We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Casa del Ray

Casa del Ray
Ranked #73 of 302 Restaurants in Dar es Salaam
Price range: US$5 - US$16
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Super”
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Great food and service - quick and tasty Good value super portion sizes

Nice simple menu and all food freshly cooked

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Visitor640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    3
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tanzania
Level Contributor
148 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“somehow mexican :)”
Reviewed 9 February 2013

mas or manos.

nice food in the Sea cliff Village food court, relatively nice food, price not justified but not so bad.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
1 review
“A little bit of Taco Truck in Dar”
Reviewed 20 August 2012

I enjoyed Casa Del Ray as it reminds me of the taco trucks back in the United States. Everything is made fresh, fast, and authentic. Keep it up!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheBigOAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Mexi...can? More Mexican't..”
Reviewed 11 March 2012

I decided to explore this little joint for a quick snack. The food court environment at the Sea Cliff Village is a nice addition to Dar's scenic surroundings and offers a multitude of options if your partner/colleague/friend doesn't want to eat the same thing as you.

The bad:
-The place is not exactly "authentic" Mexican. IMO, the little cafe itself is the only authentic factor in calling it Mexican (although I sat at the food court, I could pleasantly hear Latin songs in the background), so the effort is there. But this is unfortunately where the buck stops; The menu offers a nice selection of BASIC Mexican food which is tasty but hardly "authentic". I remember having a burrito whilst my friend had a fajita.

Let me say that the food was VERY average but value for money is actually quite good (the Fajita was far too much for my friend) but the taste was hardly authentic Mexican. The Burrito was actually a rolled up "chapati" (a local grilled bread). So as far authenticity is concerned, don't expect much. But for Eastern Africa (not including Kenya), its not a bad effort, not exactly Mexican but at least the value is good. Again more of a cafe place that serves impersonative Mexican.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious fresh Mexican and great cocktails”
Reviewed 16 November 2011

A lovely place to eat - really tasty food and good drinks - especially the margaritas and fresh juice. More of a cafe than a restaurant. Excellent value.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sukie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Casa del Ray also viewed

Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
 
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
 
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
 

Been to Casa del Ray? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing