We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great-Gecko-Guesthouse”
Review of Friendly Gecko

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Friendly Gecko
Reviewed 4 October 2012

After staying one night in a horriable hotel in Dar es Salaam downtown we arrived at the Friendly Gecko. Everything was just perfect:
- the pick-up service from Jacob the taxidriver
- being welcomed by Lauren, Guesthouse Manager, and introduced to the Guesthouse and the volunteers
- our privat room with own hot shower, AC and a mosquitonet
- delicious food for dinner (freshly cooked by Juliette)
We can truely recomment this Guesthouse to everyone who whants to spend his time in a safe area, in a clean house, with excellent service and a lot of helping hands if needed.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Fritz F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (40)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 40 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2012

The people in Friendly gecko were so friendly and helpful, especially Lauren. She helped me and my friend with everything we needed (find a cheap restaurant, go on a day trip, call a taxi for us... ). Also the guesthouse is very clean, warm and safe. It has two terraces where you can have a beer with the volunteers in the evening and hang out. It was the best hotel we had during our trip in Tanzania. The atmosphere in the Gecko is great, i would recommend it to all open and friendly people who want to meet new friends! :)

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adela_slo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

The Friendly Gecko was a great place to feel safe and comfortable and get my bearings when first arriving in Tanzania. The staff was welcoming and friendly..I immediately felt at home. The dorm room I was in was clean and quiet. Lauren brought me to the school with some of the volunteers and it was really fun to hang out with the kids a bit and learn some Swahili from one of the teachers...also the beach was beautiful. Thank you Friendly Gecko!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brandyshill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

The Friendly Gecko was a home away from home for me for three months. I know that Africa sometimes doesn't have hot water or maybe electricity but here there was very little inconvenience of that sort at all. The staff I couldn't fault and the rooms were always sparkling clean. I loved the atmosphere most of all as was able to talk to the most interesting people from all over the world who were having great adventures. I had the priviledge of volanteering at help2kids the orphanage that the friendly Gecko supports and was able to have quality time with the children who now have stolen my heart. The actual location is great as it is so close to the most amazing beaches, not far from the city and close to restaurants that cater for the cheap to the more elegant. Huge thankyou to Lauren who runs the hostel. Nothing was ever a problem to her when I required anything at all, including advice. I can't recommend the Friendly Gecko more highly.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Vari Bi Bi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

a lovely place to stay. It's in the outskirts of Dar es Salaam close to nice beaches. also the city-center isn't far away. bed (very clean room) and a nice breakfast. and last but not least the people and the staff are very friendly and helpfully. for sure you'll have a nice time there!!

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Tanchita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

A decent location and nice enough rooms. Confused my booking with another at time of booking and then when we requested an additional night were unable to do so despite being told the night before it was ok. Reasonable food but no hot water in our room. Better value places throughout Tanzania

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrynNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012 via mobile

I stayed here in the dorm for 3 nights and really enjoyed my stay. The staff are really friendly and made us feel welcome straight away. The guesthouse is a nice building with cool terraces to sit in the evenings. It is also really clean and the rooms are comfy with well fitted mosquito nets and hot showers. There is also wifi which was great. The beach is not far so we spent a couple of days chilling out there during the day and at the guesthouse in the evening. The guesthouse also provides cheap meals each evening (optional) which were delicious. The included breakfast is also great too.
If I ever come back to dar I will definitely stay here again and I would recommend it to friends. great guesthouse!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jrp997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
0.0 mi away
Hunch Backpackers
Hunch Backpackers
#7 of 124 in Dar es Salaam
4 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tanzanite Executive Suites
Tanzanite Executive Suites
#10 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
676 reviews
0.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
#7 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
352 reviews
0.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay
0.0 mi away
Jangwani Seabreeze Resort
Jangwani Seabreeze Resort
#32 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Friendly Gecko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Friendly Gecko

Address: Manyara Drive | Africana/White Sands, Dar es Salaam 84516, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 124 Speciality Lodging in Dar es Salaam
Price Range: £15 - £38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Friendly Gecko Guesthouse is a socially responsible hostel in Dar es Salaam, Tanzania. We aim to offer convenient and safe accommodation for a reasonable price. Since we accommodate around 10 volunteers year round from help2kids, we consider ourselves to be more of a home than a hostel. We love to meet new people and travelers from all walks of life and share our daily experiences. Our Guest House is located a bit outside of the city center of Dar es Salaam (around 40 minutes by car) in a safe and quiet neighborhood. With our large garden and community areas we offer a convienent and relaxed place to recover after a hectic and hot day in downtown Dar es Salaam, or a nice stop before heading to Kili or Zanzibar. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing