We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Friendly Gecko
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$404
US$248
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Spa
US$122
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Slipway(Dar es Salaam)
US$165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tanzanite Executive Suites(Dar es Salaam)
US$268
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Nikko Tower(Dar es Salaam)
US$99
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
New Africa Hotel(Dar es Salaam)
US$179
US$127
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$215
US$189
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$146
US$128
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Sapphire(Dar es Salaam)
US$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$161
US$132
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (40)
Filter reviews
40 results
Traveller rating
26
11
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
26
11
3
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 40 reviews
Reviewed 30 January 2014

The Friendly Gecko is exactly what I look for when I'm traveling. The actual hotel is beautiful, the atmosphere is extremely friendly and homey, and it is socially responsible. I had an opportunity to visit the orphanage that the profits from the hotel support and the children and staff were amazing. 100% recommended! Asante Sana Sana!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sassafone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FriendlyGecko, Manager at Friendly Gecko, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

We are so happy to hear that you also appreciate our favorite part of the Gecko--our relationship with help2kids! Thank you for your support and we are glad that we can offer like-minded travelers an opportunity to share comfortable accommodation in a friendly environment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

From first booking the stay until we left, the staff communicated quickly with our questions. They helped arrange transportation and their services were perfect! We didn't have a very long stay, just two nights bookending travels to Arusha and Zanzibar, but they have great activities for longer stays around Dar and to tour their NGO, help2kids.

Room Tip: We had a private room because we were a little sick, but the dorms looked nice and there were not very many people. Quiet atmosphere and fun loving bunch of people around.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FriendlyGecko, Manager at Friendly Gecko, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Happy to hear that our services worked well for your needs. We do tend to have a nice mix of volunteers and travelers staying here which can be helpful and fun when sharing stories :) Thank you for the positive feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

I stayed in the dorms at the Friendly Gecko in December. I was just there for a few days but it was great. The staff were super friendly, food was great and house was nice and clean. Close to northern beaches of Dar es Salaam and away from the hussle and bussle of downtown Dar. Would recommend to anyone passing through Dar or looking for a longer relaxing stay.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
2  Thank Sam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FriendlyGecko, Manager at Friendly Gecko, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Thank you so much for the feedback! We are very glad that you enjoyed your time here and in the beautiful area. We will continue to strive towards excellence in giving all our travelers this experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We stayed at the Friendly Gecko back in October and really loved it. It is beautiful, reasonably priced and near the White Sands area of Dar es Salaam which is much nicer than some other areas. We were so happy we stayed here. The only thing is that it's a bit far from the bus station, but they do have a taxi driver (Jacob) who can pick you up (although our taxi fares did add up quite a bit as we needed an early morning ride to the Rangi Tatu bus station another day). The hot water is just warmed from the rooftop so showers aren't super hot, but that's not really necessary in Tanzania often anyways :) There were several people staying there for a few months or so doing volunteer work but my husband and I just stayed 2 nights. We would definitely stay here again if we came back to Dar.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FriendlyGecko, Manager at Friendly Gecko, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Thank you so much for the insightful review! We are glad that you enjoyed the distance from the City Center as it does tend to be quieter and more relaxed in this part of town. Although, we completely understand transport expenses can start to add up especially when traveling at night and early morning as public transport becomes more difficult. Thank you again and we would love to welcome you back to the Gecko the next time you are in Dar :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

I have stayed for a week at the Gecko (together with two friends) and I am really glad we chose this option. It's not in the centre of Dar (which - I think - is an advantage), but to us this didn't matter at all. Anyway, there are also many things to do in this area (like White Sands or Mbudya Island), so why would you want to live in the crowdy and hectic centre?
The staff and the volunteers, who normally stay there for a couple of weeks or months, are really helpful and easy-going, the house is nice and really gives you a "taste of an own home far away from your home". They provide dinner in the evenings at a reasonable price, there's beer, sodas, water, so you do not worry about where to buy (and carry) these things and breakfast is included.
"Their" taxi is nice and trustworthy as well.
If you are looking for a place to stay in Dar, then consider the Gecko!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank St E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FriendlyGecko, Manager at Friendly Gecko, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

We are always happy to hear the phrase "a home away from home" as that is the warmth we are hoping to give our travelers from good company and hospitality, not just the Tanzanian heat :) We can't take credit for the beautiful landscape in the area, but the close beaches are certainly a favorite for those staying at the Gecko. Thank you for the lovely review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews