantic Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#5 Family Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#12 Business Hotel in Dar es Salaam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tanzanite Executive Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tanzanite Executive Suites is a business hotel located in the heart of the city center of Dar es Salaam with facilities catering specifically for the business traveler. The hotel offers 64 contemporary guestrooms and suites, with spectacular views over the city centre of Dares Salaam. It has a modern style restaurant within the premises. All rooms include free wireless Internet access, a safe that is large enough to hold a laptop, mini-fridge, satellite TV, air conditioning, kettle, microwave, and toaster for the highest degree of comfort. All of our guests enjoy complimentary access to our fitness center and may make use of the Jacuzzi and sauna.For families, we suggest our 200 square meter 3 bedroom Family suites, each with a fully equipped kitchen and reserved underground parking, offering complete independence and comfort throughout your stay. The hotel is located just 500 meters from the harbor and the Zanzibar ferry terminal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Tanzanite Executive Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tanzanite Executive Hotel Dar Es Salaam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing