We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very friendly well run hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Southern Sun Dar es Salaam
Ranked #2 of 95 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A very friendly well run hotel”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

I stayed at Southern Sun twice during March for a total of 6 nights. It was recommended by a colleague who travels throughout East Africa.
The attitude and professionalism of all the staff was excellent . The senior management are around the hotel checking and keeping on top of the operation. The food was good with interesting menu.
The rooms are getting a little tired but are very clean and well serviced.
Highly recommend this hotel to anyone calling thru Dar

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank ponsonbypete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdamGMSouthernSunDSM, General Manager at Southern Sun Dar es Salaam, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Dear Ponsonbypete
Thanks for taking the time to review our Hotel, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us! We are planning a refurbishment soon just to make sure that we stay on top. I hope it wont be too long before we are able to welcome you back!
Happy Travels
Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    250
    325
    66
    9
    6
See reviews for
51
112
41
397
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
hillsborough, north carolina, usa
Level Contributor
153 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We were greeted with water and a fruit juice upon entering the hotel lobby. Wow!! Rooms were immaculate and food was delicious. The wait staff were extremely friendly and cordial. Offering a day rate is so helpful to those who have late evening flights. This was perfect. And close to the shore to take a short stroll. Will highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jfran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdamGMSouthernSunDSM, General Manager at Southern Sun Dar es Salaam, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Hi jfran!
Thank you both for your kind post here, and I hope that the rest of your Tanzanian adventure was just as memorable. I am glad that you ventured out to have a look at the Shore next door!
I hope it wont be too long before we are able to welcome you back with another welcoming juice!
Best Wishes and Happy Travels
Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Was in Dar for a week and was put into the Southern Sun. Nice location and easy to get to although the traffic in Dar is a bit much at times. Great pool and great staff who were always keen to assist.

Room is nice size and well maintained. There is a nice little supermarket about 5 mins walk if you need anything. Overall a very nice place to stay in Dar, will be on my preferred list when visiting again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiNedNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdamGMSouthernSunDSM, General Manager at Southern Sun Dar es Salaam, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear KiwiNedNZ,
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, and thanks very much for your feedback. Sorry about the traffic, if its any solace you are lucky to have missed the rain!.

I hope and look forward to your return soon
Best Wishes
Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iringa, Tanzania
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Best hotel for overnight stays on my trips. Breakfast at 4am!! Best service in Dar :) The restaurant is warm and comfortable and the air-conditioning is always very natural. Best experience in Tanzania.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Neels R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdamGMSouthernSunDSM, General Manager at Southern Sun Dar es Salaam, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear NeelsR!
Thank you SO much for your great feedback, I am delighted that you continue to chose us especially given the choice here in Dar. The early breakfasts (and they end later as well) do give guests like yourself the opportunity to re nourish before heading out. Our team does try very hard to make each of our guests feel at home and enjoy a hassle free stay. Glad it worked for you!
Best Wishes
Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dar Es Salaam
1 review
Reviewed 24 February 2014

My wife and I had a wonderful time at the Southern Sun! The staff was friendly and took very good care of us. We ate lunch and dinner in the hotel and both meals were excellent. They have a nice wine list as well with most of the wines being available by the glass. We will return to stay in the future. Thanks!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdamGMSouthernSunDSM, General Manager at Southern Sun Dar es Salaam, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Hi JeffreyS
We are all delighted here that you both enjoyed your time with us and that Denzil and our Chef took such good care of you in Baraza.
Thanks for the feedback and heads up!
Best Wishes
Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 February 2014

I was in Dar for four weeks in January on business and stayed in the Southern Sun for the first time. Four weeks can seem an eternity in a hotel, but not here! The staff at all levels were friendly, courteous and efficient. The restaurant had a relaxing atmosphere and the food was excellent. The room was comfortable, although not the largest, and most important for a business trip, the WiFi (free) was reliable. Clearly, a high premium is put on customer satisfaction. I have another trip to Dar planned later in the year and had no hesitation in asking the firm to ensure I was booked into the Southern Sun.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomGH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdamGMSouthernSunDSM, General Manager at Southern Sun Dar es Salaam, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear TomGH
Thanks very much for taking the time to review our Hotel! I am delighted that we managed to keep you sane for your long stay here. We do try very hard to make sure our long stay guests don't develop cabin fever and I am delighted that we succeeded in your case! Its great that the internet and WiFi worked well for you, its one of those facilities that one takes for granted till it doesn't work.

We all look forward to your return visit later this year
Best Wishes
Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

Hotel is nice but the pool is rather small. On the other hand, the beach is 300 meters away, so there is no problem. Nice kitchen in the hotel restaurant and friendly staff! The food was excellent and there is a nice choice on the menu.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Dworf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdamGMSouthernSunDSM, General Manager at Southern Sun Dar es Salaam, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Hey Dworf
Thanks for taking the time to review our place! I am glad you found the beach, we have even better ones just across from the harbor!
I hope we get to welcome you back again one day!
Karibu
Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
1.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro
4.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dar es Salaam Serena Hotel
Dar es Salaam Serena Hotel
#7 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tanzanite Executive Suites
Tanzanite Executive Suites
#8 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ramada Encore Dar Es Salaam
Ramada Encore Dar Es Salaam
#9 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Dar es Salaam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Dar es Salaam

Property: Southern Sun Dar es Salaam
Address: 1 Garden Avenue | PO Box 80022, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#2 Luxury Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#3 Business Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#5 Romantic Hotel in Dar es Salaam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Dar es Salaam 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southern Sun Dar-Es-Salaam offers the best of all worlds with excellent facilities and within walking distance of the city centre. It is situated in a quiet part of town, close to the sea, next door to the Botanical Gardens and numerous diplomatic missions. The Hotel was recently awarded Silver status by the Heritage Environmental rating program in recognition of our commitment to reducing the Hotels environmental impact. A free Wi-Fi service is offered throughout the building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Southern Sun Dar es Salaam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Dar Es Salaam Hotel Dar Es Salaam
Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing