We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, great location”
Review of Karambezi Cafe

Karambezi Cafe
Ranked #1 of 312 Restaurants in Dar es Salaam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$50
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Seafood, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, View
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: For more than 15 years the Karambezi Cafe has been serving the East African coast with fine seafood and continental dishes. Travel to Dar es Salaam and one of our thousands of friends will say "You have to go to the Karambezi". Our restaurant evolves and changes daily and through time. Come for a luxurious buffet breakfast from 6 am daily to a cocktail served whilst you overlook the Indian Ocean and dine on an Admirals Platter. Karambezi Cafe....Come Home....
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good food, great location”
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

Awesome location, a must do in Dar. Food was good enough and prices acceptable. Based on the Peninsula, so a fair distance, with bad traffic at the end of the day if coming from the city.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kimbostoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    222
    63
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice View,good food.”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

I live in Dar es salaam and i have been here once,the food is great,good service.Nice setting too.The view and the good food is what makes me say i'm definitely going to return :)

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eb0nyPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Let the good times roll!!”
Reviewed 27 February 2014

What a coveted haven where good mates meet for great food in a beautiful atmosphere where the friendliness and service compete to match the quality and value for money. The outside open dining area is situated on the edge of a cliff with only a glass panel seperating you from the turqoise ocean lashing against the rocky cliff to provide the perfect audio to the pleasant ambience. I try to go there each time I'm in Dar and had many a jovial outing at this restaurant. Pictures taken during previous visits!

For a great time, come to a great place!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Crixxus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Great views”
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Good restaurant with a decent range of foods and a good bar. Service is usually, if not always, pretty good.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheRunawayFound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“NICE PLACE IN DAR”
Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

I had a very pleasant time at the cafe, cappuccino was soo amazing, staffs were friendly and smiling the whole time!
Hope 'll visit soon.....

Helpful?
Thank Senior S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Karambezi Cafe also viewed

Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
 
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
 

Been to Karambezi Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing