We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Peninsula Hotel
Ranked #12 of 101 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

I stayed here for 6 nights, and was very much impressed by the size of the room and excellent new management. though initially the room I stayed in was noisy at night as there is a huge discotheque next to the hotel, but management( Mr. Sheikh) was kind enough to shift me to a quite room. The hotel being located at the center point of oysterbay area, I could go my office without any traffic jams, the beds very comfortable, restaurant is good but limited bar and food menus, Mr. Sheikh is an great asset to the new management and is very helpful to the guest available any time of the day and night.
On my next visit definitely I will stay at Atlantis Hotel name changed to Peninsula Hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for Parking side rooms as those rooms are quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank norbrt j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Formula10TZ, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Peninsula Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Sir,
thank you very much for your feedback - we appreciate your comment and the fact that you enjoyed your stay with us.
as the new Management we look forward welcoming you back.
Kind regards
Hans j Heuer
Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    70
    19
    5
    1
See reviews for
9
10
12
107
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

A friend of mine was flying in, hadn't booked a hotel and needed one urgently. I come here quite a lot; however, to eat at the restaurant only. At last, i decided to book him into this hotel.
If you want a big room, this is the hotel for you. I can only describe it in three words: Immaculate, immense and stylish. I mean a lot of hotel rooms are usually crowded and cramped- even 5 star ones might not be this spacious! In terms of location, this hotel is right next to a club and situated in Masaki- a posh urban area filled with lots of bars, clubs and restaurants. If you are expecting a pool and the beach as your outside view, this is not the hotel for you. I would say this is a downside to the hotel personally.

The service delivered was astute and professional.

The dining area is designed so well with these deep, beautiful colors of purple and a light grey with a touch of oak furniture. It is honestly so pretty. However, for those who have travelled or visited this hotel before, they have a new management so things aren't as fluid and the menu isn't exactly the same. Like I ordered iced coffee but I got something entirely different. They apologized profusely and explained it to me kindly that their management had changed. Nevertheless, it's a great hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Formula10TZ, Group Operations Director at BEST WESTERN PLUS Peninsula Hotel, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Madam,
thank you for your review. As indeed we have taken over the hotel and some changes are being implemented unfortunately a small little mistake can happen in the process; I appreciate your understanding and am looking forward welcoming you back. On your return you will notice all the improvements we are currently busy with and I am sure you will enjoy it tremendously.
Warm regards
Hans J Heuer
Group Operations Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilindoni, Pwani, Tanzania
Level Contributor
66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

My partner and I are based on Mafia island and have stayed here a couple of times as a luxury option when we are on business in Dar es Salaam.

First of all - the rooms! We have stayed in two different room categories and were astonished at the size! The beds are also some of the most comfortable we have every slept in, didn't want to get up in the morning!

Flatscreen tv, mini fridge and tea and coffee facilities are available in the room and 24 hours reception service. Our AC stopped working in the early hours of the morning and we were really impressed with the quick to action receptionist who came up and sorted the problem within 20 minutes which was greatly appreciated.

The hotel does not have a very enticing view but offers some top notch comfort!

We didn't eat in the restaurant for dinner but did find the breakfast to be lovely and the place itself to be quite comfortable.

My only recommendation to the hotel would be to get a bar in house!

All in all, a great experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danii K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Formula10TZ, Group General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Peninsula Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Sir and Madam,
thank you very much for your detailed review - we truly appreciate your feedback.
Effective 1st May, Dulce Cafe will be changed - we are sure you will enjoy the changes.
warm regards
Hans J Heuer
Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
65 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights and overall was very impressed. By European/US standards it is not a boutique hotel, being decorated in slightly glitzy style, with the dark wood making it look a bit dated. However the hotel does not show the "tattered round the edges" signs so many Dar hotels have.

Location is central to Oyster Bay, and in rush hour the road into town is heaving. Other hotels in Oyster Bay have pools and nice grounds, which the Atlantis lacks, so if I was staying for a weekend that might be an issue.

Check in (after midnight) was ok, but slow and quite "Tanzanian" i.e. lots of forms to be filled in, and being asked to pay in full for 3 days and then getting a receipt printed taking an age.

Rooms are HUGE.... A big very firm bed (suited me perfectly) with good quality sheets etc. Aircon very effective, but even at lowest speed was quite noisy. My room was at the back and no night club noise (Mon to Thurs). Rooms each have a router but the internet cut off a couple of times. The porter came to look and made serious efforts to resolve it and even lent me a LAN cable - none of the usual pretence of knowing what he was doing, he actually seemed to know.

Rooms and hotel are immaculately clean.

Cafe Dulce is not a stylish as some reviews say, but very acceptable. Breakfast buffet was good but not outstanding. What was good was quick and responsive service, with coffee arriving fast and
exactly as ordered. I had lunch one day which was an adequate sandwich.

In summary good location (800m from beach) but better options exist with nice grounds. Huge rooms, immaculately clean and well maintained. All the staff except the night receptionist seemed very switched on and well trained.

Will be back if in Dar, although I might go elsewhere if staying over a weekend

Room Tip: At the back to avoid the possible nightclub noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmccuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM A, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Peninsula Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
we are glad to know you have enjoyed your stay with us ,thanks to all your inputs and leting us know where to switch on ,

the hotel follows the policy of advance payment or 100% deposit at the time of checkin ,due to many uncomfortable bad experience in the past,

Clean & spacious rooms , friendly staff ,good food that says it all , we shall be more than pleased to welcome you back at Atlantis,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

A very god value hotel in Dar es Salaam. Good service, incredibly spacious rooms and the comfiest beds. Breakfasts are also very good and a packed option is also available for early departures. Wifi is so so but manages most things.

Room Tip: Stay off the third floor if its raining
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malaika1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM A, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Peninsula Hotel, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Thank you very much Malika for letting your precious time and writing about Atlantis and your experience during your stay,

we are proud of giving consistent quality service to all our cleints whilst their stay at our hotel ,

complimentary WIFI,spacious room, quality beddings, vast varieties of menu , Spa & Salon ,spacious parking ,modern security system, topclass service makes us stand apart from others.

your home away from HOME!!!!!!

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
343 reviews
329 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 325 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

The Atlantis hotel was a great spot for our short stay in Dar. The location is reasonably good, in Oyster Bay about 800m from Coco Beach. The rooms in this hotel are very spacious and airy and this really sets it apart from its competitors. They are also very clean, well-maintained, and smartly furnished, including a big TV with a great selection of channels. The bathroom and shower were large as well and there was a good supply of hot water. We had a great sleep here and didn’t experience any road noise or nightclub music. There was free Wifi at reasonable speed, a nice bonus, and something we always check on before booking a hotel- no free Wifi, no stay.

The fitness center was quite small and underequipped, just a few pieces of cardio gear and a very poor quality multigym. This gym is in real need of an upgrade. One of the highlights of the hotel however was the attached restaurant called Dulce. They have an extensive menu and some very tasty treats. We really enjoyed trying the different selections on the menu and would recommend this restaurant as one of the better ones in the area.

Overall we had a great stay here and found this hotel to be one of the better value hotels in the area. We would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to other travelers.

Room Tip: Request room away from the nightclub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanO68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM A, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Peninsula Hotel, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Tired of Tiny rooms ?????? try Atlantis Hotel 40 sqmtrs

Thank you very much for your fantastic reveiws , and above all coming from someone who visited almost all the cities in the world, made my day & the whole hotel staff.

Free Wifi is an added advantage to al the guest ,will convey the message to inhouse Chef Aivan for the quality food service, considering a boutique we tried to keep small and unique but will surely look into all the Gym equipments and their services regularly,

hoping to see you soon !!!!!!

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

I have been a regular at Atlantis from the day the hotel opened its doors.
The rooms are very spacious, the staff are great in the front office, Restaurant, and rooms.
The internet is fast and reliable.
The breakfast used to be the best especially the omellete. This has however had a downward trend. You hardly enjoy anymore.
The food/menu is not extensive and you dont get lots of African dishes.
Neighbourhood is ok though a bit noisy over the weekends when Maisha club next door comes to life.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM A, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Peninsula Hotel, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Glad to know you enjoyed your stay on your business trip as usual , we cater different market and clientele so it not only becomes difficult to get all the choices on the same floor by different religions,caste & culture ,at the same time we ensure all the Guest needs are considered by our chef ,

We are definitely proud of our spacious rooms & hign standard services which makes our Guest feels at Home always ,

looking for ward to see you again ,

Management,,,,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
2.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay
2.0 mi away
Best Western Coral Beach Hotel
Best Western Coral Beach Hotel
#11 of 101 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Slipway
Hotel Slipway
#15 of 101 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
3.2 mi away
Ramada Encore Dar Es Salaam
Ramada Encore Dar Es Salaam
#9 of 101 in Dar es Salaam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
6.2 mi away
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
#6 of 101 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Peninsula Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Peninsula Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Peninsula Hotel
Address: 4 and 6 Haile Salassie Road | Oyster Bay, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania (Formerly Atlantis Hotel)
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 101 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Peninsula Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“Modern Comfort, Convenience, Safety” Located off the main road in the affluent Msasani Peninsula area of Dar Es Salaam, the Best Western Plus Peninsula Hotel is perfect for business and social gatherings with 45 contemporary and spacious bedrooms and suites with private outdoor balconies. The hotel mixes modern art deco with a touch of local Tanzanian flair and includes a full service Restaurant, Bar/Coffee Shop, Meeting/Conference facilities, a Fitness Center and stay connected with complimentary HI-Speed Internet. A preferred choice of many diplomatic agencies and NGOs, the hotel is conveniently located to many Offices, Local Shops, Restaurants, and Night Life, yet provides a safe and comfortable retreat. Awarded a TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence (2016), our team is dedicated to ensuring you have a memorable stay in Dar es Salaam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Peninsula Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing