We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restful retreat in the heart of the City”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Southern Sun Dar es Salaam
Ranked #2 of 96 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Restful retreat in the heart of the City”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stayed one night here after an overland trip from Moshi, post-safari. The staff could not have been more welcoming and the ambience of the hotel is truly restful, enjoying its unique position next to the Botanical Gardens.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdamGMSouthernSunDSM, General Manager at Southern Sun Dar es Salaam, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear RuthR
What a great headline! Thanks! A restful retreat is exactly what we are and what everyone least expects, thanks to our neighbours the Botanic gardens. I am so happy that we were able to take care of you as you ended your tour of Tanzania!
Hope to see you back again
Kind Regards
Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    262
    337
    67
    9
    6
See reviews for
53
117
41
413
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

I stayed on a business trip and found it pleasant from check-in adn trhoughout my entire stay.Great breakfast. Wide selection of dishes in restaurants. Tasty and succulent food. Good price-performance.

Room Tip: I had a restricted budget and went for a standard room that proved to cater well for my needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toro065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdamGMSouthernSunDSM, General Manager at Southern Sun Dar es Salaam, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Hi Toro065!
Thank you very much for your feedback and I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us!
Thanks again for your support
Best Wishes
Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandton, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

It was my second visit to Southern Sun Dar es Salaam. The hotel is beautifully decorated with spacious areas to sit and relax. The rooms are comfortable, modern and spacious. The service are professional and prompt. The food is tasty and of the highest quality. This hotel is worth a visit.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank MorneBritz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdamGMSouthernSunDSM, General Manager at Southern Sun Dar es Salaam, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Morne
Thanks for your feedback and for your loyalty! I am glad that we continue to meet your expectations and I hope we will continue to welcome you back to your Dar Home!
Cheers
Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

I stayed at the Southern Sun in Dar Es Salaam for a week on a work trip and the hotel was a pleasant surprise. The room was comfortable and the bathroom was fine, with toiletries and it even had insect repellent. The food at breakfast was great. There was a great selection of food from the buffet and you could get eggs made on the spot and in view. The service was good. Staff was friendly and tried to accommodate any requests. I had dinner at the hotel almost every night. They served a selection of local and international dishes. The hotel has a pool. I didn't get a chance to use it, but it is surrounded by a garden and looked inviting. The only problem, especially in the evenings, is the mosquitoes. Repellent must be used at all times.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alwaystravelling3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdamGMSouthernSunDSM, General Manager at Southern Sun Dar es Salaam, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Allwaystravelling3,
I really appreciate your feedback and for taking the time to review our Hotel. A week is a long time in a hotel and I am delighted that we were able to surprise you! The mosquitoes are a problem here on the coast and we try very hard to keep them under control. The best strategy is to use the repellant we provide and cover up at night!
Thanks again
Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brazil
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The service and the restaurant food are really excellent! The rooms are ok, altough a little bit smelly. Well located near the city center.

Since was Ramadan during my stay the restaurant did open at 4:00 a.m.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GustavoMiotti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdamGMSouthernSunDSM, General Manager at Southern Sun Dar es Salaam, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Gustovo Miotti
Thanks for your feedback as well as for taking the time to note your comments on our hotel. Sorry about the musty odor in some of our rooms. This has been a challenge for us here in this Humid climate, however I am sure that my Housekeeping team is overcoming the problem. Our restaurant opens every day at 4am for breakfast, and not just during the Holy Month. We open early to allow the passengers on early flights to get in a decent meal before the long haul home
Cheers and I hope you will be returning soon
Regards
Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Every aspect of our stay was outstanding. We were so glad we decided to stay here rather than other hotels in Dar. Reception staff very efficient for check in and for all our enquiries during our stay. Pool was lovely (with fantastic bar service around it too). Baraza grill served good quality food with exceptionally attentive whilst unobstrusive service. Breakfast buffet was generous and wholesome with lots of choice. Every member of staff we met clearly knew what high quality service is about as they were providing it. We stayed at the Southern Sun for some 'rest and relaxation' before flying back to London after almost three weeks travelling within central Tanzania. We did not regret the decision (or the extra expense) of doing so.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RTBennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdamGMSouthernSunDSM, General Manager at Southern Sun Dar es Salaam, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear RT Bennett,
We are also delighted that you decided to make our Hotel your last port of call before heading back home! Thanks!! Thanks also for taking the time to give us your detailed feedback!
I hope you will come back to Tanzania soon
Best Wishes
Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Great hotel to relax after a day working in dusty Dar. Near The Netherlands Embassy, Tanzanian Investment Center and beach. High standard service, good food, cappucino and high standard rooms. I will return.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michel51Amsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdamGMSouthernSunDSM, General Manager at Southern Sun Dar es Salaam, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Hi Michel51
Thanks for the feedback, I am glad you enjoyed our location right in the middle of the diplomatic belt! We have some great coffee here in Tanzania ours comes from an estate up near Mbeya
Makes great cappuccinos and americano's - my best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro
1.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard
4.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Tanzanite Executive Suites
Tanzanite Executive Suites
#10 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
657 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dar es Salaam Serena Hotel
Dar es Salaam Serena Hotel
#6 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
633 reviews
9.4 mi away
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
#7 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Dar es Salaam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Dar es Salaam

Property: Southern Sun Dar es Salaam
Address: 1 Garden Avenue | PO Box 80022, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#2 Luxury Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#3 Business Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#5 Romantic Hotel in Dar es Salaam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Dar es Salaam 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southern Sun Dar-Es-Salaam offers the best of all worlds with excellent facilities and within walking distance of the city centre. It is situated in a quiet part of town, close to the sea, next door to the Botanical Gardens and numerous diplomatic missions. The Hotel was recently awarded Silver status by the Heritage Environmental rating program in recognition of our commitment to reducing the Hotels environmental impact. A free Wi-Fi service is offered throughout the building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Southern Sun Dar es Salaam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Dar Es Salaam Hotel Dar Es Salaam
Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing