We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very pleasant hotel - lovely staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Southern Sun Dar es Salaam
Ranked #3 of 101 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Certificate of Excellence
St Peter Port, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very pleasant hotel - lovely staff”
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Smart hotel in a relatively quiet area of the city. Very friendly staff and good service in the bar and restaurant. Prices for food and drink are very reasonable compared with UK hotel prices. The food was good, high quality and very tasty. A fair range of choice for most tastes. The bar and restaurant area are well laid out and there is a large outside terrace with plenty of chairs and tables for al fresco dining. Breakfast was extensive with fresh coconuts & a straw for the more adventurous.
There is an outside swimming pool which is over-looked by the bar/terrace area - it looked clean but we didn't try it out.
There is free WIFI throughout the hotel which appears to be reliable and of a high speed.
Good choice of TV channels.
On the first night I was chilly in bed, even with the aircon turned off, but a blanket was produced as soon as I mentioned this, so no complaint there. The bed & pllows are very comfortable and the rooms very clean with bathroom restocked with soaps etc. each morning.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdamGMSouthernSunDSM, General Manager at Southern Sun Dar es Salaam, responded to this review, 20 August 2012
Dear Caroline M
Thanks for your thoughtful and accurate review! I am delighted that you had such a good stay and enjoyed my teams service. I hope it wont be too long before we are able to welcome you back again!

Best Wishes
Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    323
    65
    9
    6
See reviews for
50
112
41
393
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ouderkerk aan de Amstel, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
86 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for three nights, with our two families (8 people). Nice and pleasant hotel in a quite neighbourhood. Clean rooms with all amenities, friendly (but little slow) staff, great breakfast. Ambiance is nice, diner in the restaurant is OK, but nothing special. Wine list is extensive. Pool-area is great to relax at the end of a day walking in Dar, though unfortunately on the shady side of the hotel in the afternoon. Would definitely recommend this place

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Diederik_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdamGMSouthernSunDSM, General Manager at Southern Sun Dar es Salaam, responded to this review, 20 August 2012
Hi Diederik_G
Thanks for your kind words! I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us! Sorry about the shady pool, though has it hots up here in Dar the Shade becomes a blessing!

All the best
Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
135 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

The location of the hotel is good and staff were friendly. We ate dinner at the hotel near the pool, the service, wine and chicken were delicious. Not the best but a good hotel, you could ask for quick city tour from the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank myserdar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdamGMSouthernSunDSM, General Manager at Southern Sun Dar es Salaam, responded to this review, 20 August 2012
Dear myserdar
Thanks for your feedback, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Whilst we do not pretend to be the best 5* hotel in town we do like to think we are up there, we are small enough to be able to offer personalized service and not so big that our guests become numbers.
I hope we have the chance to welcome you back again soon!
Best Wishes
Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012

I haven't stayed in Southern Sun because I am a resident in Dar, however I frequent the hotel because the food and ambience is really really good. The Baraza restaurant is small and cozy with a section where you can sit in an informal setting (on a sofa like structure). There is outside sitting by the pool as well which is really nice to enjoy a lazy afternoon meal. The menu has a good variety and meals are very well prepared. There is also ample secure parking.

Room Tip: Sit outside by the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AMigwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdamGMSouthernSunDSM, General Manager at Southern Sun Dar es Salaam, responded to this review, 20 August 2012
Dear Amigwi
Thanks for taking the time to review us! I am delighted that you enjoy Baraza, we have a new Chef now, Joe and he is busy tweaking our menu, so keep an eye open and Karibu Tena
Cheers
Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
92 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Stayed at this hotel a few years ago. Well maintained and the service is good but did not like their food. Good free Internet and welcome fruit basket with wine. Service was also good, though when I ordered room service dinner, it came covered in a contraption the size of a house. Would certainly return.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wema34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdamGMSouthernSunDSM, General Manager at Southern Sun Dar es Salaam, responded to this review, 3 August 2012
Dear Mikel
Thanks for your feedback, I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us! Whilst we are located very convieniently for business, we have found that transit tourists on their way to Zanzi or the parks also find our location spot on for the Airport and Ferry terminals.
Hope we have a chance to welcome you back soon!

Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

The Southern Sun is conveniently located near the downtown/business district. The rooms, cuisine and styling will be familiar to Western tastes. Very similar to most mid-range U.S. hotel chains, with a much friendlier staff - The former Holiday Inn roots are still visible.
We'd recommend the Sun to business travelers, but suggest that vacationers consider places closer to tourist-y attractions, as driving from the Sun to most places, through Dar's traffic can be hellish.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdamGMSouthernSunDSM, General Manager at Southern Sun Dar es Salaam, responded to this review, 20 August 2012
Dear Mike L
Thanks for your feedback! Apologies for my late reply, I see an earlier response was never posted. I think we continue to be the Hotel of choice for business travelers because of our great location downtown in the Botanical gardens, and our team certainly has fine tuned their service for this market. We have also found that we are ideally located for travelers en-route to Tanzania's Parks and Beach resorts by nature of our quick access to the Harbor and Airport. But you are right in that the traffic is a night mare especially for those who might want to travel north wards to Bagamoyo.
Hope we get to see you again soon!
Best Wishes
Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cehegin, Spain
Level Contributor
134 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

This was my first visit to Dar Es Salaam but not to Tsogo Sun Group hotels. The hotel maintained my impression of the group. Nice greeting at reception on arrival, especially the welcome drink. We were also provided with a cold bottle of water whilst waiting to book in which was most welcome.

Breakfast room can be quite busy at peak times however the choice was good and the staff very attentive. Barbara restaurant was ok, my colleague spent some time choosing from the menu only to find out the dish he chose was not available. Quite nice to sit out by the pool of the weather is ok. However some of the staff seemed to be unsure of what was available and maybe service level could be improved a little

Rooms are small but have everything you need, corridors and general hotel appearance is getting a little grubby now but not anything that would deter you from staying. Bedrooms had all the usual amenities and also a small tray of pastries and grit which was nice.

Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Southern Sun Dar es Salaam, responded to this review, 13 July 2012
Dear Bob H
Thanks for your review! I do appreciate the feedback and am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us! Noted your comments about the staff on the Terrace with thanks! Tyrone will certainly focus more attention out there. Ditto for grubby walls, should not be and our maintenance team is constantly on the move painting!

Hope we get to welcome you back soon
Regards
Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro
1.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard
4.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Tanzanite Executive Suites
Tanzanite Executive Suites
#8 of 101 in Dar es Salaam
646 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dar es Salaam Serena Hotel
Dar es Salaam Serena Hotel
#7 of 101 in Dar es Salaam
592 reviews
9.4 mi away
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
#6 of 101 in Dar es Salaam
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Dar es Salaam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Dar es Salaam

Property: Southern Sun Dar es Salaam
Address: 1 Garden Avenue | PO Box 80022, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#2 Luxury Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#3 Business Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#5 Romantic Hotel in Dar es Salaam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Dar es Salaam 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southern Sun Dar-Es-Salaam offers the best of all worlds with excellent facilities and within walking distance of the city centre. It is situated in a quiet part of town, close to the sea, next door to the Botanical Gardens and numerous diplomatic missions. The Hotel was recently awarded Silver status by the Heritage Environmental rating program in recognition of our commitment to reducing the Hotels environmental impact. A free Wi-Fi service is offered throughout the building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Southern Sun Dar es Salaam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Dar Es Salaam Hotel Dar Es Salaam
Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing