We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Best Western Plus Peninsula Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Best Western Plus Peninsula Hotel
Ranked #11 of 103 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Certificate of Excellence
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

A very god value hotel in Dar es Salaam. Good service, incredibly spacious rooms and the comfiest beds. Breakfasts are also very good and a packed option is also available for early departures. Wifi is so so but manages most things.

Room Tip: Stay off the third floor if its raining
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank malaika1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM A, Manager at Best Western Plus Peninsula Hotel, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Thank you very much Malika for letting your precious time and writing about Atlantis and your experience during your stay,

we are proud of giving consistent quality service to all our cleints whilst their stay at our hotel ,

complimentary WIFI,spacious room, quality beddings, vast varieties of menu , Spa & Salon ,spacious parking ,modern security system, topclass service makes us stand apart from others.

your home away from HOME!!!!!!

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    67
    19
    5
    1
See reviews for
9
10
12
104
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
340 reviews
326 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 321 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

The Atlantis hotel was a great spot for our short stay in Dar. The location is reasonably good, in Oyster Bay about 800m from Coco Beach. The rooms in this hotel are very spacious and airy and this really sets it apart from its competitors. They are also very clean, well-maintained, and smartly furnished, including a big TV with a great selection of channels. The bathroom and shower were large as well and there was a good supply of hot water. We had a great sleep here and didn’t experience any road noise or nightclub music. There was free Wifi at reasonable speed, a nice bonus, and something we always check on before booking a hotel- no free Wifi, no stay.

The fitness center was quite small and underequipped, just a few pieces of cardio gear and a very poor quality multigym. This gym is in real need of an upgrade. One of the highlights of the hotel however was the attached restaurant called Dulce. They have an extensive menu and some very tasty treats. We really enjoyed trying the different selections on the menu and would recommend this restaurant as one of the better ones in the area.

Overall we had a great stay here and found this hotel to be one of the better value hotels in the area. We would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to other travelers.

Room Tip: Request room away from the nightclub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DanO68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM A, Manager at Best Western Plus Peninsula Hotel, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Tired of Tiny rooms ?????? try Atlantis Hotel 40 sqmtrs

Thank you very much for your fantastic reveiws , and above all coming from someone who visited almost all the cities in the world, made my day & the whole hotel staff.

Free Wifi is an added advantage to al the guest ,will convey the message to inhouse Chef Aivan for the quality food service, considering a boutique we tried to keep small and unique but will surely look into all the Gym equipments and their services regularly,

hoping to see you soon !!!!!!

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

I have been a regular at Atlantis from the day the hotel opened its doors.
The rooms are very spacious, the staff are great in the front office, Restaurant, and rooms.
The internet is fast and reliable.
The breakfast used to be the best especially the omellete. This has however had a downward trend. You hardly enjoy anymore.
The food/menu is not extensive and you dont get lots of African dishes.
Neighbourhood is ok though a bit noisy over the weekends when Maisha club next door comes to life.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM A, General Manager at Best Western Plus Peninsula Hotel, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Glad to know you enjoyed your stay on your business trip as usual , we cater different market and clientele so it not only becomes difficult to get all the choices on the same floor by different religions,caste & culture ,at the same time we ensure all the Guest needs are considered by our chef ,

We are definitely proud of our spacious rooms & hign standard services which makes our Guest feels at Home always ,

looking for ward to see you again ,

Management,,,,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

I stayed a couple of times since May and i must say that hotel has
1.Good spacious rooms,
2.Very comfortable Beds,
3.Nice sofa set to lounge around.
4.The wifi is very strong and assists fast browsing.
5.There is a coffee kettle with adequate Coffee, Tea, Sugar sachets.
6.The bath room though spacious let me down a bit.
7.All the rooms are NON smoking so smokers will have to smoke in the Balcony.
8.A Night Club called Maisha is next door as is a Supermarket.
9. Ample car parking space.
10.There is a restaurant called Cafe Dolce with a very limited Menu.Specially for a Vegetarian Indian like me.
11.The staff of the hotel well trained and polite.
12. No Bar to drink and the kitchen has nothing for the late nighters.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms away from Main road where vehicles pass all through night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Viceroy4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM A, Manager at Best Western Plus Peninsula Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Thank you very much for your comments , the more we know from our guest , the more we get to improve and provide exceptional services ....

perhaps ,we shall be letting all our guest know all the new promotions and changes the hotel implement in near future,

Hoping to see you soon in near future ....

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

My business trip was extended and I needed to stay on longer. The reception staff were having a hard time finding space for me to stay on. I then called hotel manager Louis D'Costa. My problem was fixed in an instant. This really made my business stay much easier. I am very happy with this level of service!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM A, Manager at Best Western Plus Peninsula Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
Stay Extensions at the time when the whole city is sold out , a difficult situation to deal with ,

glad to know you enjoyed the hospitality and the services which made you feel at home,

Hoping to see you soon in near future as agreed ,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

I stayed here for a week whilst on business in Dar es Salaam. The room was very spacious but the shower did let it down somewhat. The menu in the restaurant is not very extensive but adequate. There is a night club next door and my room was on top of it (103) the room was changed without fuss the next morning , hence choose your room as if you are the wrong end of the building you will require ear plugs. There is not a bar in the hotel but you can order a drink in the restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor_PGuildford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM A, Manager at Best Western Plus Peninsula Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Dear Trevor,

Thank you very much for the comments , the rooms are uncomparable and are of high standards , yes its true some of the rooms do have the fallout , but in near future will be sorted out,

hope you stay was enjoyable except the one glitch and we look forward to see you again

Management....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

The Atlantis Hotel in Dar es Salaam has very nice décor and well furnished rooms. The main negative is that there is no Bar, or any facilities to purchase drinks or snacks after 22h00. This hotel is best suited to short stays.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DerekReid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM A, Manager at Best Western Plus Peninsula Hotel, responded to this review, 18 April 2013
Dear Derek,

Please accept my apology for the inconvienience caused during your stay , due to hotel policy we do cater drinks & snacks at the restaurant until 22 :00 Hrs ,

we are in the process to extend the timings 24*7 through roomm service ....

"A smart choice for Business Stay"

Hoping to see you soon !!!!!!

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
2.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard
1.9 mi away
Best Western Coral Beach Hotel
Best Western Coral Beach Hotel
#13 of 103 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
#5 of 103 in Dar es Salaam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
3.4 mi away
Tanzanite Executive Suites
Tanzanite Executive Suites
#8 of 103 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Slipway
Hotel Slipway
#14 of 103 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Peninsula Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Peninsula Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Peninsula Hotel
Address: 4 and 6 Haile Salassie Road | Oyster Bay, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania (Formerly Atlantis Hotel)
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 103 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Peninsula Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“Modern Comfort, Convenience, Safety” Located off the main road in the affluent Msasani Peninsula area of Dar Es Salaam, the Best Western Plus Peninsula Hotel is perfect for business and social gatherings with 45 contemporary and spacious bedrooms and suites with private outdoor balconies. The hotel mixes modern art deco with a touch of local Tanzanian flair and includes a full service Restaurant, Bar/Coffee Shop, Meeting/Conference facilities, a Fitness Center and stay connected with complimentary HI-Speed Internet. A preferred choice of many diplomatic agencies and NGOs, the hotel is conveniently located to many Offices, Local Shops, Restaurants, and Night Life, yet provides a safe and comfortable retreat. Awarded a TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence (2016), our team is dedicated to ensuring you have a memorable stay in Dar es Salaam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS and TravelUp so you can book your Best Western Plus Peninsula Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing