We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I wish i had read the reviews first”
Review of Fish Monger

Fish Monger
Ranked #204 of 304 Restaurants in Dar es Salaam
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Freetown, Sierra Leone
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“I wish i had read the reviews first”
Reviewed 23 November 2012

I would have eaten at the hotel instead.
Nice enough place without being special, (its a terrace) nice ambiance. But clearly marketing to tourists.

To be fair i arrived late, having watched the football first, However i had checked in advance and I still arrived 45mins before last orders for the kitchen. Calamari starter was quite nice, main course was fresh fish, very powdery, either overcooked or not fresh (or both). Just after sitting, they started to clear the tables around me, and despite the fact I was not the last to leave, felt pressured into paying and leaving, was reminded that as the waiter was leaving, could i settle the bill before finishing, oh and did i want to leave a tip.

The Karambazi restaurant next door is way better. (but even there the tip was mentioned 3x)

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wildpix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    18
    7
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
98 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“One of many. Tourist menu. Tourist setting. Fish not fresh. Specials often sold out.”
Reviewed 30 October 2012 via mobile

there's actually nothing what distinguishes fish monger from a average fish restaurant apart from the price they dare to ask for their frozen fish dishes.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ets10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi
Level Contributor
164 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“They know seafood!”
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Service is quite good, the food is excellent. I am a seafood adicted and I know when people treat seafood properly. The fish fillets with prawns and calamary were simply good. Will get back.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Helena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Dissapointed...”
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Food here was below par. Had the 1kg of Prawns, it had zero spice on it, and smelled very "fresh". But this is the fresh that you dont want to smell while eating prawns!! Their salad was also dissapointing.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Skip_15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pickpocket owner/ manager”
Reviewed 30 July 2012 via mobile

I would like to share this incident of 29.07.2012 night. Me and my girlfriend were there for dinner. There was a couple sitting near us, the lady forgot her purse on the bench and left. Immediately as we too were leaving I saw the purse and told the manager/ owner who looked like a chinese. He took the purse and went to his table. We told the waiters to go and look for the couple. In the mean time the manager opened the purse and took out a note or notes I couldnt see well and stuffed it into his jeans pocket. Wooow.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Samonyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fish Monger also viewed

Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
 
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
 
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
 

Been to Fish Monger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing