We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxed and welcoming retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Lighthouse Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
102 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Relaxed and welcoming retreat”
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Everything at the Lighthouse works really well from the food to the accommodation to the relaxing beach. Time spent here really recharges your batteries. The staff are helpful and friendly so lunch on the beach or dinner on your room terrace is no problem.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fenbeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eivind T, Owner at The Lighthouse Beach Resort, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Thank you for your kind and helpful review! I also appreciate all inputs for possible improvements with thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    25
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
20
20
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Lighthouse is a great place. We've stayed there several times now and the staff have been warm, accommodating and lovely each time. We've had to change plans and they've worked with us with flexibility. We'll be back!

Room Tip: Dolphin room rocks! The rooms above the bar can be a bit loud, and have a bit less air flow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamiearoundtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eivind T, Owner at The Lighthouse Beach Resort, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Thank you for your review - it is of great value for us! We hope to be able to construct one or two more Dolphin style bungalows soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Two visits to the Lighthouse Beach Resort, two massive successes!

Where to start...

We stayed in the beach house two times. Lovely spacious room with a big bathroom. It has its own little terrace where you can privately dine with your loved one/company. Breakfast and diner are served here, for lunch you can choose to have it on the beach.

That brings us to the food! My god! I usually have a great appetite, but here I can't manage to finish my plate!

Breakfast with pastries, pancakes, eggs, fresh juice, coffee... I challenge you to finish it all, I'm sure you won't be able to!

Lunch is a light meal with as usual carefully selected freshest ingredients.

Diner is always a three course menu, and Frank (chef and host) always goes all out to comply with the guest's requirements. I hinted that I like a good piece of meat, and I got the perfectly baked, succulent Rib Eye steak weighing about a kilogram :) Did I mention that the portions are huge?

The beach is an oase of tranquility. A few banda's to stay out of the heat, and other than that, nothing but peace and quiet.

Also worth mentioning is hostess Bridget: an absolute pleasure. Always in a good mood, friendly and extremely helpfull!

Overall I can say that if you are looking for some relaxation out of the urban jungle that is Dar, or if you want to start or finish your holidays in Tanzania, this is an absolute paradise. The prices are fair, the food is abundant, fresh and delicious, and the staff goes all out to comply with every reasonable request you make.

Congrats to Eivind and the whole team for creating this little piece of paradise.

Honestly can't wait for my third visit!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dietah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eivind T, Owner at The Lighthouse Beach Resort, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words and for taking your time to post your review! Welcome back - now the new beach bar - Maboya Bar is getting more and more finished! Karibuni tena!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

With a couple of friends we stayed at the Lighthouse at the end of November. From the beginning to the end, it was a great experience. Lovely hosts, delicious food, tranquil beach and bonfire at night. What would we want more after a busy week of work? I would highly recommend this place if you are living and working in Dar. It's like heaven after the hustle and bustle of the city!

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice. The Dolphin room has a nice ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aleafaroundtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dar es Salaam
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 October 2013

My family and I stayed at the Lighthouse Resort for three days and we loved it. We had heard good things from friends about it and we were very impressed with the friendliness and service at the resort. My daughter and I are vegetarians and the staff were very accommodating. The food was excellent! We stayed in the Maasai House and really enjoyed it. The outdoor patio was perfect for reading and having meals when not at the beach. We highly recommend staying at the Lighthouse and would return.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2013

This is an amazing find in the vicinity of Dar es Salaam. It is actually so good that I hesitated for a while to write this review - better to keep your gems for yourself. The Lighthouse is an idyllic, intimate lodge with organic finishings, pergolas, several sitting and dining areas, free walking ducks and a beautiful improvised play area where children can climb from tree to tree on ropes and rope ladders.

The beach is gorgeous and deserted. Bonfires are allowed. You can safely stroll on the beach - don't forget to walk to the beautiful laguna, north of the Lighthouse, just past Kasa Beach.

The Lighthouse has excellent staff. Bridget is very friendly, understanding and facilitating. No matter what kind of dietary requirements you may have - vegetarian, no wheat - Frank will come up with a tasty alternative. It is amazing how the staff is able to transform something that is just an open area at daytime to a magical oil lamp lighted romantic dinner area at night.

We have been at the Lighthouse many times, usually with a group of friends with children. If you fancy a slick beach resort with pools and straight lines and corners, this is not the place for you. If you like organic lodges with thatched roofs, winding pathways and wooden dhows as decoration items, then this may be your place.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anno2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mechernich, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Dar es Salaam beaches are often neglected because the islands of Zanzibar are just in front of the door. But I tell you, that is a mistake…
During my holiday in Tanzania this summer of 2013 I had the pleasure to visit the Lighthouse Beach Resort in Dar es Salaam, a small beach resort 35kms south of the Kigamboni ferry.
With a few bungalows right on a hill towards the beach it offers the perfect place to relax from the noise of the city, to listen to the sweeping of the ocean, to taste marvelous food and to enjoy the perfect view of the surrounding nature.
The staff of the Lighthouse Beach Resort was courteous throughout my stay, all wishes could be fulfilled and the rooms were clean and pretty decorated.
It is indeed a small paradise in the south of Dar es Salaam and I am looking forward to my next visit!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndreaCordes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dar es Salaam
5.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Amani Beach
23.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard
31.4 mi away
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
#6 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
34.6 mi away
Ledger Plaza Bahari Beach Hotel
Ledger Plaza Bahari Beach Hotel
#23 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
8.0 mi away
SandRocks Lodge
SandRocks Lodge
#19 of 109 in Dar es Salaam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
17.2 mi away
Kipepeo Beach Village
Kipepeo Beach Village
#2 of 109 in Dar es Salaam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lighthouse Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lighthouse Beach Resort

Property: The Lighthouse Beach Resort
Address: Kidagaa Village, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 109 Speciality Lodging in Dar es Salaam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine wandering from your self-contained beach cottage on a lush tropical garden setting, onto a 2.5km stretch of unspoilt beach. Only 40km from the Kigamboni ferry, the Lighthouse Beach Resort is a great holiday lifestyle for families, couples, small groups and businessmen because of its location and accessibility. Come and spend your weekend or holiday at The Lighthouse Beach Resort. A short 40 km south of Kigamboni, you’ll find your "Home away from home" – our natural beach paradise. We have family bungalows and spacious double rooms, all with a good comfort!Our restaurant will give you mouth watering meals, even on the 2,5 km long white sandy beach! In the evening you’ll enjoy the sunset from our 360º roof top terrace, with ice cold refreshments and snacks before dinner. It is also ideal for tourists who don’t really want to stay in isolated beach resorts on far away islands, but still want to be near them. The resort is almost directly on the beach, with the view of the lighthouse which it is named after. Welcome for a memorable stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Lighthouse Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing