We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Business Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Southern Sun Dar es Salaam
Ranked #2 of 97 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 April 2012

This is a modern-style Business-like Hotel in the city centre of Dar. It is well-situated in the vicinity of the state house and Ocean Road. The Dar harbor, Kilimanjaro Hotel etc. are easily reached by foot. This is a safe area. The hotel itself is quite new. It has a decent pool for a short swim in the afternoon. The rooms are small but clean and modern. Bathrooms are good. As the building is tower-shaped and tall, you have a nice view over the city and the shore. The only disadvantage is the Restaurant. It has no atmosphere at all and you could well feel like in a Sacramento Burger King. The breakfast is superb, though! You won't know what to eat first. Overall, a good City/Business Hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bernard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdamGMSouthernSunDSM, General Manager at Southern Sun Dar es Salaam, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2012

Dear BernardC
I appreciate your comments and glad you enjoyed your stay with us! Sorry that Baraza didnt do it for you but delighted that you enjoyed breakfast!
Cheers
Adam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (718)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

548 - 554 of 718 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2012

We needed a place to get a good night sleep after arriving from the US after 30 hours of travel and then having to go to Zanzibar the next morning. The Southern Sun room was comfortable and well air conditioned and the staff was quite friendly. The breakfast was tasty and Adam arranged for us to be picked up at the airport and dropped off the next morning. We did not venture out at all from the hotel, but Dar looks like it has some very well off spots and some that need work. Fortunately, the Southern Sun was well maintained and felt very safe. Thanks for making our stay a success!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happytravels18_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdamGMSouthernSunDSM, General Manager at Southern Sun Dar es Salaam, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2012

Dear Happytravels 18_11
Thanks for your feedback I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope the rest of your Tanzanian adventure was fun!
Karibu Tena
Adam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Last stayed here in 2003, when it was known as the Holiday Inn, and have just been a guest for a week on a business trip.

The rooms are good and was always clean and the bed was really comfortable as were the pillows. The wifi can be a little erratic but that is the case almost anywhere in Dar es Salaam and the level of service from the staff was high in comparison to the poor service at other hotels in Dar.

The real bonus of staying at the Southern Sun is the buffet breakfast which is of a high quality and availiable until 1pm at the weekend.

i hope it will be less than 9 years before my next visit!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suttonslob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdamGMSouthernSunDSM, General Manager at Southern Sun Dar es Salaam, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2012

Dear Suttonslob, Thanks for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor. I am delighted that you had such a good stay! You are correct about the wifi and connectivity. It is, however getting better all the time as more fibreoptic cables feed into Tanzania. We have recently added a satelite link that should give us better cover for the times the fibre link goes down.
Hope we see you again soon
Best Wishes
Adam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We had an over night lay over and our tour company suggested this hotel. I was expecting a run down hotel but to my surprise it was nice and clean. The staff was friendly. The area around is a bit run down so I wouldnt suggest walking around by yourself at night if you are a tourist. We walked around had some suspect people eyeing us. We put all our cell phones in our front pockets. If you walk the area just use common sense.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MisterPham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdamGMSouthernSunDSM, General Manager at Southern Sun Dar es Salaam, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2012

Dear Kingdin,
Thanks for posting your comments and I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. As you noted, we dont reccomend walking around on your own at night, pretty much like most Cities in this part of the world. Its a pity you were not able to stay longer, we are actually situated in an historic part of town with some very intresting places to see, from State House to the Ocean Road Hospital and of course our neigbouring Botanical Gardens. Hope that we get to welcome you back soon!
Cheers
Adam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Stayed 1 night 15 February 2012 - all staff friendly even the ones serving breakfast in the restaurant at 4 a.m. They provide early breakfast for those wishing to catch the 0600 SAA flight to J'burg. A power surge and loss of electricity caused huge problems which the staff dealt with professionally and the noisy generator kicked in. Better noise than no power. Dinner was very good and excellent value.

Room Tip: Check your bill on check out. The first bill was over US$600 but was corrected to US$65. Easy to o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TimPamRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdamGMSouthernSunDSM, General Manager at Southern Sun Dar es Salaam, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2012

Dear Tim Pam Ray
Thanks for taking the time to post your comments here! My team is delighted that you enjoyed your stay, despite the power cuts. We will be adding more generating capacity in the coming weeks so as to provide even more redundancy,and we will also be soundproofing both gensets. Once again many thanks for your kind words.
Best Wishes
Adam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

It is easy to run a hotel if everything goes right. It is mastery when things go wrong.
25th Feb we appeared in Southern Sun Dar es Salaam and we were supprised by the staff professionalism.
A week before we had had a car accident near Mbeya. We were evacuated to Europe via Dar es Salaam. Our incurance company did not predict we were going to spend 12 hours in Dar airport. A very nice Southern Sun manager (unfortunately I don't know his name) sent a taxi to pick us up from the airport and let us kill the time using hotel's facilities. In the evening he offered us possibility to refresh and rest before our journey in one of the rooms for free.
Thank you so much! God bless you!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sylwia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdamGMSouthernSunDSM, General Manager at Southern Sun Dar es Salaam, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2012

Dear SylwiaJ
Thanks for taking the time to post your experience here on Trip. I hope you al got home safely. I am dleighted we were able to assist you and ease what cant have been a very pleasant time.
Best Wishes

Adam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Very nice rooms with all mod cons and wifi. Very good buffet lunch, but poor coffee at an extra charge!

Room Tip: Higher up gets quieter, and a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mooes747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdamGMSouthernSunDSM, General Manager at Southern Sun Dar es Salaam, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2012

Dear Mooes747! Thanks for your review, My team and I are delighted that you had a great stay. I am sorry about the coffee though. We use an especially selected Arabica Blend from the Mbeya Region in the coffee growing centre of Tanzania. Perhaps our coffee maker got the brew wrong, because it should be excellent, as Tanzanian Arabica should be!

Keep well and hope to see you again soon

Adam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro
1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard
5 mi away
Sea Cliff Hotel
Sea Cliff Hotel
#4 of 97 in Dar es Salaam
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay
9.4 mi away
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
#8 of 97 in Dar es Salaam
372 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dar es Salaam Serena Hotel
Dar es Salaam Serena Hotel
#7 of 97 in Dar es Salaam
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Dar es Salaam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Dar es Salaam

Address: 1 Garden Avenue | PO Box 80022, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#2 Luxury Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#3 Business Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#5 Romantic Hotel in Dar es Salaam
Price Range: £141 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Dar es Salaam 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southern Sun Dar-Es-Salaam offers the best of all worlds with excellent facilities and within walking distance of the city centre. It is situated in a quiet part of town, close to the sea, next door to the Botanical Gardens and numerous diplomatic missions. The Hotel was recently awarded Silver status by the Heritage Environmental rating program in recognition of our commitment to reducing the Hotels environmental impact. A free Wi-Fi service is offered throughout the building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Southern Sun Dar es Salaam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Dar Es Salaam Hotel Dar Es Salaam
Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing