We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly guesthouse in quiet outskirts of Dar”
Review of Friendly Gecko

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Friendly Gecko
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Friendly guesthouse in quiet outskirts of Dar”
Reviewed 12 May 2012 via mobile

I flew I into Dar and it was really great not to have to go straight into the big city mayhem. This a very attractive guest house on the outskirts (but near a beach) and all profits go to the orphanage which is fab. The staff were very friendly and the new management are putting a lot of effort into making improvements for the guests and volunteers. Ou can also visit the orphanage if you want, where there are a group of happy well taken care of kids. Overall a lovely start to travelling in Tanzania.

Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Gina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    11
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
6
21
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

This guest house is a very nice place to stay. It is relaxed and comfortable and the staff is very friendly... The house is clean and fresh. I love that all of the profit goes to the orphange that the are woking with. Even if we stayed in the tent it still was cozy and it never felt uncomfotable. The cleanest guesthouse i have stayed at in a long long time

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Camilla H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

Me and my girlfriend stayed in a tent at friendly gecko.
It was nice and we had acces to the whole facillity with wi fi, tv and hot shower.
Another good thing is that the money they make is going directly to charity.
There is a beach close to here i have heard but i didn´t visit.
The only bad thing is that it is 20 min from dar es salaam city centre.

Room Tip: The tent was nice for two people
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Martin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John's, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

During a marine research trip to Tanzania, I decided to spend a few days in Dar es Salaam area before I started and after a search for a nice sounding place to stay, I found The Friendly Gecko. The website is really good to get an idea of what it will be like and then the quick email response upon booking was great. On arrival I was met by their recommended taxi driver and driven straight there. As a solo traveller, I was immediately made to feel so welcome by all of the staff, and the other volunteers no travelers there. The rooms are lovely and comfortable, with a lovely balcony terrace to sit. There is also a great breakfast too. I instantly was made so welcome and made to feel at home and would recommend this as a safe, fun and great place to stay, either for a few days of for longer. I wish I could have stayed there longer! Thank you for a great stay!

Room Tip: Just ask for what you need!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Kayte01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

I stayed in the Gecko two times the last three months, both times for about a week. I had the most amazing time. The Gecko offers a chilled out place with always some volunteers or guests to talk to. It is a bit out of town, but the drive there is definitely worthwhile, and you'll soon extra appreciate the nice living, balcony and hammock it if you spend a day downtown.

Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
7 Thank Joost M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

it is a really nice place. the work they are doing in the community is fantastic. well run, clean rooms (can get a bit hot at night), fun staff. definitely a good place to volunteer and stay as a solo traveler.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CameronW23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

The friendly Gecko is a guesthouse in the outskirts of Dar Es Salaam, in a calm neighborhood. It is located very close to the "White Sands Area" with good beaches, beach resorts and reasonable diving opportunities. Also Mbduya Island is close and makes for a good day trip. The rooms are clean, large and well prized, there are a lot of volunteers around, since the place is run by a Swiss Organization called help2kids that are running an orphanage in the area amongst other wonderful projects and Your money goes into supporting these projects. During my stay I was lucky enough to meet Christian, the project manager and got convinced that they are doing a great job.
Whilst the immediate area is well worth a couple of days hanging at the beach, the friendly Gecko is also happy to assist You with organizing trips to the rest of the country such as Safaris or Zanzibar or Airport Transfers.
If You stay at the Gecko You need to be aware of the fact that Dar Es Salaam is quite big and the guest house is about 30 min by car outside the city center - in low traffic.
Another thing to consider is the power outs that occur regularly and since the Gecko does not sport a generator it is wise to bring a flash light.
But all in all a great place to be with good people and a positive attitude all over the place, as well as access to local knowledge and accommodation - wise good value for money.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MartinLindholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
0.0 mi away
Tanzanite Executive Suites
Tanzanite Executive Suites
#8 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
656 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
#7 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
307 reviews
0.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kunduchi Beach Hotel And Resort
Kunduchi Beach Hotel And Resort
#17 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
298 reviews
0.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay
0.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Friendly Gecko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Friendly Gecko

Property: Friendly Gecko
Address: Manyara Drive | Africana/White Sands, Dar es Salaam 84516, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 116 Speciality Lodging in Dar es Salaam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Friendly Gecko Guesthouse is a socially responsible hostel in Dar es Salaam, Tanzania. We aim to offer convenient and safe accommodation for a reasonable price. Since we accommodate around 10 volunteers year round from help2kids, we consider ourselves to be more of a home than a hostel. We love to meet new people and travelers from all walks of life and share our daily experiences. Our Guest House is located a bit outside of the city center of Dar es Salaam (around 40 minutes by car) in a safe and quiet neighborhood. With our large garden and community areas we offer a convienent and relaxed place to recover after a hectic and hot day in downtown Dar es Salaam, or a nice stop before heading to Kili or Zanzibar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Friendly Gecko reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing