We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Plus Peninsula Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$122
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sea Cliff Hotel(Dar es Salaam)
US$360
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$181
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$224
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seascape Hotel(Dar es Salaam)
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$130
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$76
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$338
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$325
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harbour View Suites(Dar es Salaam)
US$180
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$116
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$161
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$136
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western CBD Hotel(Dar es Salaam)
US$119
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$115
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (201)
Filter reviews
201 results
Traveller rating
79
94
21
6
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
79
94
21
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfuel stationnearby grocery storebusiness tripwestern hotelscouple of minor issuesbusiness hotelattached restaurantan indian restauranttv channels arepriced hotelsmoking roomclean linenground floorhotel serviceinternet connectivitybars and restaurantsoysters
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
161 - 166 of 201 reviews
Reviewed 7 December 2012 via mobile

I must admit, this is one of the finest hotels with great food and friendly staff
I love dulce and the quality of food they provide
Atlantis has a great spa and salon, a new addition
Definitely coming back
Keep it up Mr Somji

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MAMAMIA800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM A, Manager at Best Western Plus Peninsula Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2012

Thank You very much for your lovely comments ..... and definetely Atlantis kept you guessing which service is the best,

Dulce has much more to offer specially the recently introduced Cake of the Day..

with rooms you must have experienced the supersonic internet speed ,

it seems like others you too had a wonderful & enjoyable stay,

hoping to see you soon !!!!!!!!

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

First the good news this is a very new and comfortable hotel excellent large room good wifi and all the staff were friendly and helpful. Food in the restaurant was very good as was the service. The only downside is the reverberations from the adjoining night club. I had an early start for the airport 4am and the club was still going then although you cannot actually hear the music the vibrations will disturb any light sleeper.

Room Tip: Maybe you can get a room further away from the night club although I was on the top floor but maybe the wrong end of the building.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM A, Manager at Best Western Plus Peninsula Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2012

Its not we feel good when we hear good comments from the Guest , but at the same time all the feedbacks are challenging for us ,which leads us to perform more better,

good to hear your stay was comfortable and you enjoyed the food & services ,

My apology for the noise disturbance from the otherside but recently we have concluded many of the rooms windows double glazing which has drastically reduced the noise pollution,

Looking forward to welcome you again at The Atlantis Hotel.....to feel the difference ...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

I stayed at this hotel shortly after it opened, firstly we were offered about 3 different rates by 3 different people - a bit annoying. My partner enquired about a double room before I got to Dar and we got 1 price, when I went to check in the lady then said that was the single price and the double price was a different amount. When my partner arrived he went to enquire again and another lady said she would give a better rate, the following morning the other lady was there and said she could not do that rate but a slightly higher rate but less than the rate she offered us - wish we had just paid the night before! Frustrating but we got it sorted eventually.

I had also just received my new credit card which living in East Africa is a mission to get from the UK. I only used it at Atlantis to pay for my accommodation and 3 days later when I was in Zanzibar saw activity on my card in Dar es Salaam - not even a week old and I had to cancel and cut my card up!!! Beware and DO NOT let your card out of your site!

The service in general was not friendly or welcoming, when you go to your room you have an A4 paper that says "Rules of the Hotel". The hotel is also located behind a petrol station and next to a big nightclub, some real dodgey guys around in the middle of the night.

On the whole, there were other incidents which only came to light upon checkout which just made this experience even worse AND had I known this I would not have extended the last night which I did out of mere convenience than packing up and moving somewhere else for the last night. There is a slimey feeling about this place and as I run a top end lodge the place is definitely not well managed.

The food at Dolce was great but I would never return to this hotel or its restaurant ever again nor would I recommend it, infact quite the opposite.

Room Tip: Better value for money and service orientated hotels to stay at in Dar.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AfricanDayDreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM A, Manager at Best Western Plus Peninsula Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2012

Firstly , i would like to thank you for coming back to us after a long period of time but at the same time would like to welcome you again to feel the difference and changes ,

Its true the rate differs according to the occupancy and season but doesn't exceed the rack rate of the hotel,
we never came across the incident of theft or fraud with our guest , nor any such incidents were reported to us.

the rules to let some of the guest aware of their responsibilities while enjoying their stay,

despite your bitter experience you rated us service orientated and better value for money

My apology for the overall experience at the same time assuring all time good service and money's worth.

Looking forward to welcome you again with the new management team !!!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2012

It's close to a nice beach, but it's still a drive. The food is nothing to write home about. The rooms are big and err roomy. Stay on the nightclub side at your peril - it will totally ruin your night's sleep.

Room Tip: Avoid the nightclub side
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rexlombardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM A, Manager at Best Western Plus Peninsula Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2012

the location of the hotel is the perfect place to stay in dar es salaam , very convienient to the business district and leisure place ,

my apology for the disturbance through the neighbouring night club, which is the news of the past as all the rooms doors are double glazed to minimize the noise pollution to an extend ,

Hope you have liked the Dulce Duo at the Dulce Restaurant

hoping to see you soon !!!!!!!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

I initially wanted to stay at the Hilton but I'm glad i stayed at Atlantis. The rooms are spacious and nicely furnished. The Internet is fast and the food is fantastic. What else do you need on a business trip.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM A, Manager at Best Western Plus Peninsula Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2012

We still strive hard and try harder for Guest satisfaction and comfort ,

Thank you very much for your fantastic comments , we do not compare ourselves with others but are the best within us and work harder to be consistent and give the same service throughout,

A perfect place for business travellers and leisure ,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews