We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for a short business stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Southern Sun Dar es Salaam
Ranked #2 of 96 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Good place to stay before you travel inland. Very friendly personnel, good room, nice food and in the town center, so all preparations for a trip can be made easily. If you really want to swim, go early.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cojotent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdamGMSouthernSunDSM, General Manager at Southern Sun Dar es Salaam, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Hi Jooplent
Thank you for your review! I am glad that our central location with her ease of access to most parts of town worked well for you!

Karibu tena
Adam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (700)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

352 - 358 of 701 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2014

This has probably been one of my best customer service experiences since arriving in Tanzania. From the moment you step through the hotel's automated doors, you feel that you are valued as a customer. The check-in process was swift and smooth and came with a welcome drink and a goodie bag. Although my room was a bit small for the price tag attached to it, the bed was very comfortable with four beautiful large, fluffy pillows. The one thing that was lacking though was a mini fridge. While I appreciate that the hotel mightn't be willing to take on the hassle of monitoring the contents of mini-bars in individual rooms, a fridge should at least be available if only so guests can have cold drinking water if they so wish.

The breakfast buffet is really good with a wide variety of food options, although vegetarians might not feel that the choices are that extensive. Vegans would suffer even further. I have had lunch previously at the hotel's restaurant on the ground floor, that was disappointing. I had lunch there again this time, and that was equally disappointing. However, I did appreciate one of the managers, Gavin, comping the meal. The bottle of red wine also sent to my room later was even more greatly appreciated! And for me, this is what separates a good hotel from a great one: doing that little bit extra to ensure that the customer is happy (and I am fairly easily pleased).

If I do have one gripe, and here I am nitpicking, is that the music in the lobby is too loud. Lobby music should ideally be a background item blending into overall tone of the establishment, not a discrete entity that you have to fight above. I also question who the target audience is for the choice in music.

The staff here are excellent, from the doormen, to the cleaners to the reception staff and all the other staff behind the scenes who keep this place running like a well oiled machine. To the staff and management, I would like to say keep up the good work and keep flying that Southern Sun flag high.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eleanor_Madziva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdamGMSouthernSunDSM, General Manager at Southern Sun Dar es Salaam, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Eleanor_Madziua

Gosh what a lovely review, thank you so much for taking the time to make your notes. My team is without exception entirely focused on taking care of our guests and I am glad that we did not disappoint you. We don't promise to always get it right (we try!)but when we don't it is important that my guys do the right thing to correct our errors and hopefully learn.

At the moment we provide room fridges on request and we have plans to make them standard in all our rooms when we refurbish the hotel. For the moment though they can be ordered on line or on check in.

Your point on the background music is noted and we will review our channel choice, I agree what ever we play should not be intrusive.

I am sorry that we failed you in our Baraza restaurant, this is an exceptionally popular restaurant and our chef and management team spend a lot of time making sure our offer meets the very varied needs of our guests. I am sure Denzil noted your comments and shared with Joe our Chef.

Once again thanks for the feedback!
Adam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stayed one night here after an overland trip from Moshi, post-safari. The staff could not have been more welcoming and the ambience of the hotel is truly restful, enjoying its unique position next to the Botanical Gardens.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ruth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdamGMSouthernSunDSM, General Manager at Southern Sun Dar es Salaam, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear RuthR
What a great headline! Thanks! A restful retreat is exactly what we are and what everyone least expects, thanks to our neighbours the Botanic gardens. I am so happy that we were able to take care of you as you ended your tour of Tanzania!
Hope to see you back again
Kind Regards
Adam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

I stayed on a business trip and found it pleasant from check-in adn trhoughout my entire stay.Great breakfast. Wide selection of dishes in restaurants. Tasty and succulent food. Good price-performance.

Room Tip: I had a restricted budget and went for a standard room that proved to cater well for my needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toro065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdamGMSouthernSunDSM, General Manager at Southern Sun Dar es Salaam, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Hi Toro065!
Thank you very much for your feedback and I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us!
Thanks again for your support
Best Wishes
Adam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

It was my second visit to Southern Sun Dar es Salaam. The hotel is beautifully decorated with spacious areas to sit and relax. The rooms are comfortable, modern and spacious. The service are professional and prompt. The food is tasty and of the highest quality. This hotel is worth a visit.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank MorneBritz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdamGMSouthernSunDSM, General Manager at Southern Sun Dar es Salaam, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Morne
Thanks for your feedback and for your loyalty! I am glad that we continue to meet your expectations and I hope we will continue to welcome you back to your Dar Home!
Cheers
Adam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

I stayed at the Southern Sun in Dar Es Salaam for a week on a work trip and the hotel was a pleasant surprise. The room was comfortable and the bathroom was fine, with toiletries and it even had insect repellent. The food at breakfast was great. There was a great selection of food from the buffet and you could get eggs made on the spot and in view. The service was good. Staff was friendly and tried to accommodate any requests. I had dinner at the hotel almost every night. They served a selection of local and international dishes. The hotel has a pool. I didn't get a chance to use it, but it is surrounded by a garden and looked inviting. The only problem, especially in the evenings, is the mosquitoes. Repellent must be used at all times.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alwaystravelling3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdamGMSouthernSunDSM, General Manager at Southern Sun Dar es Salaam, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Allwaystravelling3,
I really appreciate your feedback and for taking the time to review our Hotel. A week is a long time in a hotel and I am delighted that we were able to surprise you! The mosquitoes are a problem here on the coast and we try very hard to keep them under control. The best strategy is to use the repellant we provide and cover up at night!
Thanks again
Adam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The service and the restaurant food are really excellent! The rooms are ok, altough a little bit smelly. Well located near the city center.

Since was Ramadan during my stay the restaurant did open at 4:00 a.m.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank GustavoMiotti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdamGMSouthernSunDSM, General Manager at Southern Sun Dar es Salaam, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Gustovo Miotti
Thanks for your feedback as well as for taking the time to note your comments on our hotel. Sorry about the musty odor in some of our rooms. This has been a challenge for us here in this Humid climate, however I am sure that my Housekeeping team is overcoming the problem. Our restaurant opens every day at 4am for breakfast, and not just during the Holy Month. We open early to allow the passengers on early flights to get in a decent meal before the long haul home
Cheers and I hope you will be returning soon
Regards
Adam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro
1.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard
0.4 mi away
Dar es Salaam Serena Hotel
Dar es Salaam Serena Hotel
#7 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay
0.8 mi away
Harbour View Suites
Harbour View Suites
#18 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
237 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ramada Encore Dar Es Salaam
Ramada Encore Dar Es Salaam
#9 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Dar es Salaam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Dar es Salaam

Address: 1 Garden Avenue | PO Box 80022, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#2 Luxury Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#3 Business Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#5 Romantic Hotel in Dar es Salaam
Price Range: £145 - £217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Dar es Salaam 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southern Sun Dar-Es-Salaam offers the best of all worlds with excellent facilities and within walking distance of the city centre. It is situated in a quiet part of town, close to the sea, next door to the Botanical Gardens and numerous diplomatic missions. The Hotel was recently awarded Silver status by the Heritage Environmental rating program in recognition of our commitment to reducing the Hotels environmental impact. A free Wi-Fi service is offered throughout the building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Southern Sun Dar es Salaam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Dar Es Salaam Hotel Dar Es Salaam
Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing