We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great family suite” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sophia House Hotel & Apartments

Sophia House Hotel & Apartments
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sophia House Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #14 of 103 Dar es Salaam B&B and Inns
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“great family suite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

If you come with a family, this is a perfect place.

We stayed in a room perfectly big, with living room, kitchen, bathroom, everything, only that you should ask for cooking utensils and the fridge is too cold that it freezes everything you don't want to.

The staff is ok, not so much smile but when you initiate a smile they could copy yours. The location is quite good and is very near to a market.

Room Tip: Good for family who want self-catering
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shuyao2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    8
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
4
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012

Sophia House is centrally located in Da es Salaam, within walking distance of restaurants and the Zanzibar ferry.

We stayed at Sophia House in June 2012 and were warmly welcomed by the manager Tawfiq and his staff. Our room was nice and clean and very reasonably priced at $45 per night. This included air-conditioning and a ceiling fan, a mini fridge, a very good hot shower, breakfast every morning, free wi-fi and free laundry service.

All the rooms also share a “common area” on each floor where we were able to sit, often using internet at the large table.

The staff were all friendly and Tawfiq was great, providing us with helpful information on Dar, places to go, where things were, arranging taxis’, etc., nothing was too much trouble.

Sophia House is excellent value in Dar and was a great place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lauren O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dar es Salaam, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

I got a friend who stayed at the Hotel for a day or two,not only due to price range,but even the food to him was homely.I have work in the hotel for some time back so i know what it takes to create that hospitality.He just called from Uganda for long running week stay again at the hotel comes October.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mombasa, Kenya
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2011

Friendly and welcoming staff, the apartments are clean and tastefully furnished, free laundry service plus location is excellent for city tour.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kevin k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2011

Sophia house is first of all great value. Rooms have good A/C, internet access, cable tv, hot water, rooms are quite spacious and there is a free laundry service. Stayed there many times because I have not found any equal in that price range. Breakfast is above average, fruits, eggs, sausage, toast, etc

Room Tip: Get a room on the first or second floor as there is no lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ishiiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
0.3 mi away
Tanzanite Executive Suites
Tanzanite Executive Suites
#8 of 103 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tiffany Diamond Hotel & Spa
Tiffany Diamond Hotel & Spa
#28 of 103 in Dar es Salaam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
9.9 mi away
Hotel White Sands - The Beach Resort
Hotel White Sands - The Beach Re...
#10 of 103 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sapphire
Hotel Sapphire
#26 of 103 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
0.3 mi away
Golden Tulip Dar City Center
Golden Tulip Dar City Center
#20 of 103 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sophia House Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sophia House Hotel & Apartments

Property: Sophia House Hotel & Apartments
Address: Bibi Titi Mohamed st, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Dar es Salaam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Jovago.com and Agoda so you can book your Sophia House Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing